Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München, Bayern

Hotel hat schon mal bessere Zeiten gesehen

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Die Architektur der Hotelanlange ist sehr ansprechend.
Cons: Es wirkte wie verlassen, da die Rezeption im Hotel gegenüber geleistet wurde.
Location: Liegt ideal zum Palm Canyon Drive mit vielen, Antiquitätenläden (Mid Century), Modeläden und Restaurants und dem Aerial Tramway.
An sich ein sehr nettes Hotel, gut gelegen zur Hauptstraße mit vielen Geschäften und netten Restaurants. Leider wirkte es etwas verlassen. Die Rezeption war nicht besetzt und wurde vom Hotel gegenüber geleistet. Man sagte mir, dass das Hotel demnächst renoviert wird. Vermutlich läuft daher alles etwas auf Sparflamme. Die Zimmer haben das auch dringend nötig. Es ist alles etwas "abgewohnt", die Zimmertüren (zum offenen Innenhof haben große Spalten). Das Frühstück ist Open Air Frühstück im Innenhof (an sich ganz witzig) und ein Self-Service. Das Frühstücksangebot etwas dürftig und es gibt kein Personal. Ansonsten sind die Mitarbeiter von der Rezeption gegenüber sehr hilfsbereit und freundlich. Das Zimmer war großzügig bemessen, die Matraze prima und alles war sauber.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Didn't have reservations at check-in.

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: Good location for my needs, close to Canyon Club & downtown. I walked everywhere, they only had 16 parking spaces.
Pictures of the room, seemed 20 years old compared to the reality of the conditions. Bed almost on the floor, lamp shades had burns, cloth headboard stains, carpet left the bottom of my white socks black, dresser distressed, couch ugly, toilet paper holder broken off wall, bottle tops in sink drain, no stopper, when you turned on the water the entire faucet moved, shower only, shower head leaked, shutters broken, bathroom door warped & wouldn't close, 1/2 inch gaps in outside door, loud AC, breakfast very poor, black bananas, stale cereal, gross rusted coffee server, no cups the 1st morning, not open until 8:30am. Pool area dirty. No front desk staff after 3:00pm when you needed them to fix things. All of this for $200 per night + $50 resort fee, then another $15 charge after I got home!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Property looks semi abandoned.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Property does have a good location close to most Palm springs attractions. Thanks!
Not a place I would recommend. Palm Springs has much better options.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Time for a renovate

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Great location. Really run down. Not certain everything was clean. No toiletries, not even soap (we had to ask). I hear they are going to renovate which they absolutely need, cuz it has such great potential!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Hotel is to be closed for remodel November 1st, I can understand why. Property owners grasping final revenues and limiting care and services. the adjoining property owned by same owners. Very nice, they allow you to walk across the street and use their restaurant and amenities should you desire. Best analogy, staying in a run down building then getting to dine in the main house.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice getaway

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: I loved the quaintness of it, the quiet and the peace. Office staff was amazing! Aaron and Tara made my stay a true delight. They were so friendly and over accommodating :)
Cons: Nothing other than the carpet which they are re doing soon
Location: Downtown there's tons of restaurants and shops. So much to see
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Has great character & potential!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Location was fantastic! Walking distance to a few restaurants directly across the street ( trio and eight4nine ) and DT Palm Springs!
Initially I was worried about my stay after reading a rash of negative reviews, but it was a great deal so i decided to give it a try! Upon arriving the woman at the front desk was very friendly, told us our room was ready early (around 1pm) so we appreciated that. The room was nice and clean, comfty bed, a few sitting chairs to lounge on, small but clean bathroom and we even had a small private patio with some seating that we totally did not expect! The grounds were fairly maintained, a few leaves on the ground here and there, but I think that's to be expected of a small boutique hotel since there are not staff on grounds 24 hours. Pool area was a little too shady for our liking because of the time of the day we arrived but we just hopped next door to the triada as they are under the same ownership. Overall we had a nice and pleasant stay, if you are looking for 5 star amenities and a full service hotel this is not the place for you, if you'd like a quiet getaway with quaint rooms and some privacy, I would definitely recommend this place. At check out the woman informed me they'd be closing for renovation, We will definitely be back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced for "self serve" hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Neither Expedia nor Movie Colony Hotel mentioned in their description that this hotel is a "self serve" hotel. It is currently understaffed and neglected because it will be undergoing renos in 2016/17. The price I paid through Expedia for our stay at the Movie Colony was far to high for what was inaccurently advertised. *The room did not have a shower curtain upon our late night arrival. *The previous guests items were still in mini fridge *The pool was dirty and not used by guests. We were told to use the next door hotel facilities. Their sister hotel. *The grounds were full of leaves and due to the September rains the walk to the room was slippery and dangerous. Inaccurately advertised and disappointing. When I mentioned these items to the manager she simply shrugged saying the hotel was only going to be open for a couple more months then closed for renos.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Small Boutique hotel needs some TLC

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Proximity to main street, Size and staff
Cons: Some rooms need upgrading - more staff around to clean up , pool needs to be cleaned more frequently
Location: Great location walking distance to bars and restaurants
Nice boutique sized hotel close to the main street of Palm Springs. The reception desk is not staffed every day of the week, but you can check in/out and use the facilities at the hotel across the road. Rooms are OK - downstairs rooms can be noisy as you can hear people walking about in the rooms above. Upstairs rooms have nice views - overall the rooms are comfortable but are getting a bit tired - this could be said for most of the hotel. Overall an OK stay but lacking attention to detail and a bit of maintenance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chatsworth, CA

Keeping on running!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Located on the outskirts of Palm Springs, inexpensive for Palm Springs standards. No hotel staff on site, next door. Very old and rundown, but the room was clean. The pictures of the hotel I saw were nothing like the room we had. Room had a phone, which had a dial tone, but the buttons didn't work, old hair dryer on Wall that didn't work, shower curtain that was to short and splattered water all over the floor and made it slippery. Furniture is old and worn, bed was very uncomfortable. No elevators, so if you have heart luggage and you're on the 2nd floor, you will really not be happy. When we were leaving there were men in suits walking around and workers, working on all the overgrown shrubbery. They had finally swept the leaves off the stairs. Pool had a light green appearance to it and the plaster on the bottom looked worn. I wish I would have spent more money and stayed at a better hotel, with more comforts and a better location.