Ratings based on 1,076 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
It's not a 5-star luxury resort, but it doesn't claim to be. It's a chill, comfortable place with a good vibe. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Fun stay at the Ace

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We spent a couple nights at the ace during trip to Palm Springs. The pool is busy but the amenities are quite nice, no charges for loungers etc. And the people watching is great. The rooms are the nicest of any Ace Ive stated at, the bed was unbelievably comfortable. At night they have lovely outdoor fireplaces lit up where it was quiet enough to cozy up with a book. However... there are TONS of kids at this hotel. Like a lot of families. I love kids and actually enjoy the sound of them playing around the pool. However, due to the layout of the facilities one finds them inside grabbing a drink with wet, yelling kids running through the bar. The restairant was chockablock full of kids, and what i found annoying was securing spota at the pool early then being asked to move multiple times by mommies who came later but wanted a bunch of front row chairs together for their families. Lastly... staff need to up their game. Theres no clear process for service aroubd the pool or outdoor restaurant and no one makes the time to explain it. I asked about breakfast a d was told to sit where there was a table and after waiting for half ab hour i asked another staff, who told me i needed to check in at the bar first. (With an eye roll).After waiting another 10 i conceded defeat and went for a lovely brunch elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Our favorite spot in PS - GREAT for families

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Cons: The Kings Highway restaurant could (and should) really be improved. The poolside dining is just mediocre and dinner isn't great.
The Ace is a special place - we have stayed here 3x now, and each stay has been incredibly relaxing and memorable. Somehow the Ace manages to be cool, hip and appealing to couples in their 20s, to friends roadtripping or celebrating something fun, and yet also works just perfectly for families. My son loves this place and it's hard to get him out of the pool, and my husband and I appreciate the music, drinks, views and chill ambiance. Families can hang out in front of the various fires in the evening, eat in the rooms with patios and firepits, and just feel very relaxed. I gave the hotel 5 stars as always, but I am going to add that the poolside dining (which we do a lot of) was very good in 2016, and has dropped a few notches in 2017. The food is just mediocre. And, given the number of kids at the Ace every time we've been, the kids menu is TERRIBLE. Where's the health? It really needs to be improved. And the adult menu is just too limited. Literally adding 5 items would be a major improvement. It's hot in PS and guests will just stay poolside for hours ... but the food drove us away this time. For families, a few PS tips: Indian Canyons Palm Canyon hike is so so fun and gorgeous. The Desert Zoo is a real gem (way better in some ways than major zoos) but arrive by 9. Shields date shakes are the best in the entire valley. Nina's Greek place has great takeout. Jensen's market is decent (WF is much better). The tram is pretty amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Mar 25, 2017
I just love how the staff is very kind and helpful. Very relaxed and not corporate at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

Shabby NOT Chic

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Very disappointed with my room. Disgusting stains on curtains. The metal perforated desk was filthy and grimy on the side of refrigerator. Dirty, dusty desk chair. The snack try was dirty and rusty. I did not want to walk bare foot on the linoleum floor. The shower drain and sink backed up with each use. The thermostat did not work so no air conditioning. No dresser drawers to put my clothes in. No coffee pot. No full size ironing board and no where to place the small one provided so you can iron your clothes. No rooms available elsewhere as there was a Show at the Convention Center which was my purpose for being in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: very casual and cool
Great experience! Very trendy and hip hotel! Great food! Great staff! Very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hip and artsy hotel, super friendly staff

Posted Mar 2, 2017
The coolest hotel I've ever stayed at interior and exterior wise. Good food in the hotel restaurant. Nice location. Very friendly and accommodating staff. The only downside is the noise isolation - there's almost none. You'll hear every door slam really well, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

nice place with a mid-century vide

Posted Feb 20, 2017
very nice overall , old but well maintained comfortable bed and nice shower a little noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great stay in Palm Springs

Posted Feb 9, 2017
My friend and I loved our stay here for a couple of nights - nice crowd, chilled atmosphere with a cool bar and pool area for day and night. The rooms were traditional motel on the outside but hipster fun on the inside with everything you'd need for a great stay. Staff we helpful. Nice coffee shop right across the road too. Easy drive into town centre, plenty of parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent Customer Service

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Location: Close to Indian Canyon, Joshua Tree NP, Arial Tramway and downtown.
Stayed for 4 nights Unique hotel with great amenities Great food, rooms, and pool area Highly recommend the fireplace patio room Excellent customer service