Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Good location, Quiet Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Cons: There could be better in-room coffee.
Location: The hotel is steps from the Metro and restaurants. It's a 15 cab ride from the old city and a 20 minute ride to the ferry terminal for canal tours.
This is a small hotel with kind and helpful staff. It's close to lots of restaurants and the Metro. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama City, Panama

Decadent

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: furniture, business center, breakfast quality, have a gym.
Location: good location, restaurants, banks, stores just steps away.
It's an old building turned to a hotel. Poor furniture condition and functionality, poor breakfast. Staff support is ok, they were friendly. No gym and business center is outdated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with most obliging staff thank you all

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Nice small and compact no high rise building
Cons: Probably slightly more light in the room
Location: Not far from restaurants
We arrived and the check in was quick and efficient Staff were very pleasant and could not do enough to help Check out was also efficient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Early check in fee

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: size of rooms, comfort of bed, quiet
Cons: Waive early check in fee
First time I've hit this when traveling internationally, if you check in before 3:00 PM there is a $25 fee.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
Older building. Breakfast had a good variety. Rooms are large with couch and chair. The painted green carpet is a turnoff.
5 out of 5
by Carlos from Panama

Very nice indeed

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
I really liked it. I have stayed here before and it's always great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

A tradition in Panama

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: style, location, value
Cons: update carpeting and design. repair hot water.
Location: In banking district...near Marriott Hotel. Many decent restaurants within 1-2 blocks including the Peruvian restaurant onsite. Mass transit
I used to put visitors in this hotel a few years ago when living in Panama because it is a very convenient central location for the city in the banking district. It ran in the mid one hundreds per night back then. Imagine my surprise to find it online for basically one third the price for a return visit to Panama. Nothing had changed except maybe the furniture arrangment. It seemed nicer back when. I do love old world boutique hotels compared to some of the cold/minimalist hotels of modern times. Unfortunately, this old hotel is showing its age, wear and tear. At today's rates (because of overbuilding of hotels in Panama) it is still worth staying there. Rooms are spacious. Bed / bedding was very comfortable and large. Internet was adequate. The bathroom is marble, but had a faulty showerhead, and tepid shower in the morning...no real hot water. The restaurant off the lobby is quite a good Peruvian restaurant. Our biz luncheon was well served there. Based on today's values, I still recommend this place. I hope at some point the rates in Panama will go up enough to allow them to update this old classy hotel.
5 out of 5
by Ruben

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service, clean room and daily housekeeping. Breakfast included was always excellent. In the middle of the city and in a convenience location. Restaurant close by. The Rocoto restaurant beside the building has an excellent Peruvian ceviche...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A Jewel in DT, Panama city.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: The facade, spacious rooms, central, and the staff.
Cons: A more stronger wifi signal, but over all, great place to stay.
Location: Safe area lots of restaurants and shops. Close to the subway "EL CARMEN" station.
Clean, modern with a nice touch of Paris. Very spacious rooms. In a nice area of Panama City. Our thanks to Carlos, whom was a great help to our family ,giving us directions.
5 out of 5
by Frederick

A jewel

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel. Wonderful accommodations, great breakfast. Good location.