Ratings based on 1,699 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice Affordable Mid-Century Palm Springs Motel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Affordability and architecture.
Cons: Extend the pool hours later than 10pm.
Location: Within close walking distance of the Lyons Restaurant and the Congo Room/ Caliente Tropics.
The Royal Sun Inn has great original mid-century modern Googie/Tiki style. Very affordable and in a great location. Pool was nice and the TV has lots of channels. Good quiet air conditioning too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buena Park, CA

Good hotel in the desert.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Nice clean room and efficient staff.
Cons: Very little.
Location: OK. We had to leave early due to medical issue.
Very nice and would stay here again. We had to leave due to medical issue.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

For the price, I was pleasantly surprised. Clean!

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Cleaning & Breakfast staff was very nice. One particular front desk lady was very knowledgeable on the area and local public transportation. Clean!
Cons: Pool area needs a little work.
Location: Hiking. Trails. Casinos. Nightlife. Everybody from people working, people who live there, or people visiting from L.A. & San Diego were very nice!
Front Desk was usually helpful. Cleaning staff was very nice and room was extremely clean! Continental Breakfast was always staffed and more food brought out when low. Pool area was kept clean and tidy. Hotel needs a little freshening up, but overall a very good hotel for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, CA

Not close to anything but an overpriced old steak

Posted Jul 10, 2016
We got there and the hotel looked a lot nicer in pictures. The "mountain view "was actually a view of the parking lot and the vacant lot next to it. The pool needs renovating. The botanical garden next door closes at 1pm. We went there at 1:15 on our last day and werent able to see it. Our room was sad. The plumbing pipe under the sink was completely disconnected. We didn't know until the carpet was getting all wet. My husband had to get under there and reconnect it. the dreary hotel all but ruined our short little vacation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not fancy but very comfortable

Posted Jul 6, 2016
I love staying here. The rooms are spacious and that's more important to me than fancy. The staff is extremely nice and maid service is excellent. Planning to stay again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area ...

Royal Sun - Best Value for hotel...

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Stayed at Royal Sun before & keep going back - which is the best compliment you can give a hotel or any business. Great, helpful staff & they made sure my room had a balcony as requested. Amazing value...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Very old hotel. Pool area needs to be remodeled. Needs to be updated/remodeled. For a quick stay overnight it was fine but I will not return. Staff at the front desk was very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Convenient location

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Friendly. Super affordable. Great AC. Convenient location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HI

Close to what we were there to do.

Posted Jun 7, 2016
The front desk staff was most helpful during our stay!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay here!

Posted May 8, 2016
I always enjoy the spaciousness of the rooms. You can spread out. Nice big patio. I don't need fancy!