Ratings based on 1,130 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the desert

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Water features, the room
Cons: Pool service should be provided past 6pm. That was really a jip - especially when check in time is late at 4pm.
Very impressive lobby upon arrival. Love the atrium - and the boat that picks you up to take you around the lagoon. Nice lobby bar - good music. Room was spacious - the deck was enormous and private. Bed was comfortable - bath luxurious. Staff super friendly. Main pool was very crowded. Check in time is 4pm - and they close service at pool at 6pm!! Not good. On top of that - they decided to close down one of the main pools to clean it on a crowded Saturday night. Why couldn't they do that on a Tuesday morning?? Or Tuesday night? When the hotel isn't booked to capacity. The main pool was very greasy and the walls of pool slimy from so many people. I can see why they have to clean the pool - just not during the busiest time of the week. Nice mini golf course - we had a good time playing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Nice hotel, medium rooms,expensive food/drinks.found a small spider in my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by JW, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you visit us again! Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great weekend getaway!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
We relaxed and enjoyed the resort experience. The staff was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by JW, Hotel Management
Michelle, Your review means the world to us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the Desert Springs. Thank you! And come back to see us soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible customer service and experience

Posted May 30, 2017
Cons: Customer service
Upon arrival, no one present at check in counter, waited 30 minutes for someone to finally show up to check us in; Only one bathrobe provided for two registered guests, after requesting another one, promised to bring it up but never did. No room cleaning service done despite being out for most of the day; Insufficient pool lounge chairs, and no solutions for many guests; Dirty hallway
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by JW, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience from your stay. We are sorry to learn we felt short of providing exceptional service. We appreciate your feedback and your comments will be shared with the leadership team. We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Favorite place in Palm Desert

Posted May 29, 2017
I've been coming here almost every year for a long time now and I can't get enough of this place each time! Thank you for such an amazing experience celebrating my friend's birthday!! Complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries is just ONE way that Marriot knows how to take care of their loyal guests. This place is great for both couples and families. Lots of options for entertainment!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by JW, Hotel Management
Your review means the world to us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the Desert Springs. Thank you! And come back to see us soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver WA

Gorgeous Hotel BUT

Posted May 26, 2017
This hotel is NOT kids friendly. The hotel is gorgeous. Staff is amazing. Food is expensive but good. We came here in the month of May with 3 kids. The weather was in triple digits. There is absolutely nothing to do that does not include scorching sun. There are 5 pools. Basketball and gold and tennis. BUT. All of it is under the scorching sun! There is nothing that is covered for the kids to amuse themselves with. This resort is huge. There is plenty of room to make this into kids frindly resort AND make it more fun. Also there is no "kids club" as they advertise on the web. We all got very bored in our second day and unfortunately we had another 3 days to do absolutely NOTHING. Will not be coming back here with the kids and never for this long. Maybe 2 days max and with no kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by JW, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We apologize that this stay did not meet your expectations. We certainly strive to deliver exceptional service to our guests. Our apologies for any inconvenience and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
The grounds are great , the rooms are outdated, equal to a bad Hotel 6......
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by JW, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us your honest feedback about our resort. We do have some exciting improvements coming in the very near future that will help enhance the guest experience in both our guest rooms and public spaces. We hope you'll give us another try to see the improvements we've made. Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the lake

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Convenient
Location: Location was good, because I basically came to shop on El Paseo.
Of the many times I've stayed at this hotel, I've never had a room overlooking the lake. It was spectacular.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by JW, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a prefect review. We truly appreciate all feedback that is provided to us! We look forward to welcoming you again whether for business or pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great hotel!

Posted May 8, 2017
This is definitely a must stay hotel. It's a beautiful place with the most exceptional views! Everything you need is at this place, there is no reason to leave!! You have great pools, restaurants, lounge, bars and even a little nightclub! It was a great place to celebrate my sisters bachelorette party!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by JW, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a prefect review. We truly appreciate all feedback that is provided to us! We look forward to welcoming you again whether for business or pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Staff is top notch! True hospitality!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Beautiful property, definitely. But the real shining stars are the staff! Bell, front desk, concierge, spa ... Thanks to all of you who work to make our vacations memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by JW, Hotel Management
Dear Sheryl, Thank you for sending along this prefect review. We are happy to know that expectations were exceeded during your stay. We look forward to your next visit!