Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dale, Texas

Nice property, but Expedia not upfront with charge

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Horizon South was convienent, safe, comfortable. However, there were additional charges Expedia did not reveal, until taking non-refundable payment. There was a large deposit and hefty cleaning fee. We were NOT informed about, until after credit card processed by Expedia. Horizon South states the deposit and cleaning fee have always been policy, however, they have had several customers complain Expedia does not reveal this until after initial payment. When comparing prices, this should be told up front, so a valid comparison can be done. I will stay at Horizon South again, with my family, but will NOT book through Expedia.
3 out of 5
by Floyd

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Blinds were torn, Umbrella broke, Grill was filthy, and very dusty vents.
4 out of 5
by Kelsey

Nice but overwhelming process

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
The town house was extremely nice, yet dirty, looked like they had not dusted in ages. The property included many nice amenities. The check in process was quite overwhelming and there was never anyone at the office. I was considered a late check when I got there at 3 but couldn't technically check in until 4. Would I recommend it probably not would I stay there again probably so now that I've figured out the process.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge

Nice place to stay!!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Walking distance to the beach. Clean pools. Clean facilities and units. Would definitely recommend this to anyone.
4 out of 5
by Kimberly N.

Our stay

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay. The condo was a little out dated, but over all..It was comfortable ,and memorable.
3 out of 5
by illia

Not a typical hotel

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
t's not a typical hotel, it's a private house in a community. There is no front desk and nobody to ask. Hotels.com should have provided these details and the phone of manager on duty. Also there are hidden fees that were not visible on the website before reservation was made, they appeared only on confirmation after it's payed for. There is $250 security deposit fee that is returned later with a check and also there is about $150 for cleaning etc fees(non-refundable). Please be aware, we got lured by the price during the reservation was about $160. The house itself is pretty big and has 3 beds and can have 6 people, however we were only 2 of us so it turned out to be wayyyyyy overpriced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

This resort was disappointing.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: It was walking distant from the beach. The bed, the pillow, and the soft down blankets were great!
Cons: Too expensive for the stay. Cleaning fee and resort taxes were extremely overblown and high. Smoking should not be allowed in the swimming pool area
Location: Resort was close to restaurants and activities offered at the city area.
For a resort, the building we stayed in was old compare to any hotels. The resort is still on a actual key system; the top deadbolt doesn't even lock from the outside. For the $95.00 cleaning fee, the resort only gave one complimentary toilet paper roll and one paper towel roll. When we arrived at the location the resort was on a different name, the resort is now named Horizon South. It caused us to think that we were lost. We heard the upstairs occupants running around constantly even after midnight.
1 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
When checking in Hotels.com told me about the house keeping fee for a 100.00 but did not tell me any aditional fees like 250 deposit, 40 worth of passes that i did not have when i checked in we got there at lunch time and still could not check in till 4pm condo needs major up dating. and shower heads look like there about to fall out of the wall along with the grandmother stove with wall paper falling off walls. and broken blinds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

We loves the accommodations this place offered.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The condo was amazing. It was well stocked and very clean. It is a short walk to the private beach, and has a lot of things to do on the grounds. We found this to be an ideal location in PCB.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ask questions before you book

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
was not informed I would have to pay an additional 421.00 once I arrived. Phone number I was given was to the wrong person. Finally got a lady that was ruin and would not come take a cash payment. Room was nasty hair on every bed under the top sheets, stained on floor, marks on wall from crayons(not a big deal if you have kids you know how that goes). bathrooms had hair everywhere also. Give them premission to go in and clean and they did not. Lady said I requested to be there but did not say I had to be there. Made sure I took valuables with us when we left. Why should we pay over a hundred dollars for someone to clean if it is not clean when we arrive.