Ratings based on 759 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Refuge during high wind warnings

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Cons: The bathroom needed some fresh surfaces... it seemed too well used. Also, I needed extra tissue and the tissue boxes were oddly underfunded.
We were grounded and morally beaten down by the usual awful airline service during inclement weather. Palm Springs was under siege from high winds... with gusts above 70 mph! Hotel Avalon proved an ideal refuge during the storm with close proximity to food and the airport. The staff was gracious and helpful through it all with directions, travel advice (we had to drive to LAX) while dealing with the storm mess and damage.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking maintenence, worn down, dirty

Posted Apr 3, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel when it was the Estrella and the Viceroy. Both great stays. As the Avalon, this hotel is old, dirty, and falling apart. Almost everything was broken in the room and the wifi didn't even work. The spa treatments were expensive and nothing special. Thumbs DOWN.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 block from the main streets of downtown

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I love this hotel. Perfect location, wonderful staff. I do wish they had a coffee maker in the room and wish they replaced empty shampoo, body wash, lotion containers. Sounds picky but those were really the only flaws. I would recommend and will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun old motel/hotel right in town and cl

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Fun old hotel/motel right in town with character close to the beautiful desert mountains. Staff great and gracious, rooms silly black and white theme by a designer who felt this was the retro look. Would need some updating. But very comfortable. And food was delicious. Updates needed, but I would return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangor, ME

More party than health spa

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Central location. Did have a great massage.
Cons: In room tea/coffee or available tea and coffee throughout the day.
Location: Right off downtown, everything is in walking distance.
Not my cup of tea; I chose the adult only not realizing that meant a lot of alcohol by the pool rather than quiet relaxation. No coffee or tea in the room as advertised, no coffee or tea during the day available to guests, very limited fitness facility. Nice rooms with a fireplace, great massage, but I want to relax and drink herbal tea all tea, and this is not the place to do that. But it is very centrally located, which is nice. I would have actually been better off at a "regular" hotel and just making day reservations at spas rather than staying at a "resort" that doesn't even have tea and coffee available in room or throughout the day. If you are young and like to drink and party, this is a great place, if you are older and want to just read a book, this is not the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint, great location, allows kids

Posted Dec 24, 2016
We enjoyed our stay tremendously. Only problem we had was that the hot water nob didn't work in the shower. We didn't actually give them the opportunity to fix it for us as we just stayed the one night & didn't want the hassle. Everything else was great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here - many many other good choices

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible stay! Property is old and staff is rude. Not one person is happy there and it shows. There is not even a coffee maker in the room. They shut down your water and heating HOURS before the time you check out. Very small rooms. Pathways to walk around property are tight and tall bushes rub against you and your things. Pick any other hotel! Avalon hotel staff did nothing during my stay as I complained to make it better - I was bothering them. I couldn't wait to leave so I moved to another hotel - btw the bellman didn't help me either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The staff was nice and attentive. The food that we had was good with the exception of the crab for breakfast. I should have known that it wouldn't be fresh. The room was very nice. Only thing was we could hear everything from the room above us. That said I would definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low quality establishment

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Rooms are outdated and rundown. Service poor. Front desk terrible. Food quality poor. No security.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great classic hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The Avalon was as good as it looked online. Classy grounds and rooms. Multiple pools. Very helpful staff. Valet parking included. If we return to Palm Springs, we will definitely stay again. *****!