Ratings based on 4,336 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice local, kitschy vintage theme

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: It was in a good location to the strip. Quiet neighborhood and close to resteraunt's and shopping.
Cons: The room experience.
This hotel was vintage tropics from the 70s. It was okay for the price. However, they had a few issues with the room. The tv wasn't easy to navigate, no HBO or premium channels, no movies. The a/c took a long time to really cool the room down. There is no resteraunt on the premises but there is a bar. The pool water was too warm for a hot, late night swim. I'm glad it was just a one night stay because that's all I could have handled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great Pool and Location.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Pool, location, room, staff.
Location: Definitely go see Salvation Mountain and the Salton Sea 90 mins south.
We come to Palm Springs every summer and we always stay at the Caliente Tropics. It has a great Polynesian atmosphere and the best pool in Palm Springs that I have been to. At check out we got great advise to drive 90 mins south to see Salvation Mountain and the Salton Sea and it was well worth it. Really unique part of the country. We will definitely be coming back next time we're in PS.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Cheap Motel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Caliente Tropics is not in anyway a hotel or resort as they call themselves... it's a cheap motel. Booked one night this past weekend - paid $168 for a room that left me wanting to go sleep in my car instead. The room has no central AC., it's a wall unit that sounds like you're sleeping next to a running diesel train. Their shower is so narrow you have to shower sideways. There no curtains on the windows .. the beds & pillows were a big pile of squishy fluff. The other guests there were loud both overnight and obnoxious by the pool. Tons of kids from all over over- I felt like I was visiting the pool of an old apartment building and all the neighbors & their kids were hanging by the pool. I've stayed at average hotels in Palm Springs but this was the most money I've paid for the worst hotel/ motel experience of my life in the desert.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Clean but older hotel. Great pool, but rooms needs updating. That's about it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable enough

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds
Cons: Dim rooms, better lighting
Location: Location was farther from the main scene than I thought.
Overall a good experience. Bathrooms a little old. Pool smaller than it looked in the pictures. Lots of families and children in the pool. Comfortable and big rooms. I thought the location would be better, it's a solid 5 minute drive to the main part of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
The door lock system kept locking us out. Had to call the staff over 3 times to help assist in opening our door. Swimming pool was murky and can see trash and debris floating around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean place, fun pool

Posted May 15, 2017
Hotel was clean, though the place could probably use a few updates. staff were friendly. Poolside is where we spent most of our time and it was wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Not worthy for the money we paid.

Posted May 12, 2017
We expect to have a nice and good hotel. We were surprised. The bedroom with a curtain cover as a closet. The carpet have big multiple stains. Bathroom has no grab bar and very small. There are two of us staying in the room we even extended for another day but no extra towels and coffee and creamer. We have to ask for everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

hotel review

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: the location is great pool is nice
Cons: room was a little musty
Location: Great if you have a car
Very nice staff. great location halfway between the airport and downtown! check in was fast and easy. I have to say that this is NOT a hotel it is a Motel so if you are looking for a Hotel this is not your place!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Bed bugs

Posted May 8, 2017
Bed bugs in 3 different rooms ! We pulled back the bedding in one room and there was a bed bug crawling on the sheets it was pretty big the other room there was a small bed bug on the night stand and the other room had dead bugs in the tub ! Our room smelled like cigarettes so badly . Door frame was busted furniture falling apart just overall dirty. When l tying the staff know the issues they acted like we where lying and would have to send someone to investigate we insisted on checking out and the front desk lady started to have an attitude. Horrible this place should be shut down