Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LBC

Used to be good, not close to 4 stars anymore

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Location and the architecture, at night the pool looks great !
Cons: It needs major work to reinvent itself and make it relevant to 2016 PS, think of it as a 3 star, not worth the cost of a 4 star, service is terrible !
Location: Google it you'll see... Great location... Pity a great hotel can't be here !
Stayed here several times in the past. It was always "hit or miss" but the thing that always kept me cumming back was the charm (it's one of the original 50's PS hotels) and the location, you park the car and it's a short ,Uber ride to downtown. 8 years ago when it was renevated it was cool, never had great service but it was interesting, nowadays it just looks tired and a bit sad. The rooms are small and uncomfortable, beds and linens are cheap, TVs are old, lighting is just out of date, room fridge and AC are noisy. Pool bar is a joke, 3 bad cheap canned beers, no draft beer a pathetic wind and liquor selection and often a 20 minute wait to get an overpriced drink from staff that just don't care. It's nowhere near a 4 star hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OC

Disappointing

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Staff was amazing, every single one of them :) Half hour wait checking in Allocated us to wrong type of room, had to move Room was shabby and had massive cob webs from lamp to ceiling Room was missing room service menu and phone legend to identify where one is calling Room service menu was very limited and also was being verbally described. Ended up walking to pool to get food Left message two messages for manager without any response Left my fav pillow, no one will return call RIP
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria B.C.

Perfect stay

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Clean comfortable and great staff
Cons: The 2 bottled waters in the room are $5 each I'm guessing no one buys them I would suggest either a couple of free bottles of water or non at all.
Location: Easy walk to downtown Palm Springs and the Spa casino
Staff was outstanding quick check in and a surprize complimentary upgrade! Food is very good and the pool is unbeatable. I would stay again in an instant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.

Didn't come anywhere close to my expectations..

Posted Feb 1, 2016
I was pretty excited about my trip until we arrived at The Riviera and everything that could go wrong, did. The valet told us to go inside and check in and when we came back my car was sitting by itself, valet people no where to be found, with the keys in it. Not a huge deal, but still upsetting. When we got to our room it was around 8pm and we were pretty tired and intended to order room service and relax, but there was no room service menu or hotel information to be found. So we walked to the restaurant and finally found someone who could seat us and sat there for at least 5-10 minutes and no waiter had come to get drinks or take our order. So we went to the bar area where the cocktail waitress was actually working and got food and drinks. The food was mediocre so that was a disappointment. After dinner we decided to relax by one of the fire pits by the pool (the only good thing about this place, in my opinion) and then went to bed in our basic, old room with no working A/C. The next day we avoided the hotel altogether except for about an hour in the afternoon when we attempted to sit by the pool. I know it probably isn't normal, but there was a big cheerleading competition going on this weekend so at any given moment there were at least 10 little girls in the hot tub, which we didn't get to use once. Overall it was not a pleasant experience and I wouldn't stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Experience

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Finding the agents in the lobby was not well marked. Finding the building was hard due to it not being well marked. I have great eyes and I am very aware of my surroundings... For some reason this was hard. The decor was very dated and old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Little slow on check in but once past this hurdle hotel was enjoyable, unfortunately not able to get our 2 day stay , pool area nice, furniture around pool getting little tired .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Disaster in the desert

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: After spending the time to write a formal letter to the General Manager I would have expected a call back by now.
To say the Riviera staff does not care about their guests is an understatement: My mother is finishing treatment for pancreatic cancer and fortunately all is going well. She wanted to go to the desert for a few days so my she and my sister drove to the Riviera Palm Springs Resort where I had rented the Grand Deluxe Suite for her to enjoy while in town. I called the front desk the evening before and at 8 AM the morning of their arrival too speak with the staff and confirm they would have the room available for an early ! PM arrival and it was on the first floor. Needless to say, I called the hotel at 3:00PM and was told my mother and sister had not arrived because the room would not be ready until 3:30 at the earliest and most likely 4:30, which it was. The lackadaisical and careless attitude of the staff shocked me. To inconvenience an 84 year old woman who just survived cancer after all the preplanning I did, and then to not apologize or make some type of kind gesture shocked me. Nobody cared and no one had a solution. The room was not on the ground floor and the overall experience is indicative of the same mistreatment I received in a $700 per night suite several months. Hospitality is not their forte and they have lost a customer for life. After spending $50M on a renovation several years ago , one would think they could have hired a competent staff. Live and learn and good luck Starwood. There is a reason only 58% of all guests enjoy the overall experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. First and foremost, we’re glad your mother’s treatment is going well, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your service expectations. We will be reviewing with our staff what occurred with the location changes and the time you and your family were able to access the suite. The only explanation I can provide is that we had a very busy weekend with a heavy daily turnover, which unfortunately caused a few guest rooms to be available after our standard check-in time. Please know that I offer this only as an explanation of contributing factors and not as an excuse, and we are sincerely so sorry that you were affected by this operational delay. I can assure you that our staff never intended to seem careless, and we deeply apologize that we failed to rectify this discomforting situation prior to your departure. We will be sharing your feedback with our staff to work towards improving, and we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We’re very excited to embark upon our new journey with Starwood, and we are looking forward to many wonderful changes soon. We do hope that one day in the future, you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and make up for these shortcomings
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Horrible experience, light walls do could hear everything from adjacent neighbors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, and please accept my apologies for the noise inconveniences you suffered. Being such a historic building, we understand that soundproofing in some of the areas around the resort can be tricky, and we’re sorry to hear that your resort experience was disturbed by neighboring noises. Please know that had we been aware of this, we would have done everything imaginable to try and move you to a quieter room location. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future, as nothing would make us happier than an opportunity to provide you a quieter and more enjoyable getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
This was a nice hotel. It was very easy to find and close to shops and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible don't waste your money

Posted Jan 24, 2016
The bed had blood stains on the sheets There was pubic hair in the bathroom sink The sliding door does not lock The hotel is old and poorly remodeled Worst stay in a long time
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing with us your comments. I truly apologize that this was your experience. This is definitely not what we want our valued guests to ever encounter, and I can imagine how this left an unpleasant imprint on your overall stay. We take comments such as yours extremely seriously, and I guarantee you that we will reviewing these housekeeping matters with our team for proper follow-up. We thank you for bringing such issues to our attention, as we can only improve on the quality of our service thanks to guests like you who provide valuable feedback. On that note, we will also be checking into the sliding door to ensure the lock-safety of our future guests. I regret that this was your experience with us, and I hope that you’ll give us a second chance in the future to make up for the troubles you unfortunately faced during your stay this time around.