Ratings based on 4,348 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

A Fun Time Was Had

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Room was simple, clean and uncomplicated. The layout was easy to navigate outside, there's plenty of places to play, and a tiki bar.
Cons: AC in room and poolside bar was a little on the meek side. And a restaurant would definitely add more spark to the facility.
Location: Elmer's is amazing. One of the best places in Palm Springs! A short walk away is Marisol, which has lovely Mexican food.
It was in the dead of summer -- HOT! My girlfriend was experiencing dizziness due to the heat. Not only were they kind enough to let us relax in the lobby until we got our bearings, we were allowed to get into our room several hours early. This really impressed us, and because of it we were able to get ourselves back on track. The staff, overall, is quite kind and accommodating. It's a very fun, very informal environment. If you don't like these qualities, and are just looking for a place to shut out the world, I wouldn't suggest it. But if you are up for a little adventure and have a sense of humor, this is the place for you. It's the kind of hotel most people search for in Palm Springs but can't find anymore. We relaxed in the room as much as possible, then went out to play when we felt brave. It suited our needs perfectly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice local, kitschy vintage theme

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: It was in a good location to the strip. Quiet neighborhood and close to resteraunt's and shopping.
Cons: The room experience.
This hotel was vintage tropics from the 70s. It was okay for the price. However, they had a few issues with the room. The tv wasn't easy to navigate, no HBO or premium channels, no movies. The a/c took a long time to really cool the room down. There is no resteraunt on the premises but there is a bar. The pool water was too warm for a hot, late night swim. I'm glad it was just a one night stay because that's all I could have handled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great Pool and Location.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Pool, location, room, staff.
Location: Definitely go see Salvation Mountain and the Salton Sea 90 mins south.
We come to Palm Springs every summer and we always stay at the Caliente Tropics. It has a great Polynesian atmosphere and the best pool in Palm Springs that I have been to. At check out we got great advise to drive 90 mins south to see Salvation Mountain and the Salton Sea and it was well worth it. Really unique part of the country. We will definitely be coming back next time we're in PS.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Cheap Motel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Caliente Tropics is not in anyway a hotel or resort as they call themselves... it's a cheap motel. Booked one night this past weekend - paid $168 for a room that left me wanting to go sleep in my car instead. The room has no central AC., it's a wall unit that sounds like you're sleeping next to a running diesel train. Their shower is so narrow you have to shower sideways. There no curtains on the windows .. the beds & pillows were a big pile of squishy fluff. The other guests there were loud both overnight and obnoxious by the pool. Tons of kids from all over over- I felt like I was visiting the pool of an old apartment building and all the neighbors & their kids were hanging by the pool. I've stayed at average hotels in Palm Springs but this was the most money I've paid for the worst hotel/ motel experience of my life in the desert.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Clean but older hotel. Great pool, but rooms needs updating. That's about it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable enough

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds
Cons: Dim rooms, better lighting
Location: Location was farther from the main scene than I thought.
Overall a good experience. Bathrooms a little old. Pool smaller than it looked in the pictures. Lots of families and children in the pool. Comfortable and big rooms. I thought the location would be better, it's a solid 5 minute drive to the main part of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
The door lock system kept locking us out. Had to call the staff over 3 times to help assist in opening our door. Swimming pool was murky and can see trash and debris floating around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

FUN SPOT! GREAT POOL!

Posted May 15, 2017 on Orbitz
This was an easy way to enjoy Palm Springs! Drive up to room is retro but also super easy! Rooms are OK--but the pool scene was really fun and casual--drink service, food, jacuzzi and even got a massage. All is all, felt like a great value and the Hawaiian vibe was fun and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by Julia

Awesome.

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great place. Great pool. Great vibe. Great bar. I didn't want to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean place, fun pool

Posted May 15, 2017
Hotel was clean, though the place could probably use a few updates. staff were friendly. Poolside is where we spent most of our time and it was wonderful.