Ratings based on 1,218 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, TN

just ok

Posted Oct 18, 2017
I went to check in I was early but I needed to go to the store so it was ok. The guy told me to come back around 2 and it would be ready when I come back the office had moved to a whole different building which was just down the street but then once I got there the lady said I had not been signed in at all made me do my papers again then she said my room had not even been started on yet and it was after 2... So I go back out the the truck with 2 kids who are ready to get out of the vehicle... So I waited and came back at 4 and she said it will be 5 more mins but by the time I get to the place it would be ok and ready... We go in and the room had been cleaned but it was not what I was expecting. They had told me the reef was an upgrade from the seahaven which we stay in ALL THE TIME when we go but I wanted to find something a little more nice but it was not any more nice it was completely different. We will not stay there again I will more than likely just stay at seahaven or find a different place.. Every time we would leave and come back they had to call maintance to let us back in our room even thou the keys had not been around anything to strip them... they had to change our battery 2 times and then re program the door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

In desperate need of care

Posted Oct 16, 2017
This place needs a major upgrade. Compared to their other property across the street, this one looked like it belonged in the 1970s.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morris Chapel TN

Anniversary Trip.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Right on the beach,
Cons: It could use some updating, but comfortable.
We stay at the Reef for our 34th anniversary. We only had a few days so, We got to Panama city beach on Oct 5th and when we got in our room we found an issue that needed looking at. We went to the desk and reported it and within 30 minutes the maintenance man Frank was there and took care of it. I want to say thank you to Frank, Kaitlyn R., and Kately T. for making our trip so much fun. The hotel is an older hotel and could use some updating but very comfortable. I would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Roach motel.Nothing worked.requesting full refund.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
AC didn't work.toilet bowl didn't flush.bloody unchanged sheets. TV picture full of static. No telephone.wouldn't change rooms.wouldn't let us leave early.No refunds. We ended up leaving early and will dispute credit card charge. Had to take kids to sharkies restaurant next store to use bath room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, Tn

Old room but nice beach view

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The location and view were nice. The hotel is ran down and dirty. The shower barely worked and would get extremely hot on its own. There wasn't a refrigerator and housekeeping does not give you an option and come in your room daily. Smoking should not be allowed. My neighbors coughed and smoked weed smelling up our entire room. I reported to management and it did stop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: The bed were comfortable and we were so close to the water.
Cons: clean the refrigerator
It was a nice hotel close to the beach except for the refrigerator had mold all in it and smelled bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Hotel close to beach. there are 3 right together

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: on the beach.
Cons: rooms rooms rooms. Upgrades needed.
Location: location is great, food and fun nearby. It is on the beach.
Nasty, and shuffled around for rooms. 1st room was NOT what we paid for and was so nasty. 2" space under outside door. It literary looked like the motel was going to crumble down any moment. Patio was cracked. 2nd room in the original 1st we went to, before they sent us to another one, A little better. did have the kitchen we requested. up one floor from beach. Beds were clean, and had been vacuumed. There are 3 Reef's together. So make sure you look at the numbers of the address or they will send you to another. Until modifications are done. I would not stay or recommend it to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Rooms need major updating, ceilings were dirty with dusty webs, atleast beds were clean, as far as i could tell. Just a cheap hotel, should have done more research.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fernandina Beach, FL

Deplorable Facility

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The Hotel is extremely rundown and downright filthy. It' a shame that a waterfront property has been let go as shown in these pictures.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice staff, hotel needs updated

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Great location, nice staff, hotel needs updated. Pets accepted but no green space