Ratings based on 1,429 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Christiane

Peaceful desert resort

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The property is beautiful with ideal amenities -- great restaurants, pools, tennis courts, spa, fitness center, and free parking. It'd be wonderful for a retreat or conference, given the space on the property.
5 out of 5
by carol

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
We love the Quinta resort! Location is key to the perfect experience. Casitas with fireplace is the ticket :)
5 out of 5
by Heather

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Coast-USA

Historic hotel of Coachella Valley

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: In Coachella Valley it is quite a lot of miles away from the hubbub of Palm Springs proper if you don't want to be that close to the crowds.
Cons: Very dated. It looks like it has been sitting in the hot sun for way too long.
Location: Anything you want to do in the Coachella Valley. Food, shopping, golf, tennis, sightseeing.
This hotel is very, very dated because of age. There was not anything overly unacceptable with the property but they seemed clearly very desperate to take people's money and for what I am not sure. It was acceptable to stay in with decent restaurants. Nice pools.
5 out of 5
by Dyann

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay for several reasons. The onsite restaurants were delicious. The shopping was pleasant. The dog-friendly environment was especially nice. The spa amenities were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: luxury, without pretense
Cons: a little more attention to wastepaper baskets in room.
Location: loved location, like to gamble very nearby.
I wanted a relaxing old world, holiday feel. The decorations were wonderful, the blazing fireplaces were warming, the food was great, the room was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds , great staff, tired rooms

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Location: We went into Palm Springs,--about 20 minutes away--for restaurants, visited Joshua Tree, Pioneer Town ( a hoot), premium outlets,
La Quinta Resort is simply beautiful! Beautiful grounds, fruit trees, flowers and pools galore. There is something for everyone here. From biking, hiking, tennis, yoga, golf to games. The staff is uniformly polite and helpful. The guests are a healthy mix of young and older. The restaurants are good and portions hefty. The only downside is that the rooms needs a redo. We were in a deluxe casita, and though immaculate, it was showing its age. The newer rooms are by the Spa area, and may be better. However, our deluxe casita was around a pool and hot tub not shared by many. I would be delighted to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Room location is paramount

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: almost everything, great place.
Cons: Personally I'd include the resort fees (yoga, resort fee, other minor charges) in the cost of the room. The billing statement seems gratuitous.
Location: If you are a hiker, go to Joshua Tree and 1000 Palms. Interesting places.
I'll start by saying "La Quinta is a fantastic resort and has great personnel providing services". That said, if possible, they should not place guests on Garbo Way (street). It is the access to the loading docks for the resort. We were placed on the street (room 906) and at times had to listen to the trucks unloading their supplies. Obviously a loading dock is necessary but given that the resort was not fully booked it was peculiar why we would have been placed there. I wonder if they are specifically treating their Expedia guests differently than direct callers. I didn't bother changing rooms since my wife and I already had unpacked. I now know which rooms to avoid but in my opinion this was a poor choice by an otherwise beautiful property. That is why I can only rate the place a 4 overall.
3 out of 5
by James

Dated gem in a beautiful setting.

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful setting... Dated property that could stand an overhaul. Customer service was lacking at what touts itself as a premier property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New York

Lovely landscaped gardens and plenty of pools

Posted Jan 2, 2017
La Quinta is your quintessential BIG resort. It is not necessarily an intimate experience but would suit those looking for a big resort holiday. On the upside, there are plenty of pools, tennis courts and golf courses around. There is a comprehensive fitness centre and the spa looked lovely, though it was completely booked out during my 3 night stay which was super annoying. The gardens are also lovely. We booked a spa villa but I would recommend one of the poolside casitas as they open right out onto a pool. On the downside, the food at the restaurants are overpriced and, more importantly, bland. You pay a lot of money for fairly ordinary food. After one meal at their Mexican restaurant, we chose to drive 40 mins to Palm Springs for better food. And that's the other thing to know, it is not located in Palm Springs. It is located in the town of La Quinta about 40 minutes from downtown Palm Springs. All in all, a fair experience but not great. It is very picturesque and set amongst beautiful looming mountains. If you are after tennis or golf, this is the resort for you.