Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangor, ME

More party than health spa

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Central location. Did have a great massage.
Cons: In room tea/coffee or available tea and coffee throughout the day.
Location: Right off downtown, everything is in walking distance.
Not my cup of tea; I chose the adult only not realizing that meant a lot of alcohol by the pool rather than quiet relaxation. No coffee or tea in the room as advertised, no coffee or tea during the day available to guests, very limited fitness facility. Nice rooms with a fireplace, great massage, but I want to relax and drink herbal tea all tea, and this is not the place to do that. But it is very centrally located, which is nice. I would have actually been better off at a "regular" hotel and just making day reservations at spas rather than staying at a "resort" that doesn't even have tea and coffee available in room or throughout the day. If you are young and like to drink and party, this is a great place, if you are older and want to just read a book, this is not the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint, great location, allows kids

Posted Dec 24, 2016
We enjoyed our stay tremendously. Only problem we had was that the hot water nob didn't work in the shower. We didn't actually give them the opportunity to fix it for us as we just stayed the one night & didn't want the hassle. Everything else was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The staff was nice and attentive. The food that we had was good with the exception of the crab for breakfast. I should have known that it wouldn't be fresh. The room was very nice. Only thing was we could hear everything from the room above us. That said I would definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low quality establishment

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Rooms are outdated and rundown. Service poor. Front desk terrible. Food quality poor. No security.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great classic hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The Avalon was as good as it looked online. Classy grounds and rooms. Multiple pools. Very helpful staff. Valet parking included. If we return to Palm Springs, we will definitely stay again. *****!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stay at The Avalon!!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Location: You can walk to downtown PS. Great location!
My boyfriend and I had the best stay at The Avalon Hotel and Bungalows in Palm Springs! Our room was huge and clean. The food at Chi Chi is amazing and we had the best service. We stayed over the Thanksgiving Holiday and had a wonderful time! I would highly recommend it to friends and family!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient location and nice staff

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The room they gave me was so noisy I couldn't sleep. You could here everything, the people in the room above you, people talking in the hallway, valet parking cars, and street noise. I did not sleep the 2 nights I was there. I would not stay there again, walls are too thin.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Seen better days

Posted Nov 26, 2016
I was charged $240 for incidentals! They charge you $40 per day for resort fees but light bulbs were out in my room, no room service menus, overpriced food arrived cold and without cutlery, front desk very condescending and dismissive. Disappointed in the state of this hotel since it became the Avalon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Five Star Hospitality

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The minute we arrived we were treated to complimentary valet, check-in champagne, and room upgrade. Besides the amazing service, the resort is stunning - we wish we spent more days there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Quite and intimate hotel with lots of character

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The location, style, outdoor areas, and staff
Cons: As dramatic and impactful as black/white rooms are, the challenge is that they show wear easily. Some areas of the room could use a freshening
This hotel is charming and within walking distance to most of the shops and restaurants that you'd like to visit, but it was removed enough that it was quiet and relaxing. Great place for couples.