Ratings based on 1,883 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Good stay. Liked it. recommend this hotel. Nice location, good pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best Deal in the Desert

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Large jacuzzi with great views of the sky, palm trees and snow-capped mountains
Cons: The included breakfast could have better fruits.
Location: Across the street is a botanical garden. Up the street is excellent hiking (Lykken Trail) or restaurants like Kings Highway and Elmers.
I love the Royal Sun Inn for the fact that it attracts European retirees versus families with 3+ children. That means the pool and the jacuzzi aren't murky by the end of the day, and I can relax by the pool. It's a no frills hotel that offers great views of the mountains and hills right across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good value

Posted May 22, 2017
I was very happy with my stay here. The room was very clean and comfortable, the only negative I can say was that it needed a few paint touch ups in a couple of places. The free breakfast had a decent selection of items. I like that none of the rooms appear to have a window on the walkway side of the building, just a sliding door onto a patio. Makes things quieter and more private. I'd definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Quiet, off the beaten path hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The quiet. No screaming little kids in the pool!
Cons: The breakfast. Some protein in the form of nuts or hard-boiled eggs would keep me happy for a longer time than sugared carbs.
Location: The hotel is centrally located but a bit hidden off the main road. I think that's a good thing since it keeps the place quiet.
I was surprised at the nice room here, since the hotel is only a 2-star facility. It was very clean and attractive, with fridge, microwave and coffee machine. The hotel personnel were pleasant. The breakfast left a lot to be desired, consisting only of sugared cereal, waffle or frosted donuts and juice. They had a nice pool and jacuzzi, which I took advantage of. The T.V. & internet worked well and I got a good nights' sleep in a comfy bed. That's all I'm looking for in the first place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location, easy access to rooms and faci

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: ease of access
Cons: cleanliness of rooms, especially bathrooms. Grout needs re-caulking around fixtures.
Cleanliness needs to improve. Roaches in the bathroom and some bed bugs. Staff responded well in changing linens.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Bit disappointing

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Decent location
Cons: Rooms need updating.
Location: Botanical garden across the street. 10 minute taxi ride to downtown
Air conditioning did not work properly. Balcony dirty. Older motel which needs updating & or refreshing. Female front office staff was very friendly & helpful. Male front office staff was not overly helpful & it seemed we were interrupting his texting time. Towels were very worn & very sparingly provided.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice location closed to downtown

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Not recommended this places , the neighbor who love next to you is too most and if you live in the 1F you can hear 2F walking and the foot distribution is so bad .
3 out of 5
by mark

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very Mediocre, it was a bed but not much else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would go there again but longer stay.

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Staff very accommodating, was upgraded to king suite
5 out of 5
by Alan

I don't go to golf, play tennis or get massage

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Good value for what we paid on Sunday night. We are senior citizens so not as hard to please as inexperienced young people. Clean unit with modern plumbing and central air conditioning with pleasant decorations and a short drive to the center of town, were enough to satisfy us. The breakfast was continental, no eggs, but waffles and day old donuts were good with coffee and OJ. Also available yogurt and apples.