Ratings based on 538 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yucaipa CA

quiet, close to action and convenient

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: clean and well kept grounds.
Location: Have the Palm Springs shops and restaurants....the casino.... the botanical gardens..... the consignment shops.... the tramway..... the mall/theater.
Enjoyed the quietness of a Monday..... very nicely renovated, and great for the price. No complaints. Enjoyed the town and casino.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec Canada

Surprising for the price

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Clean, functional, quiet, nice pool and spa. Breakfast is good (continental).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
The hotel is good and comfortable for visitors on a budget. Room was clean and the continental breakfast included is a plus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Cheepi motel on edge of town. Room ok, no ptoblem

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Room fine but property OLD. Half dead. Pool adequate. Breakfast weak. A place to crash but no more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marina del Rey

Nice spacious rooms....comfy bed...mountain views!

Posted Sep 3, 2016
I go to Palm Springs once a month for 5 days. There's nothing fancy at the Royal Sun but if you want a friendly staff, large room and excellent maid service this is the spot. Close to everything!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from arizona

Tired hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Hotel is showing it's age, Upgrades are being made, but more needs to be done. Room was dreary and depressing. Very bad leaking faucet in shower. Price we paid reflects the quality of the room. Next tine will spend more for room in Palm Spriings, This was only for one night and just to sleep, but one still wants to feel comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel close to most facilities

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Good internet, good breakfast, clean, quite location
Location: Need to drive to shops, apparently there was a free bus. Too hot to walk anywhere this time of year.
We did some shopping, went up the cable car, went to Joshua National Park, walked around and saw some beautiful houses and gardens, amazing place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ac And ice machine

Posted Jul 26, 2016
We had to change rooms because ac was not working. Ice machine was not working.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelled musty

Posted Jul 25, 2016
When we arrived to check in there was a screaming toddler behind the front desk. I totally understand bringing your kids to work but it was a bit unprofessional especially when you can't hear what the front desk person is saying. Our room smelled musty and the blankets on the bed were very thin and very uncomfortable. But our kids had fun despite everything. And that's all that really matters right? Pretty much had the pool to ourselves the whole weekend and the kids loved that. Probably won't be coming back but if all other hotels are booked and this is our last resort...so be it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice Affordable Mid-Century Palm Springs Motel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Affordability and architecture.
Cons: Extend the pool hours later than 10pm.
Location: Within close walking distance of the Lyons Restaurant and the Congo Room/ Caliente Tropics.
The Royal Sun Inn has great original mid-century modern Googie/Tiki style. Very affordable and in a great location. Pool was nice and the TV has lots of channels. Good quiet air conditioning too.