Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Good Place

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Pool access kids building
Cons: Other guest music change the salt water pool to a regular pool.
Easy check in Many pools. One Salt water pool has a movie screen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Used to be great, but.......

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Well, as they say, all good things must come to an end. For years, my family and I have enjoyed Palm Desert and more specifically, Marriott Shadow Ridge. When we come to Palm Desert, Marriott Shadow Ridge was our only destination. That though, is in the past. Through the years, small changes have been expected, but this year the hammer dropped. We arrived to find a nice little welcome letter (see recent photo), which essentially explained that what used to make this place fun for our family, is no more. Now keep in mind, none of these rules can be found on their website, trust me, I checked. Things like, no more coolers in the pool area (we used to pack our food, brings cold waters and Gatorades for the kids and fresh fruit), no more float toys (we just bought new float toys this year because they've always allowed them), and if you go into the pool for more than 30 minutes, your property is seized, your chairs are re-distributed and your property is turned into lost and found (awesome). This place still calls itself a resort, yet these new rules have changed the game. This trip, unfortunately, will be our last. And to think that we always forgave them for the fact that housekeeping forgets to replace the sheets for the extra bed (every single time). Oh well, all good things must come to an end.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property especially for families

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: New and conveniently located to other things on the area.
Cons: Air conditioning units are loud.
This is a beautiful property. The rooms, pools and recreation areas, including golf facilities are excellent. The only downside is the air conditions unit was very loud, loud enough to keep us from getting a good night's sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Horrible. Blood on the bed sheets.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Horrible. Didn't enjoy it. Blood stains on the bed sheets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect family hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Had a fantastic time! Even in 120 degree weather we had so much fun. The kids really enjoyed the movie at the pool and we appreciated the kitchen being fully stocked for preparing meals. We look forward to going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Stay in the Desert

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Close to Eisenhower Medical Center
Room was very nice. The staff were extremely helpful. The place is enourmous an growing so ones room can be quite far from the reception desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Everything was great, the room, the food, and I loved that they put the champions league final on the big screen by one of their pools. My husband really enjoyed that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, CA

Room is not a "Villa"

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Kid friendly, fun splash pad, and shuttle service.
Cons: Rooms are too small and no counter space. Dining area should not open to the toilet.
Location: Not too far from freeway.
The front desk employee who checked us in must have been new. He was having trouble with our reservation and another associate came over to assist and said that he had "deleted our reservation" this went on for over 15 minutes and we were finally assigned to our room. We had not been given any direction on how to navigate the property. We were not provided with a gate code, nor instructions to even use the gate. Once into our room my one year old daughter was walking and checking the place out. I was following beside her found a dead insect and a dead bee on the carpet. Was the room vacuumed?Our friends came to greet us and were shocked at the size of our room. They were in the also had a one bedroom, but I cannot understand why their room was so much larger and with a full kitchen and ours was clearly lacking. I paid extra for our room on Expedia to have a balcony (which it seemed like all rooms had a patio/balcony) and our "view" was a overgrown weeds and a sliver of the golf course. I do not think our tiny room should be classified as a "Villa" as we did thought we paid for. The worst part was the bathroom door opens right up to the tiny "dining room table". The room above ours was so loud I have never experienced such unacceptable noise at any hotel. The "manager" did nothing for us even after 2 calls.I had asked to have a different manager contact me at 10 AM the next day so I can launch a formal complaint and I never got a call.
4 out of 5
by Brittany

Great family fun

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Kids were really bummed about the no floaties in the pool. Other than that it was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rolling Hills, CA

Designed for Families and Kids

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The details offered for a family experience.
Cons: Would be nice if a couple of stores (mini-marts) on the premises. We stayed at the Enclave so FAR AWAY from the tiny store that was available.
Location: A couple of malls and Outlets if you like shopping. Famous NY Deli called "Sherman's" just down the street. Excellent restaurants in Palm Desert
Beautiful facility and the rooms were more than accommodating. We took our adult daughters with us and actually would have had plenty of room in the two room villa. We were not expecting so much room since normally not the case with competitor room suites. So I booked a second 1 bedroom villa for my husband and myself. Was surprised at the menu of hourly activities for kids. At dusk, we sat by the pool watching the animated cartoon Sing on the big screen. We were disappointed since wanted to stay but had dinner reservations. Both of our daughters wished something like this was available when they were small. My husband went golfing one day so something for everyone. Wonderful experience and well worth our money.