Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inconvenient Accommodation

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Front desk attendee.
Cons: Set-up a small place to eat light things. Install ramps to avoid climbing stairs. The ramps should be enclosed in plastic to avoid getting wet.
Location: The mall near by is at best poor.
No parking adjacent to your apartment. No place to eat at the hotel. No vending machines.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Sem Cuevas General Manager, Hotel Management
Please let me thank you in the first place for staying at the Park Royal Club Cala. Your comments are very important to us as they help us identify our areas of opportunity and continue to reach our goal which is our guests' satisfaction. Our team aims to offer More Experience than Hotel for each guest and our apologies if we fell short of that goal on any visit. We are in the process of opening our Pool Bar which will offer food. We do have vending machines in the resort in the entrance B of the building. We are appreciative of all critiques and hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again and going beyond your expectations in your upcoming visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet place to get away.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Roomy apartments
Cons: I found the units outdated, especially the flooring. Also a lot stairs was difficult for seniors and dangerous for small children.
Location: Quiet side of the island. Very sunny and hot. Stores and restaurants available within the resort. El Yunque and San Juan are about one hour away.
Palmas del Mar Resort is a large resort on a quiet side of the island. Park Royal is just one of the accomodations available. The first unit they offered was very outdated and dirty. The second unit we took was newly renovated and clean and right next to the pool. If you are looking to relax and get some sun, this is the place. Very little nightlife besides restaurants. A lot of stairs inside and outside the units make this place not very ADA accesible. Overall, a nice place to get away from the hustle and bustle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Sem Cuevas - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting Park Royal Puerto Rico at Club Cala and for your good review of Park Royal Club Cala experience. We are sharing the critique with our team as I type this. Our quest for continuous improvement and excellence is paramount. We appreciate all feedback. We will eagerly await repeat visit(s) and we will certainly share reviews with our team!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the kind words and assessment of your Park Royal Club Cala Experience. Personal comfort and service excellence are of paramount importance to us. We will eagerly await repeat visit(s) and we will certainly share reviews with our team! General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Excellent hotel closed to pool

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Amazing villas, good personel, great facilities. Dont like the late check in and the early check out
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Sem Cuevas General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting Park Royal Puerto Rico at Club Cala and for your good review of Park Royal Club Cala experience. We are sharing the critique with our team as I type this. Our quest for continuous improvement and excellence is paramount. We appreciate all feedback. We will eagerly await repeat visit(s) and we will certainly share reviews with our team! Sem Cuevas General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family vacay

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
It was just okay. No WiFi was available in the villa
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting Park Royal Puerto Rico at Club Cala and for your review of Park Royal Club Cala experience. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing these upgrades to the property within the next couple of months with the addition of WIFI in the units. Our quest for continuous improvement and excellence is paramount. We appreciate all feedback. We will eagerly await repeat visit(s) and we will certainly share reviews with our team! Sem Cuevas General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Very nice area. Short walk to the beach. Nice restaurants that restaurants are only a short walk away. Close to the marina with wonderful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Sem Cuevas, Hotel Management
Thanks for the kind words and assessment of your Park Royal Club Cala Experience. Personal comfort and service excellence are of paramount importance to us. We will eagerly await repeat visit(s) and we will certainly share reviews with our team! Sincerely, Sem Cuevas General Manager
4 out of 5
by Zorylis from Puerto Rico

All that we expected and more

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
It was really relaxing,we love the place and all the surroundings areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the kind words and assessment of your Park Royal Club Cala Experience. Personal comfort and service excellence are of paramount importance to us. We will eagerly await repeat visit(s) and we will certainly share reviews with our team! Sincerely, Sem Cuevas General Manager
4 out of 5
by Renata from Oslo

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Free wifi in a room would make my stay even better next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting Park Royal Puerto Rico at Club Cala and for your good review of Park Royal Club Cala experience. Among the projects we have scheduled this year is the addition of WIFI in the units scheduled for fall 2016. Our quest for continuous improvement and excellence is paramount. I look forward to welcome you back at our facilities to have the pleasure of serving you again and make you stay even better. Sem Cuevas General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

The worst staff ever encountered in a Hotel Stay

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Space of room
Cons: Manners, service, attitude towards guest, rudeness to your costumers
Location: Mall, restaurantes, beach, pool (do not stay here, theres a Wyndham 5 minutes away.)
For the record I am a Platinum Delta Traveler, and a Hilton Gold. We had a wedding at Palmas del Mar, so we decided to book this hotel. We came in late (2am) to do the check in and we asked about check out time. The front desk person told us it was 10am, but since it was a sunday and we came in so late, we could check out at noon. We checked in and found a great room with a great location. At 9am in the morning (it's a villa) the Maid came in the room, after banging the door more than 12 times. Since we where on the second floor, we told her to please go away, we were checking out that morning, so we did not need service. At 9:30, 10:00 and 10:30 they repeadedly came back and entered the room with the same poor mannered attitude. The last two time, they kept screaming about check out. We finally decided to just take a shower and go. At 11:15 a security guard came to the door, and in a super disrespecful way, told us we had to vacate the room. My wife told them we where going to take a bath and gladly leave this dump. After 5 minutes (while taking a shower) they came back twice. Never in my life i have experienced such a bad morning in a hotel. I guess thats why I only travel to Hilton Hotels, this small independents are a box of surprises.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2016 by Sem Cuevas - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your business and critique. Our apologies that your experience did certainly not meet expectations nor what our team typically delivers. It is our goal to provide the positive experiences. I really appreciate your detailed feedback which will help us detect our areas of opportunity in order for us to enhance our overall service. It is with great concern that I read the review you kindly shared. It disappoints me to know that we did not succeed in meeting your needs, for which I want to make an apology. Please know that immediate measures have been taken alongside the staff members and managers of each area to avoid future situations on these matters; hopefully these events will never be repeated. Please allow us to change your perspective towards our resort during your upcoming visit to the area. We will be more than glad to welcome you back. Sem Cuevas General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommneded

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Noting
Cons: everything
We arrived at a huge compound where at the door they misguided us so we literally spend over an hour completely lost looking for where the hotel actually was! when we got there they concierge didn't even want to bother showing us where to room was so we were expected o spend another hour looking for the room. The room was a run down mediocre, slightly youth hustle like room with a shower that only had cold water and a toilet that did not flush. by morning we could not pack any faster to get out of there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the business and feedback- both are greatly appreciated. Certainly disheartening to read of the multiple misses in opportunities to serve and to impress in the typical Park Royal Club Cala that we do. Service matter and we have reviewed comments with the team to ensure that all perspectives are shared. Should any in-room need occur, maintenance, cleaning and of course guest service team members are available around the clock for any needs. We appreciate having selected Park Royal Cub Cala, detailed feedback and the opportunity to redeem ourselves should travels be to the area.