Ratings based on 1,388 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

Great hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Comfortable, beautiful, large room with balcony. Shower was easily accessible and had grab bars. Superior all around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2018 by Steve Mathews, Hotel Management
Thanks so much Dion for the five star review of your recent stay with us at Dinah's Garden Hotel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and we hope that you will get in touch when your travels bring you back to the Silicon Valley area. All the Best, Steve Mathews Front Office Manager Dinah's Garden Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super friendly staff and beautiful plants

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Pros: Friendly staff and plants
Cons: for the price, nothing.
Location: centrally located
Lupe at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. She was a nice welcome to the establishment. Room had a beautiful view of the garden/patio.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2018 by Steve Mathews, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star review of your recent stay with us at Dinah's Garden Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and that Lupe, our front desk supervisor who has been with us for over seventeen years, took good care of you while you were here. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the Palo Alto area. Best Regards, Steve Mathews Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whittier,CA

Great hotel and close to Stanford

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Great hotel and very roomy for the 2 of us. Love all the little details... apples & chocolates, Keurig coffee maker, extra towels already in room. Went for a visit/softballcamp for my daughter and it took 10 mins to get to Stanford (with a drive-thru Starbucks right on the way). Loved that each day. Will definitely be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by Steve Mathews, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Mikki for the kind words and five star review of your recent stay with us at Dinah's Garden Hotel. We are glad to hear that you and your daughter had a nice time with us and look forward to welcoming you back when you next plan to visit Stanford. Best Wishes, Steve Mathews Front Office Manager Dinah's Garden Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Anytime that me and my husband wanto to have a get away. We always go to Dinahs. Great place The food at their restaurant it's delicious
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by Steve Mathews, Hotel Management
Thank you Nena for taking the time to share your thoughts on your most recent stay at Dinah's Garden Hotel. We are glad to hear that you and your husband enjoy the hotel and our Poolside Restaurant and we hope to see you again soon. All the Best, Steve Mathews Front Office Manager Dinah's Garden Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family visit

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Dinah’s is always a comfortable stay for my family when we come tonLos Altos to visit relatives.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Steve Mathews, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Dinah's Garden Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that your stay was a comfortable one. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next plan to visit to your relatives. Best Wishes, Steve Mathews Front Office Manager Dinah's Garden Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful! I last stayed there 48 Years ago! Great

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: The old, classy character.
Location: Situated in the area where “Silicon Valley” was born. Fairchild R&D is where I started my almost 50 year long career. A trip into the past!
It brought back fond memories. The Hotel has been updated, the food at the Poolside restaurant was terrific and the staff very attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2018 by Steve Mathews, Hotel Management
Forty eight years ago! We're happy to have you back and appreciate the kind words. We hope that the time between visits will be much shorter next time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Steve Mathews Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Over-Rated

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Location and good food at the poolside cafe.
Cons: Rooms in need of upgrading and the pricing was unfair.
Location: I went there to be close to the Stanford campus.
It started with the poorly designed website; I booked a room for 5-days based on its location but did not realize the 1st and 2nd days were at a $400/night rate when the other days were at $169/night. The hotel was not full every night which proves the rate was unfair and ridiculous. The room was very clean but warn carpets and fixtures and a dirty elevator. I had stopped using Expedia for several years and this bad experience reminded me why.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs

A Real Gem

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Rooms, decor, comfort, FOOD
Cons: the room technology is somewhat over the top for a non-silicon valley guest.
Location: The hotel is a little out of the way, but uber and car access make the stay worthwhile versus the cost of downtown for a more luxurious stay
I've stayed at Dinah's Garden twice. Yesterday, i was upgraded to a really lovely suite overlooking the lagoon. Comfortable, stylish room and wonderful bathroom with a huge steam shower. Quiet and elegant. my only quibble is that heating system is complicated and hard to work and the alarm clock would not display the time. The restaurant is outstanding. I had for dinner a Ballotine of Guinea Hen that was the equal of the finest restaurant and for breakfast, wonderful, chunky corned beef hash. Dinah's is an oasis of comfort and half the price of main street hotels rates for a plain room. I'll be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Steve Mathews, Hotel Management
Thank you Jerry for the five star review and kind words regarding your second stay with us at Dinah's. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the issues with the air conditioning and alarm clock and apologize that they were not working as well as we expect. But we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed everything else with your stay and are glad that you were able to take advantage of some of the wonderful dishes at our Poolside Restaurant. Please get in contact when you are planning your third trip to the area. Best Wishes, Steve Mathews Front Office Manager Dinah's Garden Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Palo Alto.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Very quiet. Room is always clean. Plenty of plug-ins for electronics. Poolside Cafe menu and service is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Favorite place to stay when visiting relatives

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Great location. Quiet. Poolside cafe is great.