Ratings based on 705 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

King Bed

Posted Jul 20, 2016
King bed was a bit stiff not as comfortable as they look
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing stay in the heart of Palm Springs

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Very beautiful property in the perfect location in downtown Palm Springs, yet quiet and relaxing. Beautifully landscaped grounds and very comfortable, clean rooms. The staff is always friendly and accommodating and the three pools highly appreciated :). Will be coming back soon
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was great as Viceroy, terrible as Avalon.

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Room was dirty, curtains were broken, maids did not vacuum during service, nor did they change the sheets. Food was mediocre. Grounds were not cleaned daily; there was dog poop all over. The same dog poop that I saw the day I arrived was there the day I departed (one week later). Pools were murky. Front desk staff was rude. Overall, the stay was not pleasurable and will be going back to the Ritz next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2016
The place was a little run down, the cushions on the lounge chairs by the pool were flithy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Elegant, Classy and Convenient to Downtown PS

Posted May 13, 2016
Location: within walking distance of many restaurants and shops in downtown Palm Springs
I had stayed there when the property was the Viceroy. That place was magnificent until it started to go down. At some point early last year it was bought out and turned into the Avalon. We went last year just when the turn over had occurred and nothing had changed from when it was the Viceroy. Needless to say we weren't impressed! Just recently (about a year later) we decided to go for a night just to see if anything had changed and to our surprise the Avalon is making it's comeback! The property is elegantly designed and the rooms are styled with impecable taste. There are 3 pools and two jacuzzis which are open 24 hrs. I hate going to these resorts/hotels and the pools and jacuzzis close at 10pm!!! Ridiculous! The restaurant has always been worth visiting even if you're not staying there. They have a 1st class spa with excellent services should you be in the mood for some extra pampering. The excellent walking distance from downtown Palm Springs makes it convenient for exploring without having to get in your car! Overall I'm excited to know that the Avalon is bringing its sexy chic and charm back!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newmarket

Not as nice as it seems

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Amenities and staff
Cons: See above
Location: Plenty...it's downtown
There seems to be "special room(s)" for guests that book standard rooms and pay all through Expedia. The room we were presented with had its entrance under a stairway just off a parking lot, and the view was the side of a mountain very close by. Of course one had to pay for an upgrade to get a semi decent room. Also their WI-Fi was practically non existent. Walking back after dark was also an issue...on a very dark street in a quasi commercial area. The staff was very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The family pool was horrible

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: the bar was great
Cons: amenities
Location: good location
The room was far under par! We had a nail sticking out of the ceiling and the experience did not meet up to any standards by any means.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston,Tx

Nice hotel perfect location a block from the main

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Great hotel staff very friendly, and rooms are up to date and clean.
4 out of 5
by Barry Lee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venice Ca

What A Treat!!!

Posted Apr 13, 2016
This was hands-down the best stay I have ever had in Palm Springs. This historical boutique resort is located in the Very best area that is charming & quiet but just a short walk to the strip. The hotel itself is beautiful & so well-kept. The rooms super clean and perfectly styled. Room service food was awesome. The only thing better was the entire staff who made sure my stay there was & absolute perfect one~