Ratings based on 4,184 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2018
Bice hotel in palm springs
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2018
Close to downtown, yet far enough to be quieter. Old fashioned place, but comfortable. Even has a refrigerator and safe. Very nice TV. Bathroom very small, especially for a man 6’6” tall. Would stay here again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jun 6, 2018
We have stayed here multiple times and enjoyed it every time. The staff is so pleasant. The hotel is clean and super cute with its Islander vibe. Pool is big and clean and the little tiki bar inside has yummy Pina Colada’s! 😁 Would def go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Lovely hotel with great atmosphere and location

Posted Jun 4, 2018
This was my first time staying at the value the tropics and I absolutely loved it! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The tiki decor was wonderful. The pool was the perfect size and had great amenities. I also liked that it wasn’t too loud or crazy as some pools in Palm Springs can be. The rooms were also perfect. Clean, cool and the beds were very comfortable. We will definitely be staying here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very mediocre

Posted May 30, 2018
I paid about $200 for a Sunday night of Memorial Day weekend. Given the demand, it makes sense. However, in the grand scheme, $200 for a 2 1/2 star hotel is quite high. So I thought maybe it would be better than I'd expect for a 2 1/2 star hotel (I was wrong). The hotel room did not smell fresh, the bed creaked, and the A/C did not put out cold air according to the digital temp I put in. The pool water was a pale turquoise, and it gave off a dated/unclean look. I also heard the day before they had to clear everyone out for 2-3 hours because a child pooped in the pool (gross). It was hard to find a pool chair (not a large space), and there were WAY too many screaming children in the pool, that it was not a relaxing experience at all. Pool chairs are old and faded. The only thing that was really good were the tiki bar drinks and hospitality of the warm and friendly cocktail waitress serving them. The idea and concept of the hotel has charm, but next time I would pay just a little more and get a 3-4 star hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2018
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted May 23, 2018
If an authentic and historic Palm SprIngs experience is what you are after then the Caliente Tropics delivers! Great pool for swimming and lounging, the food at the restaurant was not too bad, rooms could do with a make-over and a deep clean but in saying that they were perfectly comfortable for our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2018
Easy check in. Great drinks at the bar. Fun decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Relaxing and fun

Posted May 19, 2018
Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere and convenient location to downtown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2018
Good location. Nice hotel staff. The AC was way too loud. Had to turn it off when we went to bed. Poor sound proof! We woke up so many times at night because the noise next door and in the hall way. Overall, it was not a pleasant stay. Sorry!