Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

A good stay

Posted Jan 16, 2017
I enjoyed staying in the bottom studio unit but we didn't have that room this time. Overall, this stay was satisfactory and the staff was very kind when we asked for some more milk/coffee. Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Plymouth

Room needs serious update

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Food via room service was very good fresh tasty. Served in perfect time. Staff very pleasant and friendly. Good location to central city. Was comfortable. Friendly staff. Reasonable pricing.
Cons: WIFI was bit unreliable. More attention to detail in bathroom cleaning required. Mould on ceilings and walls, tiles and grout. Wallpaper was ripped on walls and pelmet. Splashes of some substance on door. Furniture had varnishes peeling off. Holes in walls where artwork used to hang.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: It is handy to the local shopping centre about 10min walk
The room was good for the price, shower was good I was disappointed when went to pay they tel, you if using credit card there a surcharge so you pay more for room,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms. Particularly the bathroom. Steak had to be returned. Asked for medium rare & steak came out medium to well done.
Nice restaurant. Close to town. Friendly staff. Hotel with character. Unfortunately the bathroom particularly could have been much cleaner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Wouldn't use this place if you drive a larger vehicle as parking spaces are very small and are taken up fast by the conference visiters. The place is so outdated it's like a mothball farm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: As above
Location: Central and easy access to everything.
great location. incredibly helpful and friendly staff. I would strongly recommend staying here. Room wasnt quite as tidy as I would have expected. The grout in the bathroom needs replacing as it is stained or black and there was the odd stray hair in the tub but apart from that it was an excellent stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Cons: The breakfast although a great variety wasnt very nice. It was liked some things weren't cooked properly like the eggs and bacon
Was really looking forward to the buffet breakfast but i wasnt very nice. Everything else was great but the breakfast did ruin our trip a bit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Kapiti Coast Wellington.

Old world Charm

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Room décor and service ,hospitality of staff.
Cons: Noise of ground units in motel and the carrying of rubbish bins outside units at night.
Location: Excellent restaurants and supermarket near by. Close to bars and town.
Nice hotel with old world charm, motel a little noisy on bottom floor, until after 10pm. Overall experience great service and comfortable accommodation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Shortened stay

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Pleasant staff - nice to have cafe/restaurant on the premises as the last thing we wanted to do was to search for a restaurant.
Cons: No, it was fine
Location: Within walking distance of the little shopping mall - hand location
Unfortunately had to return to Wellington after one night as husband took ill. This was disappointing and we would otherwise have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

A Nice Hotel close to all amenities,

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Friendly and welcoming.
Cons: Rooms in need of refurbishment.
Location: This property is close to all amenities. well located.
This is a nice Hotel close to all amenities, Staff cannot be faulted. Front of house - reception - housekeeping all friendly and very helpful. The accommodation is showing signs of age and although clean and tidy they are in need of updating.