Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to convention center

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Quiet hotel and check in was very quick. Friendly staff. Good coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to share a review of our property. It's great to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs with our convenient location and friendly customer service! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

loved it

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Loved it especially the staff went above and beyond to help me get around since i am completely blind... I will definitely stay there when I return to Palm Springs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just ok. Good location.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Change refrigerators and sheets to something softer. Improve wifi signal.
Location: Only about two miles from downtown.
Noisy refrigerator. Thought about unplugging it. Sheets to stiff, not comfortable at all. Otherwise ok and good location. Only about two miles away from downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our apologies that we were unable to exceed your expectations. To uphold our company’s high standards, I will work with our staff to ensure that each guest has a comfortable stay. Still, I am glad to read that you enjoyed our convenient location. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san bernardino

Nice on the outside but dirty on the inside....

Posted Jan 25, 2016
This is our third toward coming to Palm Springs for Tour de Palm Springs bike ride. Our stay here was not as enjoyable as the previous years . First off, I booked these rooms 6 months ago. I requested downstairs joining rooms. We received 3rd floor non joining. Second, upon walking down the hall the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming. Then when we entered one of the two rooms it smelled of cigarette smoke very bad. The amenities are very very basic and sparse. We received 1 small shampoo and small bar of soap. There is some coffee and pre packaged muffins in the lobby. The pool is nice but doesn't have a hot tub. I have to say for the money we spent and for the location I really expected better out of this hotel. Sadly I will not stay here again. Non smokers beware.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations. I discussed your comments with the team, and we will make sure we are reviewing our cleaning procedures as well as better monitoring our room inventory. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Convenient location, nice room size. Cleanliness of room included crusted food on carpet and hotel overall looked tired. Smoking from guest rooms filled the hallway so not pleasant getting to our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the cleanliness issues you experienced. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are making sure we are implementing deep cleaning procedures. Still, I am glad to read that we were able to provide you with a convenient location. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

Buyer beware.

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Explain "by request" amenities better.
I expect a room with a kitchen to be equipped to cook and serve meals.Your advertising on line is deceptive. The "breakfast " is a joke. When I arrived the hallway was torn up for repairs and a big bag of garbage sat there for more than 4 hours before being hauled off. Half of the list was unavailable. I never did get a lid for the skillet. No full size plates. glasses were disposable. No paper towels. Toaster sort of worked and coffee maker had to be delivered later when one became available. I expect a room to be equipped not to have to ask for everything. Toilet was stuck running when we arrived. (Unit 106) Wire repair of broken toilet chain had fallen down and blocked valve. I reattached it. Bathroom was next to electrical room. Bathroom smelled of cigarette smoke during the day. I booked this through expedia because your website said you were full. I booked 2 months in advance. I will not book through expedia again as they did a very poor job of explaining the "by request" furnishing of the kitchen and the really inferior breakfast offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Pretty good for the money

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: quiet, room amenities, etc
Cons: new equipment, renovation,
Location: airport, air meuseum
it was a pleasant experience. No complain about any thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thanks giving getaway

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Will make it short. Nothing for the price we paid! A refund will be nice.
Cons: Everything!
Location: No comments
Very disappointing. Booked this room a month in advanced , everything else closed to relatives was booked. We checked in about 4pm thanks giving day . We were given our room keys then. We came to our room to about midnight . When we got to our room Keys would not work. As we are trying to open the door we hear people already in there. We went to lobby and we were told that yes somebody was already in there . They had overbooked . So we were offered two rooms with one queen bed , smoking. Wow! When we had booked one room two queens non smoking. This was a very inconvenient situation . We were given two rooms with one queen bed . Or should I say full size . My daughter had to stay at relatives house on couch , but that wasn't the worse part. We didn't get much sleep at all . The rooms were next to dryer vent , electrical room, employee lounge room and main entrance . There was also no blow dryer. So in other words for future reference we will never stay at Extended satay again . Been there done that.😁
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize for your experience at check-in. To uphold our company's high standards, we will closely monitor our room inventory moving forward. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Non-smoking room smelled of smoke. General level of disrepair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel in Palm Springs

Posted Nov 17, 2015
We enjoyed staying there & plan to stay again.... It was in a good location for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.