Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good to look at but terrible hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2014
On out side hotel looks beautiful but bathrooms are dirty. Toilet seats do not fit the toilet. Food hygiene poor. Two out of four of us got bad food poisoning. Taxi arranged by hotel to pick us up at airport never arrived. There was algae growing in the pool . Conceiarge helped to choose activities but rest of the staff are not well trained or managed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Really disappointed

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Great building, beautiful décor. Some of the reception staff were really helpful, as was the concierge. Great masseuse!
Cons: Staff training to - make beds; make/serve tea; check equipment is working; check ATM machine doesn't override customers' selections; admit error
Location: 12 kms away from the Medina but helpful shuttle provided by the hotel.
I had booked to stay there to celebrate my birthday, wanting the really special feel that the style and service at Taj Hotels ALWAYS delivers. However, the management changed 2 days before our stay and we discovered this by sheer chance. We were told we could not cancel our booking (without massive penalties) despite the fact that we had only booked BECAUSE it was a Taj Hotel. I wanted to enjoy what was to be a very short trip, and to believe there would be no change in the quality - but this was not the case. The service was very uneven, and while the failings were not major the constant niggling irritations spoiled the holiday. Expedia.com's unwillingness to take any responsibility at all means that I will not use them again either.
1 out of 5
by Ayeesha from Lagos

Customer Service ZERO

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
Staff need customer service training. Rahma is especially very saucy. Very very quiet. Spa offering is poor. Especially with a hotel that is in the middle of no where, spa should have been better. They charged us for the wrong treatment and refused to review it. Honestly very disappointing, will never stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England, UK

Fantastic hotel- best we've stayed in

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The room, the food, the staff, the overall feel oft he hotel, the spa and the swimming area. Totally relaxed.
Cons: All inclusive option?
Location: The hotel is quite a bit away from the city centre and the souks but we enjoyed that. There is a private luxury bus to take you into the city- free.
The Taj Palace, Marrakeche was a fantastic experience. It was quiet when we went at the end of July which meant that we more or less had the hotel to ourselves. We were met with a refreshing, cold drink and a bracket for luck. Everything was taken care of and the staff made us feel like true royalty. The room was big, spacious and very luxurious. The 'common rooms' were decorated and designed to the highest quality and again, pure luxury. The food was EXCELLENT and we had some of the best sushi ever in the Japanese restaurant. The staff was second to none. Simply the best. We used the spa and felt truly pampered. We can not rate this hotel more than just 5*. Absolutely fantastic and recommended to anyone after a little luxury. One thing to say is that prepare for the additional costs- the food is expensive but absolutely worth it.
4 out of 5
by G riesta

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Raghu Sehgal from London

Pathetic

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels
Totally felt cheated. Poor Service and terrible spa
2 out of 5
by Raghu Sehgal from Marrakech

Horrendous

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels
I'm currently staying at the hotel, it is my first day. I'm a gold card with Taj Hotels. And here it goes: 1. Hotel is beautiful. Rooms run down full of mosquitoes infact I have the largest one bedroom suite in the palace and the bath tub is full of dead Mosquitos even after housekeeping has cleaned my room a few hours ago. 2. Service barring 2 or 3 people we ordered food 45 mins to 1 hour even forgot to bring the items and sent the bill. 3. You call operator no one answers infact today I noticed from 7:30 pm till 8:35 no one answered on number 9 which is operator number 4. Sat at the pool no lifeguard and no one to serve at 6 pm whereas the pool was with at least 10 people 5. Shower of the room also full of Mosquitos and marble all broken 6. The terrace is full of insects infact almost a 200 sq feet terrace is complete waste which is where you want to sit with lights not working after complaining 3 times they got me a huge flash light and temporarily placed it on the fuse lamp shabbily and the light is so strong and bright that it feels you are in a stadium watching a night match 7. I went to use the Spa facilities which is the most important thing considering you are staying at a resort in the middle of wilderness and everything that you can do is inside the resort. The worst spa on planet earth shabby and cheap looking. Paid nearly 2000 dirhams for mine and my wife's treatment both was just oil dripping with no pressure and the masseuse only speak French or Arabic won't cover ur eyes during massage won't offer anything coming in to drink or after massage, will say massage finished and you walk out as if you are going to a massage parlour in a cheap market. Considering how hot ur hammam is no cold towels no water nothing. I mean I've stayed at resorts from Maldives to bora bora but boss this takes the cake to be the worst ever. Zero hospitality and bland expressions 8. Ordered breakfast and my wife specifically mentioned egg for herself and spaghetti for me at 12 noon. They sent 2 breadbaskets 2 yoghurts 2 orange juice and my spaghetti and charged me for two American breakfast at 280 dirhams plus taxes and my spaghetti seperate plus oj etc. I told the guy we just ordered 1 breakfast and spaghetti so please change the bill and make sure it's 1 breakfast and 1 spaghetti or 2 breakfast and no spaghetti if you take spaghetti as the main in the breakfast combo. I receive a call from a lady in their department and she started arguing your wife said the meal was for two people. I told her my wife said the meal is for two people when she was asked after her order the meal will be for how many people she told them 2 people not 2 breakfasts and spaghetti. One can still understand they are morrocan French speaking and could've misinterpreted but she was relentless. I have 3 more days to go and I'm wondering what to do I feel totally cheated. I'm one who believes in paying top dollar for luxury and service but not to be ripped off and this is what Taj Marrakech is a rip off. Infact our promised suite which they sell as Atlas Facing and is one of the best has no atlas view whatsoever despite I confirmed with Angela their guest services manager and according to them they have me the best room and this is despite I'm at the top most gold Tier with the Taj Group Loyalty programme, I wonder what they will do to genetics. Pathetic!!!!
5 out of 5
by Lymari from New York

Best Birthday Ever!

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels
I want to thank the staff at Taj Marrakech for a wonderful stay. Everyone was so pleasant and ready to help. I will never forget my 30th birthday. It was memorable!!! I will return to Taj Marrakech! :) Once again thank you all!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alia from London

Beautiful, tranquil paradise!

Posted May 7, 2014
Breathtaking hotel and grounds. Excellent service by every member of staff we came into contact with. Perfect balance of sumptuous comfort and tradition. Immaculate facilities. Children made to feel very welcome - have never encountered such gracious treatment at a high end facility, with baby in tow. Will definitely come again.
3 out of 5
by Rez from switzerland

So much potential but run poorly.

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel is beautiful. Spa is very nice.
Cons: Service in every regard. Any time we needed something, it took multiple requests/phone calls and took at least 30-40 minutes.
Location: Hotel is 30 minute drive from town. Shuttle service was never available when we needed it and taxis are 20 euro each way. Nothing nearby.
Hotel is beautiful but mismanaged. Unacceptable from a Taj 5 star hotel that goes for $400 plus a night. Hotel is not near anything (shops, cafés) and food choices at hotel are poor and overly expensive. We called for an iron one night and it took 3 phone calls and 30 minutes for it to arrive, making us late for our dinner. Pool staff is never around and I had to ask 3 people for a towel( again, it took about 15 minutes for someone to bring a beach towel.) in room coffee capsules were not replenished most days and we also had to make multiple calls and wait 30-40 minutes for these, then when we tried to use the espresso machine it was broken so took another 30 min to replace. The rooms are bug infested. We asked to be moved on the first night because there were literally over 100 mosquitoes in the room and a cockroach in the bathroom. The second room we were in probably still had >20 mosquitoes but we sucked it up. Dead mosquitoes were in the bathtub and housekeeping didn't even bother to wipe the tub. Upon checkout at 6:30 am, we were the only guests there but checkout took nearly 20 minutes because their credit card machine and printer did not work. There are many other hotels in Marrakech that are beautiful but don't have the stress of dealing with incompetent staff. The staff was actually very nice, just terrible and slow at every request. We have stayed at luxury and not so luxury hotels around the world and this one wins the prize for biggest ripoff and disappointment.