Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Affordable place to stay

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Second time round for us at this place. Very close to beach and restaurants. It's an affordable place to stay in Palm Cove for couples and families.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to post a review Elaine. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Excellent Location but everything else average

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer Service, Water Pressure, Room Updates
Location: Very close to beach (1 min walk) and practically on the esplanade where everything is
Had requested a ground floor room as I had read no elevator and we both have dodgy knees. Had received a reply confirming ground floor room but when we arrived, we had been moved to the top floor. Thankfully this was able to be changed for which we were grateful, however we did not end up with a spa in the room which is what we had booked. Resort was nice enough, but the pool and outdoor spa were both completely in shade which is probably great for the summer, but during July/August you try to find as much sun as possible so it was bit of a shame. Room very basic but bed very comfortable. The biggest issue for me was the lack of water pressure in the shower, it may sound silly to some, but I hate showers that just trickle out. The pressure in the rest of the apartment was good, but the shower was so slow I had to go to the hairdresser to have my hair properly washed as it took about half an hour to get shampoo and conditioner out due to the lack of water, very annoying. I would not say the staff were particularly friendly or helpful, in fact I felt as though I was bothering them the couple of times I asked anything. As a side note, if you want to book a day trip, use the place across the road as they were far more helpful and knowledgeable. The location was definitely the best part, very very close the beach and just a few steps from the esplanade which is where everything is, it's sort of in the middle of the esplanade. Not terrible but nothing to rave about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Joanne Robinson, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as you would have liked it to be. We do apologize about the mix up with the rooms. The room you ended up with was an upgrade from the one that you booked and it was on the ground floor as you wanted. We don't have any rooms on the ground floor that have a spa bath. We will check the issue you have raised regarding water pressure, if you had of raised it with us during your stay then we could have had someone come and look at it straight away. Yes our whole property is completely surrounded by Melaleuca tress and is very shaded, something which we emphasize in our promotional material. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the front desk staff helpful. The friendliness, helpfulness and in depth knowledge of our staff about the local area is something we are often complimented on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotorua, New Zealand

Rainforest paradise!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect. The rainforest setting was stunning. The room was so large and modern and comfortable. The staff are amazing.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: Sitting in a mini rainforest, it's 30 seconds from the beachfront and Main Street. Easy to get to the Skyrail and Cairns (Great Barrier Reef tours).
We cannot say a bad thing about The Reef Retreat. We loved our stay and if ever in Palm Cove again we will be staying here again. The staff are so helpful and friendly, from check-in to booking shuttles and activities, they were fab! They made everything so easy. The room itself was light and airy and so spacious. We stayed for 4 nights and it was comfortable and had all the amenities you could need. The outdoor kitchen on the rainforest surrounded balcony felt a little bit magical. The outdoor pool and spa were set amongst the stunning gardens and rainforest setting and were nice to relax in. And the location was fab - although not beach front, the Reef Retreat is literally about a 30 second walk away from the beach (one property back from the beach front. It is also an easy walk to some of the best eateries in Palm Cove.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Joanne Robinson, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to post a review Lux. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy and central location

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Was nice location there was no views of beach but garden pool setting was quite pleasant in a rainforest feel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Joanne Robinson, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. You are correct we do not have views of the beach from The Reef Retreat. We do emphasize in all our promotional materials that we are set back 50 meters from the beach in a rain forest setting. We do not advertise the Reef Retreat Palm Cove as having beach views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Nice accomodation

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Was a lovely stay. Except spa had too much chlorine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will pass on your experience with the Spa Pool with our pool cleaner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

reaxing

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
relaxing, great service and location. Peaceful and tranquil.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location lovely resort

Posted May 23, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Location and very relaxing
Location: Walk to Coles is about 35 minutes, extremely close to beach.
Resort is in a great location, very close to shops and beach. Loads of places to dine at all times of the day. Resort is very relaxing, wonderful BBQ area and pool very warm. Awesome spot for relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017 by Joanne Robinson, Hotel Management
Hi Marsha, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to post a review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Peaceful hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Peaceful hotel less than a minutes walk from the beach and very close to places to eat and shop.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Joanne Robinson, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to post a review Bridget. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted May 3, 2017 on Wotif
The hotel is very nice, clean and the staff are very helpful. Our room had wooden louvres on the windows which did nothing for blocking out sound. As a result, early on a Sunday morning when a sleep in might have been nice, we could hear every movement the housekeeping staff were making.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thanks for leaving a review and advising others of your experience. Our Housekeeping staff work hard to keep the rooms clean for guests, it is unfortunate that they were also the cause of some disturbance but thank you for acknowledging their endeavours!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Markham, Ontario

Feels Like the Rainforest

Posted May 3, 2017
Comfortable place to stay in Palm Cove. Property is heavily treed and it feels like a rainforest. Jim at the front desk was very helpful, arranging our airport transfers and a car rental.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Joanne Robinson, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to post a review Maximus. We are pleased to hear that you found the front desk helpful.