Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Very charming. The pool service, food and drinks were exceptional. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura County

Great place

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: Both pillows are on the softer side. Maybe offer one soft and one firmer
I've stayed here multiple times and have always had a great experience. The hotel layout is cool, rooms are perfect size, walk in shower is great, and the location to downtown is ideal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Missing reservation

Posted May 2, 2017
I got to the hotel at 9pm at night just to be told that my reservation wasn't on file and that they didn't have anything for me. The from desk claims there was never a confirmation email sent to them. When I booked on Expedia I was told I had the last room so I guess my room got given away before I could get there. Very disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Refuge during high wind warnings

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Cons: The bathroom needed some fresh surfaces... it seemed too well used. Also, I needed extra tissue and the tissue boxes were oddly underfunded.
We were grounded and morally beaten down by the usual awful airline service during inclement weather. Palm Springs was under siege from high winds... with gusts above 70 mph! Hotel Avalon proved an ideal refuge during the storm with close proximity to food and the airport. The staff was gracious and helpful through it all with directions, travel advice (we had to drive to LAX) while dealing with the storm mess and damage.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking maintenence, worn down, dirty

Posted Apr 3, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel when it was the Estrella and the Viceroy. Both great stays. As the Avalon, this hotel is old, dirty, and falling apart. Almost everything was broken in the room and the wifi didn't even work. The spa treatments were expensive and nothing special. Thumbs DOWN.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 block from the main streets of downtown

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I love this hotel. Perfect location, wonderful staff. I do wish they had a coffee maker in the room and wish they replaced empty shampoo, body wash, lotion containers. Sounds picky but those were really the only flaws. I would recommend and will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun old motel/hotel right in town and cl

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Fun old hotel/motel right in town with character close to the beautiful desert mountains. Staff great and gracious, rooms silly black and white theme by a designer who felt this was the retro look. Would need some updating. But very comfortable. And food was delicious. Updates needed, but I would return
3 out of 5
by Stephen

Palm Springs

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Overpriced. Ridiculous resort fee is just a surcharge.
5 out of 5
by Nadine

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Loved this hotel. But restaurant was way to expensive. Was better to walk to other restaurants for a nice dining and drinks. But yes I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by jan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Hotels