Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel the owners forgot...

Posted Aug 27, 2016
We had to check in across the street in a nicer hotel. No notes on our hotel stating just go across the street to check in. What it has going for it... It is clean, quiet and the staff is friendly. I don't think we would stay there again, but it was a good deal for what it is.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Movie Colony Hotel Saved by The Triada

Posted Aug 26, 2016
MCH was virtually shut down (summer in Palm Springs), so check in and service is provided by The Triada, across the street. While the MCH room and grounds were okay, the internet didn't work. After trying to fix it, staff at The Triada offered to move me into one of their rooms where the internet works fine. The room -- the Elizabeth Taylor suite -- was lovely, comfortable, and cozy. While I'd go back to MCH in season, The Triada is more likely to be my destination.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located near to downtown Palm Springs

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The staff are very courteous and helpful, and the place is very clean. There is a pretty nice swimming pool and jacuzzi pool. It's all very old-school
Cons: Put some seating and a table in the room, and a COFFEEMAKER!
I saw this hotel on Expedia search and it looked charming as a small hotel, which is what I was looking for. The grounds and rooms are very clean, albeit very minimalist. As in sparsely decorated, as in our first room had a bed and a TV, but no seating, no table and/or chairs, no carpeting on the concrete floor, and NO COFFEEMAKER.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Birthday weekend

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Unique layout fo the hotel...very cozy.
Cons: Needs a bit updating.
Location: Easy to get downtown good Mexican restaurant next door
The staff was just wonderful. Very helpful and friendly. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was great! We rented all but one of the rooms and enjoyed all of the hotel. The breakfast was nice and the pool area inviting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Decent, but needs updates.

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Location is great. Easy walk to great food.
Cons: Breakfast, keys, air-conditioner, beds
Hotel lobby closes in the evening, so had to check in next door at the sister property, but the staff was very nice. When I got to my room I found that the door was open and all the lights were on. That's odd, and I'm sure just an oversight by staff, but not a good feeling. One day my in-wall air conditioner froze up and required a 2hr thaw before it worked again. That was uncomfortable and annoying. Hotel still uses keys.. very quaint. It does force you to check out in person so you can return your keys. Breakfast didn't have any real protein to speak of. No hot items except toast. This is a nice enough place with a hipster mid-century feel, but it is starting to look a tiny bit dated and run down.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint weekend away

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
The Movie Colony Hotel was perfect for our weekend away from our toddler. We liked that it was adults only, small, and quaint. Our room was spacious enough for the both of us and we enjoyed our little private patio. Even though the room was clean, parts of it definitely needed maintenance; two drill holes above the toilet, a spraying bathroom sink, and a worn out finish in the bathtub. These were eyesores more than anything else, but it didn't affect our stay there. I would recommend!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2016
Small quiet hotel on Indian Canyon. Pool open 24 hours. Room upkeep could be improved. Shower tap was coming off. Some chips in concrete floor. Courtesy bicycles looked tired.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location but no staff had to use hotel acros

Posted May 25, 2016 on Wotif
Noisy noisy noisy air conditioner. No shampoo just conditioner all different brands. Very underwhelming for the price paid. Breakfast very underwhelming as was breakfast area. More like a roadside cheap motel. Way overpriced. The only good thing was the location. Would not recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, Ca

Clean & comfortable

Posted May 13, 2016
Quiet & sophisticated perfect for a quick & simple getaway weekend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Tired Hotel with a of Myriad Problems

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: The Movie Colony Hotel had a nice staff (when they were there), a great pool, and an excellent Palm Springs location
Cons: The place needs serious remodeling, better parking, and an on site staff.
Location: Good shopping and restaurants are nearby.
When I arrived in the Movie Colony Hotel's tattered lobby, it was the first of many signs that the stay would be less than optimum. The first room I was given, the "King Suite" had a living room, a kitchen and two bathrooms. Both toilets were running. The flappers were ancient and when I complained, there was a mad scramble to get me into another room before 5 PM when everyone at the desk disappeared. The second room had an incredibly noisy A/C unit. It wouldn't stop cycling on even when turned "off" and you could not unplug it. There was no one at the desk from 5 PM to 9 AM and you must go to the hotel next door. The walls were very thin and I listened to a couple above me argue all night. The pool was nice. Parking is inadequate.... the rear end of your car sticks out into the street. The staff was nice yet the experience was very poor. I trusted the 3.5 rating and paid the price. The "extras" add 50% to the stated room rate.