Ratings based on 770 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Very charming. The pool service, food and drinks were exceptional. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura County

Great place

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: Both pillows are on the softer side. Maybe offer one soft and one firmer
I've stayed here multiple times and have always had a great experience. The hotel layout is cool, rooms are perfect size, walk in shower is great, and the location to downtown is ideal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Missing reservation

Posted May 2, 2017
I got to the hotel at 9pm at night just to be told that my reservation wasn't on file and that they didn't have anything for me. The from desk claims there was never a confirmation email sent to them. When I booked on Expedia I was told I had the last room so I guess my room got given away before I could get there. Very disappointing
2 out of 5
by Gabriele

Don't Stay Here!

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
I arrived at the Avalon yesterday. To start of on a positive note, I want to say that the main waiter at the restaurant and the valet guy are extremely friendly. Other than that they are not very accommodating. I asked for a different room upon arrival. They would only give me one against an upgrade fee of USD 400 per night when that was pretty much the full ptice of the next room category so I didn't take it.. There was enough availability although the receptionist said otherwise. Our room is loud. They didn't turn off the music till late despite my request to do so. The noise started again early in the morning with work in the pool area. They said nothing can be done about it. Last but not least, they were not even willing to give me a tea kettle. All very disappointing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Refuge during high wind warnings

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Cons: The bathroom needed some fresh surfaces... it seemed too well used. Also, I needed extra tissue and the tissue boxes were oddly underfunded.
We were grounded and morally beaten down by the usual awful airline service during inclement weather. Palm Springs was under siege from high winds... with gusts above 70 mph! Hotel Avalon proved an ideal refuge during the storm with close proximity to food and the airport. The staff was gracious and helpful through it all with directions, travel advice (we had to drive to LAX) while dealing with the storm mess and damage.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking maintenence, worn down, dirty

Posted Apr 3, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel when it was the Estrella and the Viceroy. Both great stays. As the Avalon, this hotel is old, dirty, and falling apart. Almost everything was broken in the room and the wifi didn't even work. The spa treatments were expensive and nothing special. Thumbs DOWN.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 block from the main streets of downtown

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I love this hotel. Perfect location, wonderful staff. I do wish they had a coffee maker in the room and wish they replaced empty shampoo, body wash, lotion containers. Sounds picky but those were really the only flaws. I would recommend and will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun old motel/hotel right in town and cl

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Fun old hotel/motel right in town with character close to the beautiful desert mountains. Staff great and gracious, rooms silly black and white theme by a designer who felt this was the retro look. Would need some updating. But very comfortable. And food was delicious. Updates needed, but I would return
4 out of 5
by Lacy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Melissa

Heard BUZZZZZ the Entire Time! Gardeners

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
It was 30 hours of hearing gardeners the entire time my sister and I were at the pool and then AGAIN waking up and walking to the lovely outdoor area for breakfast, gardeners were BUZZING AGAIN bushes right by the outdoor breakfast area! I lost it and everyone else was appreciative I went to the front desk to have them pause while people are eating. After about 10 mins after my request, they paused. After all that, no late checkout granted, even for an hour. So expect to check in at 4pm and check out at 11am without flexibility. Then, this beautiful outdoor patio area we loved the first day walking by, was entirely flipped over, "caution" taped off, ladders everywhere and they decided to paint, again while people are eating right next to it, breakfast and lunch. Perhaps we came on the Monday and Tuesday maintenance was happening, but that on top of room 408 being on the end of the hotel building next to the loud street and loud parking lot attached made it for a NON relaxing stay at Avalon. One plus, the BED. Oh my gosh I want all the bedding and pillows. The beds were heaven.