Ratings based on 1,488 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah, Ga

Wonderful experience

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Cons: If anything, I just suggest more fans at the pier bar for the summer guests.
Location: It takes less than 15 minutes to get to Front Beach Road from here.
Aside from no microwave, I really don't have anything to complain about. I love how their bar is on a pier with personnel on golf carts ready to drive you to and fro if you prefer not to walk. The people are very nice. If you don't mine lizards everywhere outside, then this will be a wonderful place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Guest Services ~ Charissa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back again when the renovation is completed. I'll be sure to pass along your suggestion about the fans too!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Not so relaxing

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Do not place your customers near any construction. All construction areas should be blocked off from the public. Safety should be your 1st priority!
Location:
I will start by saying in 2011 we stayed here with a great relaxing experience. We loved the whole resort especially the boat ride to Shell Island. (which is no longer a free accommodation) Over 50% of the resort is under construction. We were 1st placed in the Villas with non working lights, TV and phone. Normally we would not care about a TV or phone but we had a sick child w the stomach bug. We had to use our cell phone to call the hotel. They sent someone over but he was unable to fix the issues. Therefore we were upgraded to a suite. They were very nice thinking about our daughter being sick. Awesome! Well not so much. We were placed in another building. Once we were settled and the day continued we realized we were the only ones staying in the building and it was under complete destruction! Just outside our door were the jack hammers and guys tearing down the stairway and dropping sheets of scrap metal! So dangerous and unacceptable. We were told there was no where for us to go. I would not stay here again unless all construction/renovations are 100% complete!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Guest Services ~ Charissa, Hotel Management
Please accept our apology for the renovations during your stay. I'm glad that the front desk was able to address the issues in your room right away, but apologize that due to the renovation, options are limited. We are working hard to complete the renovation and do hope you will consider staying with us again then for the true Bay Point experience you expect. I will also share your comments with our management team. Thank you for your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under MAJOR reconstruction!

Posted Aug 3, 2016
There is no lobby. Most rooms are gutted. The ones that remain all smell musty. There was a man banging apart a staircase with a sledge hammer for about 8 straigjt hours. My daughter cut her leg on broken toilet paper holder. There was NO mention of construction on the web site.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Guest Services ~ Charissa, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear that you were not aware of the renovation. It is on our Expedia page and on our hotel website. I hope you reported the issues with your room to the frond desk in our temporary lobby so they could address the issue. Our renovation is scheduled to be completed this fall and we do hope you will consider staying with us again when we are back at 100%.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers

Pricey hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: The golf course
Cons: Improve the room, the front desk appearance. Clean the room better.
Location: Not too much.
This hotel is still in construction. The beach does not exist. The room has a moldy smell.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Guest Services ~ Charissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the golf courses and we hope you will consider staying with us again when the renovation is completed and we're back to 100%. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations on this trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.C.

Nice hotel. It's close to the beach.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Nice place to stay. It was close to the beach. Renovations was underway when I was there but I think it will be even better when it is complete. They don't have free wifi in the rooms. I didn't like that at all. The room was very clean. I give it a 3.8 out of 5. If I there was patio chairs outside my room the score oils be a little higher.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Guest Services ~ Charissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for you review and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the resort will be amazing once we're finished with the renovation. And know that our internet service upgrade is a top priority! We do hope you will consider staying with us again then and we promise to have patio chairs for you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LaGrange GA

Worse experience

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
We have stayed at this property in the past and had an expectation as a first rate resort. To our surprise when we arrive we discovered the resort was not open due to construction.. No amenities except a pitiful pool by the parking lot. The room was dirty, could not wait to leave. Expedia missed the boat on this one... So disappointed !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Guest Services ~ Charissa, Hotel Management
Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations. We have shared your renovation status with Exepedia and made it clear on all of our websites, I am sorry to hear that you were not aware. However, we are not closed and we do have many amenities available including Pelican's on the boardwalk, a private bay beach, the Shell Island Shuttle, Watersports rentals, tennis, the spa and golf. It's unfortunate that you did not enjoy any of these amenities. We are limited on our pools at the moment but after the renovation will be able to offer 2 bayside pools with a brand new open-air pool bar. We do hope you will consider staying with us again at that time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction above our villa and at end unit

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Entire complex under renovation. 19th hole rest poor. Pelicans fair food was not hot. We had noisy workers at 8am. Then we had noisy workers staying in room next to us. Stay away not worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Charissa ~ Guest Services, Hotel Management
Please accept our apology for the issues during your stay. I will share your feedback with our management team to address the noise issues. We do hope you will consider staying with us again once the renovation is completed. Thank you for sharing your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charolotte, NC

Horrible.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Worst experience ever. Toilet went out. Construction outside the room all weekend starting at 7am. I would never recommend this place to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Guest Services ~ Charissa, Hotel Management
Please accept our apology for the construction. I have shared your feedback with our management team so they can address the issue. Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
by jermaine

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Charissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Where is the resort?

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Very bad experience....bad place for kids,dangerous for the condition.dirty room and pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Guest Services ~ Charissa, Hotel Management
Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay. I will share your feedback with our management team. Thank you for sharing your review.