Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Nice hotel conveniently located near everything

Posted May 15, 2017
Great getaway that I needed! Everything was lovely except some unfriendly people in the restaurant and valet parking. They were rather rude. The front desk staff were very friendly and cordial. The bartender who served us greeted us with a warm smile and friendly casual conversation. I would lodge at the hotel again but not eat at the restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Zeida Perez, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
We had a very enjoyable stay at the Sundy House years ago when it was managed by the former owner. Returning this time was a disappointment. The property has deteriorated and lots of differed maintenance was obvious. I should have been forwarded when I made numerous phone call to the hotel prior to arrival to discussed our reservation. No one ever answered the phone or returned any of my calls. upon arrival there was no cordial welcome and there didn't appear to be any senior manager in charge. As it turns out, I believe we were the only overnight guests...that certainly indicates a problem. I was told the restaurant was under separate management and we did have an enjoyable dinner. I would recommend the restaurant which seems popular but avoid the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Getaway

Posted Apr 4, 2017
My experience at the Sundy House was perfect. I enjoyed every minute from my first step out of my car. The staff is incredible, everyone went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. I stayed in the Black Bamboo Room. Loved it !! The lush gardens, waterfalls, statues and ponds were beautifully done. Close to the beach and restaurants, we never drove anywhere. We used the Downtowner Service, picked us up and dropped us off wherever we wanted to go for just a tip. I tipped everyone $5.00 every time in the hotel and in the car service. The service in the hotel was amazing. I would go back tomorrow.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Zeida Perez, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kissimmee, FL

Nice alternative to Hotel!

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The scenic location
Cons: Several times I went to the front desk and no one was there.
Location: Delray Beach is an upscale resort area. There is a 2 hour cruise down the intercostal waterway which was fun and informative!
I wasn't sure what to expect. Our 2 bedroom accommodations included kitchen, living room and 2 bathrooms. The scenic trail to the door was interesting. Outdoor seating for the dining room are in various locations outdoors under the trees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila.

A lovely hotel, walking distance to everything

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Staff, quiet setting, gardens, spacious comfortable rooms ,
Cons: Well like anything historic, there are always ways to bring it up to a more modern standard but you don't want to lose the historical atmosphere
Location: 1 block from Delray's main road and everything you could possibly want. Easy to walk but if walking isn't your thing Delray has a free trolley.
This is a beautiful hotel in the historic district built in 1900's very well kept. All the staff front desk, cleaning staff, yard staff, valet staff cudoos couldn't have been any more helpful! We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo very clean, very spacious, very comfortable. Nice comfy beds and nice fluffy towels. It is all set in a beautiful tropical gardens that are so beautiful and peaceful. It is very well known for its restaurant which unfortunately we were unable to try but there is always a next time. Would definitely recommend this to my friends and will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ithaca, NY

Lovely Garden Refuge Accommodations

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Great staff. Lovely setting! Wonderful just to hang out & relax. Very convenient walk to area restaurants (except breakfasts),& main street shops
Cons: Serve breakfast--there is nowhere nearby easy walk; musty room smell went away when air conditioner went on. Need more bath shelving for toiletries.
Location: Very convenient walk to area restaurants (except breakfasts) & main street & art museum; nice to walk around; Close drive to beach & wildlife refuge
Lovely botanical garden with water & fountain features envelopes the accommodations & provides nice ambiance for the busy restaurant's dinners. Loved reading on our balcony overlooking the pond. Room was comfy & nicely appointed. Staff is great & location excellent. Nice amenities though no pool. Will stay again!
5 out of 5
by Leonard

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Such a magnificent spot ! Everyone at the Hotel and restaurant were outstanding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delray beach, fl

Well kept secret

Posted Mar 12, 2017
We were forced from our home due to a termite fumigation. We are both native born Delray residents. I must admit for the price it was head and shoulders above the local competition. Clean, comfortable and spacious. Beautiful garden view and very private. It made our forced staycation better than we expected. Absolutely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Unique

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Cons: A little spit and polish are due
This is truly a unique property. A couple of blocks from the bustle of Atlantic Ave. Its in a lush grove of palms and bamboo which is very unusual. The rooms are along a path winding through ponds and tropical forest. Room was good size, comfortable King bed and adequate bathroom. Very good internet. The restaurant was closed being Monday but looked interesting. easy free parking is a big plus in Del Ray as near beach or Atlantic Ave evening parking is nearly impossible in season. This is not your place if you are looking at impersonal Hilton/Mariott style accommodation. No pool or gym. We would stay again in future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Beautiful and unique place. Feels tucked away yet close to everything