Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great old hotel with amazing pool

Posted Aug 3, 2015
The hotel is just off the main road but it feels a world away with wonderful landscaping. You get that old Hollywood vibe and the staff is gracious. I found the mattress to firm for my liking but I would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan Beach, CA

Great weekend away - CLOSE to downtown!!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The staff in Melvyn's is second to none. Great food, very accommodating and personable!
Cons: What could you do without diminishing the character of the hotel - not much...
Location: All of downtown Palm Springs is in walking distance. No need for Uber or a cab. Drink up and walk back. The consignment stores down the 111 too!
Character filled hotel within walking distance of all Downtown Palm Springs has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from whittier, ca

cute hotel!!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
the hotel was very cute. there is a fountain right when you walk in....if you parked behind the hotel. the hotel is very quiet and relaxing. when we checked in we were told about our complimentary drinks in the refrigerator and also fruits, snacks, cheese and crackers which was a very nice surprised. it was raining the day we arrived but because it was very hot and humid it felt good- we went to the pool and were the only ones there so it was nice having the pool all to ourselves. oh one more thing....the view of the mountains is right behind the hotel so you have a great view of that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Staff was amazing, but the room was out dated and need renovations. And we had a few red ant in our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Time Capsule

Posted May 24, 2015
A fun, throwback Palms Springs experience. The hotel, bar and restaurant are a throwback to the 50s and 60s. Things have been updated enough to be clean and comfortable but retain the charm of yesteryear. Don't come here if you are looking for upscale resort amenities. Do come here if you are into the cozy comfort and convenience of a traditional, small, intown Palm Springs boutique hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tom from Rancho Mirage Ca.

Tom's tips

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. Dinner was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Paul from Valley Village, Ca.

Time to relax........

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
Exactly what I was looking for in a getaway. Great bed, great shower and towels. The entire staff wanted to help you. Convenient to Palm Canyon Road. Will go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by susan from London

A very homely feel

Posted May 16, 2015 on Hotels
From start to finish the hotel had a very peaceful and homely feel. Staff could not have been friendlier. Location is good as only 1 block from shops/restaurants etc. the room was comfortable and clean and the welcome basket was a nice touch as were the complimentary drinks in the fridge. Not something I have experienced elsewhere. The hotel is full of nostalgia which makes it feel a little dated but not in a bad way. I would say that this inn is best suited to 40 plus age group though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Downtown Palm Springs

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Character, and staff.
Cons: Could be modernized.
Location: As above.
Excellent location for access to downtown. Interesting history. Very good food at Melvyn's Restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hidden Retro Gem

Posted May 4, 2015
I hesitated to write a review on this hotel in fear that if word gets out on what a fabulous find it is that it may become difficult to get it. The old time feel and nostalgic charm is from a day before my time, but I felt like I was reliving a different era. You want to dress to impress at this fine establishment and live it up. The restaurant "Melvyns" was magnificent from the bar to the dining room and the perfect spot for any special occasion. The servers definitely take pride in the history and reputation and aim to please. I would recommend this place especially for anyone in their senior years as they will appreciate the nostalgia.