Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Air Cond.

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: attractive, good facilities well maintained, beautiful location, a few nice tours offered
Cons: A. C. of public spaces would be nice but they are hugh and have lost of door free in and out.
Location: Location fine, in the middle of the country, one hour by car from Panama City, but a LONG way from airport. Took two hours at 7:00 am due to traffic.
Room A.C. was fine, but lobby and most public spaces not. And it was HOT. Restaurant air conditioned. It wouldn't have been a problem but daytime temps were in the 90s.
3 out of 5
by Not Provided

Only hotel in miles, and it showed...

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
The facility was expansive, but not well-maintained. Our room’s air conditioner simply could not keep up from mid-morning until the sun set. This was part of an overriding theme of providing minimal services at premium prices, including hotel sponsored tours. The evening buffets at the hotel were not restocked within an hour of closing. We tried eating at the nearby related restaurant Los Lagartos, but after waiting ten minutes in a near-empty restaurant we left. Overall, we experienced a lack of attention. They know they are the only hotel and restaurant located in miles and miles and it showed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Gamboa Hotel Rainforest Resort

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Location, wildlife, river view. Excellent location to good bird watching sites -Pipeline Road and Rainforest Discovery Centre. Sloth visitor centre.
Cons: Ensure reception staff can access all bookings. More consistency on levels of service from all staff. Prices are high for most of the nature options
Location: Rainforest Discovery Centre for Canopy Tower and rainforest walks, but car/taxi needed, excellent humming bird feeders to view many species together.
Bad experience on arrival when receptionist could not locate our booking, took about 15 mins to resolve and then told that breakfast was not included, which I was sure I had selected. this was then added for us due to initial problems in finding the booking. Room was ok, big, clean, broken drawer, big balcony, 2 double beds rather than king size booked, large bathroom. Lots of varying info from staff/tour desk on free tours available and what times, but got there eventually with a really good nature walk with Eleana. Breakfast was average, struggled to get a small milk jug for our tea each morning, reasonable selection on 2 days but later visit one day was not much left to chose from. Tables cleared well and staff did help if anything was needed (given the language barrier even speaking English was sometimes difficult). Evening meals also some issues, room service took ages to arrive and was cold, the Chagres restaurant on last evening ended with poor experience as having to send back main meal twice as not hot on arrival on cold plates. Staff did respond well to our issues but would have preferred good service first time around. A late check out of room on request was readily supplied to us with no query. Overall the location, wildlife options, walks, views were the highlight of this hotel, but some Good and bad service received, a few individuals stood out to restore faith.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area California

Sad......views are beautiful.....but hotel is worn

Posted Feb 17, 2016
If you want to stay overnight at the rainforest this is essentially your only choice......that said you could just come from Panama city for the day and NOT spend that kind of money for a hotel that is not really worth thayt kind of money.... Food was substandard..... Tours offered of rainforest were good.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Love the settings the wild life . Staff was good .
5 out of 5
by Sherry from Cambridge

A bit of heaven.

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay and hated to leave. The grounds were so large with interesting birds, flowers butterflies. The pool was amazing.
4 out of 5
by Tatiana from Bogota

Naturaleza espectacular

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
El hotel es muy lindo pero si se ve un poco descuidadas las habitaciones. Es hermoso pero un poco costoso para las condiciones en que esta.
5 out of 5
by Jane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Marllace from Okotoks Alberta Canada

Poor!

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
Occasional wifi No water on arrival and the next day Leaky shower No coffee pot Asked for 2 beds, got king and 2 twins upper lvl, terrible pillows!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very basic very real, no artificial flavor added..

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: It is comfortable and easy.
Cons: In the room a refrigerator a coffee maker cups coffee bags, sugar and milk. The price per night is a bit high for what it is, even though it was great
Location: Walk on the beach, go fishing. Read, relax!
Five plus hours drive from Panama City, all you need to have with you is love, and a good book or two. Okay, you will also need some cloth to change, tooth brush and few essential stuff. Expect to arrive to your second home, ( too bad we do not own this property) it is situated right in front of the water, it is a small only 9 rooms lodge, basic, clean, functional, though it does not come with the standard industry rating of 5 stars, the service and location turns it into a 10 stars. It is real, not artificial, it is the most genuine place I have come a crossed in a very long time. Beside the architecture of the place with it's simplicity that is so inviting and create this sense of home, you will feel that warmth through the care of the entire stuff. Phillip( the manager ) impressed us with his work ethics, respect, passion, love for the place and the people that comes to stay there. We felt as if he is hosting us in his own home, at first we thought he is the owner son. No one that We know will take care of a property and guests the way Phillip does, and he does not even have ownership in the place. Normally when something is yours there is so much pride, respect and joy that you work so hard to keep it, after all it's yours. I suggest the owner to give Phillip a reason to stay, make him a partner that is the only way I can see him stay!!!!! You can only win from that decision,he is young and has so many dreams for this place, I hope he gets the opportunity he deserve it.