Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

観光に便利なホテル

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: ミニキッチン、アメニティの充実さ、立地
Cons: バスルームの写真を、正しく載せるべきだと思います。
Location: PLAZAというショップングモールまで徒歩1分。 中央広場まで徒歩2分。
町の中央に位置するこのホテルは、PLAZAというショッピングモールと同じブロックにあるため、お買い物に便利でした。部屋のミニキッチンは調理器具や食器など使い勝手が良く、中期滞在にも適していると思います。 予約サイトのお部屋の写真ではバスタブが写っていたのですが、実際はシャワーのみ、しかも床に水が飛び散るタイプのシャワーだったのが残念でした。アメニティなどは充実しています。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waikato

Wouldn't return nor recommend.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location was spot on. Customer service during check in was good.
Cons: Better quality pillows and towels, more towels, decent sized TV, don't have anyone in room 405 directly above refrigeration units!!
This is the forth time we have stayed in a Quest and only one of those (Napier) has been satisfactory. The Palmerston North Quest was very pokey and with no such thing as added little luxuries - just very basic but yet not at a basic price. The extra small TV was a ridiculous size and we couldn't even read the rugby scores - also I would've though a basic Sky package was non-negotiable in motel accommodation these days. The shower only had a relatively short shower curtain so we ended up with water splashed all around the bathroom floor. No such thing as extra towels so had to use the one and only bathmat to mop it up. No extractor fan so completely misted up bathroom added to the experience. Our room 405 was situated at the side of the building and one or two floors above several refrigeration units which of course went all night. Add to that the music pounding from I presume the main street and it was not a pleasant night. Flat, uncomfortable pillows finished off a terrible night and we were quite frankly pleased to head home. Thumbs up to the guy in reception - very professional and helpful and customer service top notch during check in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cable Bay

Right in the CBD Close to all shops

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: See above
Cons: Key to room a very tight fit in lock and hard to open
Location: Across road from the Square and close to shops and mall
Clean comfortable handy parking Good room service Would stay againSee
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Prajeesh KS, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Peter, Thanks for sharing your feedback . It was pleasure having you with us and happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay. We are constantly in the process of improving our service and as you mentioned about the lock been tight has already been actioned and rectified. Looking forward to see you next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Staff are very friendly and approachable. Easy to talk with and requests are immediately given.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Prajeesh, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good location in the centre of Palmerston.

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The accommodating staff.
Cons: At night you could hear the guests above you but I don't know how that can be helped.
Location: It's in the square so close to cafe's and shops.
When I book accommodation I rate cleanliness, location and quietness. This Apartment was very clean, in a great location but for a modern building you could hear your neighbours but not street noise. We opted not to pay for parking and there's a Wilson Car park across the street and plenty of street parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Prajeesh KS, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear that, you had noise from the guest above you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Sports tournament

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Wotif
Very comfortable and good.location right in the middle.of.Down good for shops and restaurant's
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Prajeesh KS, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
HI, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Quest Hotels are well known and reliable

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Cleanliness and position in the city
Cons: The reading of the key tags from the sensors could be stronger for access to the building and to work the lifts
Location: Perfect location!
It was easy to book through wotif which is always good. I didn't realise there was an after hours check in service however Ben from the Hotel was great. The only hiccup I had was the room which was no fault of the staff at the Quest it was a technical issue that didn't pick up I specifically requested a room for two adults and two single beds. Ben put us into another room which was suitable. It just made the night longer. The keys weren't great with the remote access either as when I went outside to collect something from my car my the remote door sensor wasn't reading my key and I had to call buzz Ben to let me in again. The rooms are modern clean and comfortable which I would expect from Quest. The position in the city is superb.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Prajeesh KS, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Mark, Thanks for your feedback. The confirmation and pre arrival form we send has got the information about our Reception Hours and after hours procedure. Sorry about the technical error which happened with the sensor but after the incident we have clearly had checked our sensor systems and everything works fine now. Once again thanks for sharing the feedback and being happy with our cleanliness and location of the Hotel. We will make sure that you will have wonderful stay with us next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Wotif
everything was as stated. A little noisy in the early hours from the bar across the road. Otherwise good
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Prajeesh KS ,Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for valued feedback. It was a pleasure having you with us. Sorry to hear that you had noise issue from the bar across the street. We have investigated on the issue and found that one of the speakers was placed to the hotel direction at that point, which now they have taken a correcive action. We look forward to welcome you in future and find a wonderful stay with us. Prajeesh KS Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Wotif
Too short a stay to really appreciate the experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Prajeesh KS, Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for valued feedback. It was a pleasure having you with us. We look forward to welcome you in future. Prajeesh KS Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Really nice apartment close to town. had a lovely stay ☺️
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Prajeesh KS Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for valued feedback. It was a pleasure having you with us. We look forward to welcome you in future. Prajeesh KS Front Office Manager