Ratings based on 4,118 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel with Restaurant and Bar

Posted Feb 23, 2018
We have been coming to the historic Caliente Tropics for years, this place just keeps getting better and better! The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is always friendly,and the price to stay is very reasonable. The Mediterranean restaurant serves delicious food, and the Reef bar is second to none, from the friendly knowledgeable bartenders, to the delicious Tiki cocktails don't go to Palm Springs without checking this place out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tropical feeling hotel close to downtown

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Pros: Close to downtown. Also could walk to some restaurants and tourist sites.
Staff were very friendly and accommodating. We liked that the front desk was open 24/7.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canads

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Older hotel with limited renovations. The bed was new and comfy. The shower surround and counter top was new granite. The furniture,carpet and air conditioner were all very old. The large pool was warm with lots of lounge chairs. Was busiest on Fri&Sat but was always friendly. The staff weren't helpful. Didn't mention the safe key or pool towels at check in, no mention of the free trolley to/from downtown, no word about the 2 restaurants onsite. Overall not a bad hotel. I'd stay again and recommend it to friends looking for a comfortable mid-priced motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Front desk accomadate us with early check- in upon my request. No parking at night. Night front desk guy moved his car so we could have spot. Everything was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell, CA

Interesting Theme Hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2018
What we loved - beautiful pool and very lush surroundings with many photo ops of big Tikis (concrete and wood). The Reef Bar was a blast - delicious tropical drinks, great bartenders and although we didn’t eat there, the food that was delivered to the bar looked and smelled wonderful. Vintage Batman and Robin on the TV, which was hilarious. What we didn’t love so much - counter tops in our room in desperate need of repair. Paper thin walls and ceiling. When the Reef Bar closed at 2:00am, the party moved in front of our room - we never did get back to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from monsey new york

Nice atmosphere

Posted Jan 28, 2018
We enjoyed the jacuzzi and pool. Great location and the staff sure aimed to please. Very friendly. I was not feeling well so they let us change from king size bed to two queen size beds so my daughter wouldn’t catch my cold. Great location and we liked the tiki theme
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whittier, CA

Nice, affordable, comfortable.

Posted Jan 15, 2018
For a Winter stay, it was nice. I imagine it would be a great experience for a Summer experience. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super cute

Posted Jan 9, 2018
We loved this place! Loved the Tiki theme. Pool and hot tub are awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs CA

Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Sprngs

Posted Jan 7, 2018
WOW, I love the atmosphere of this little Hotel. It really is a Motel but that’s not an issue. The abeyance and decide if the 50’s 60’s Tiki Lounge is awesome. The ribeye steak with blue cheese is to die for. Just love this cool little hangout and I will certainly return soon. Lounge music is hip and fun. Everyone dressed for the atmosphere and is having a gas...! It’s Hip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Good Value

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: Comfy mattress and pillows, nicely heated pool (went swimming in Jan!), noon check-out (nice not to feel rushed), attractive grounds, pool open late.
Cons: We could have used and microwave in our room and warmer bedding. Also, the walls of our room were noticeably scuffed up here and there.
My third stay here. It's not perfect, but pretty darn good for the price! I'll be back.