Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Excellent villal and staff

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Excellent villa - quiet location for a great getaway. Villa staff could not do enough to make sure your stay was relaxed and you had everything you needed. Always cleaning to make sure the villa was in 'tip top' condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by christophe GM, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment by hoping to see you again at villa al assala sincerely
2 out of 5
by Kari

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The streets in this area are not named. This property is walled and cannot be seen from the outside, has no address and most importantly NO SIGN to let you know where you are. This is very frustrating when you know where you are going in a rental car. We drove around for 2 hours looking for it. We had driven by it several times but with no sign, it was impossible to find. The owner explained that has never happened before... BS!! PUT UP A SIGN!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017
Dear Sir I understand your frustration not to have found our villa but we are on google map we have a phone it was enough to contact us we would like to get you as I explained to you your arrival From the to put a bad note while you are left only one night I find it just a can too strong on your part. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by Tunc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by William Martin from Sussex

Beautiful exclusive hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed there for 6 days and it was like living and having your own personal and exclusive space. The style and decoration was beautiful. Perfect place to chill out and use as a base for going to Marrakesh. You can eat all meals outside under a shaded canopy by the pool and gardens and really absorb the beauty of the place. Staff were great and other guests friendly but not intrusive if you did not want that. Is a little out of Marrakesh but we had hired a car and so transport was no problem. Taxis will be called for you if you have no transport anyway.
5 out of 5
by Paul from London

Relaxing, peaceful and beautiful.

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 3 night here. The hotels grounds are very well maintained, huge gardens, lovely pool. The staff were helpful and friendly. With only 10 rooms, it felt very peaceful. The decor of the main building was beautiful. The room was large with a cute balcony. Would absolutely come back to this hotel for some relaxation.
3 out of 5
by Sonia from Wales

Expensive, average

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Quite far away from anything. So expect to pay around £20 taxi return if you want to go anywhere. Hotel prices expensive, only got provided one small bottle of water each but only on the first night. Around €5 for a bottle of water which was warm and only given 2 cubes of ice in a glass. Breakfast was NOT included with my booking even though it clearly stated on my booking. The owner refused to accept this. Not 24hr reception. Spent most of my time looking for staff. They were friendly though. The cable TV was mostly French. No mini fridge in the room. Provided the wrong number by hotel.com for the hotel so was put in a dangerous situation with taxi fare to go back to the hotel. Sun lounge area the highlight of the stay. Too secluded from anywhere. Could not find one shop or cafe around the hotel. Taxi ordered from hotel was ridiculous. Told 150 MAD one way by one hotel worker, the next day 200 MAD one way 300 MAD return by another. Told off for buying water from the market? Water is a necessity. Paying €10 for 2 when I can get a pack of 6 which are cold for the same price?! The air con in my room was blowing warm air. Asked in the morning, told he would fix it, 4hrs later, not fixed. Asked the woman at reception and she showed me that you had to stand on a table and aim the remote correctly as the cover of the AC was blocking the signal point. I would only recommend for someone who only likes to stay in a hotel when abroad. There was however no entertainment provided.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan from Newcastle upon Tyne

Perfect for relaxation

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic stay. Villa a bit out of the way from everywhere which is good for relaxing but bad as you need to get a taxi into town each time. Staff were amazing and really friendly! Food was delicious! Would 100% recommend and will be going back!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Special but not a five star hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2016
This hotel has ten rooms, and is much more like a B&B than a luxury resort hotel. The owners live onsite, are westerners, and own other hotels -which makes the lack of expected items even more disappointing. There are no bathrobes, there are no basic amenities such as hair products/lotion/cheap disposable razor, no free bottle of water (they charge you two dollars even though it costs pennies locally). The towels are not big & fluffy. No restaurant, just a staff person that will cook you one of ten items on a list - again at an over the top markup. It truly feels like you are just staying at someone's house....and that is what makes it special. The garden is beautiful. The staff are really kind. It is a unique experience and perfect for a family. Don't expect five star, but do expect five star pricing, and be open to what makes this property unique.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by EL, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will be addressing all of these issues shortly, and amenities described will soon be offered.
4 out of 5
by Kwasi A from London

Home away from home

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Home away from home. Perfect location for a quiet break. However, a $20 taxi ride to town and back. But, worth it. Good neighbourhood. Good service. Moderate sized rooms. Shower could be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most relaxing holiday ever.

Posted Aug 2, 2015
After a very stressful arrival and passport control experience (the worst ever airport)the transfer which our host had arranged started the holiday brilliantly. Marrakech is beautiful and the villa is the most peaceful place to stay. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and comfortable and staff were the best I have ever met on a holiday. Top marks !!!