Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Nice enough for the area; broken shower

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: The bathroom amenities were charming.
Cons: The bar set up. Could be more inviting. Very cold.
Location: Isolated. Good if all you want to see is the Canal. If not, stay in Casco Viejo and take a trip up to the locks and head back before traffic hits.
For Holiday Inn, this is not their best. The room was clean but the shower was broken as well as one lock on the door. I was able to see the hallway through a large gap between the door and the frame. Loud service door adjacent to my room door made it clear when service personnel were coming and going through the evening. Staff was nice enough, but for Panama where service is great, the service was mediocre. Nice that there is a bar in the lobby but it has no style.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Good hotel close to the canal

Posted Nov 21, 2017
We stayed here just on night on a layover and wanted to see the canal. It was a $50 taxi ride from Tocumen airport, so a bit far (45 min) and expensive. Hotel was nice enough, although room was a tad outdated and room smelled musty at first but went away after a/c was turned on. Staff was very friendly and breakfast buffet was pretty good. Hotel is right across from the canal and the main Canal tourist spot is less than 2 miles away. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
It was a nice comfortable hotel over all. Good food and drinks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Spacious and convenient.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
A very positive experience. The rooms are very spacious and the restaurant food is good. My only concern was the TV station availability. The schedule indicates there are about 30 channels; in reality there are only 17 with only one in English, CNN International. The hotel is perfect if you want to be near the City of Knowledge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

Other problems

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Close to panama canal
Cons: Overstating view from room
Location: Close to panama canal. Didn't see anything else nearby.
View from room of panama was overrated. Taxi service was marginal to Panama Canal. Also, I booked a flight on Expedia four months in advance. When I arrived at the copa counter at airport in panama city to return to lax they gave me a standby ticket and lame excuses such as I didn't reserve a seat. They sent me to check in at terminal and they wouldn't let me on plane. This caused me very much in convince. I left Panama City the Next day after receiving a hotel stay, food, and 2000.00 voucher for future travel on copa. I am still unhappy with service.. Please respond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Canal View is Great!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Excellent hotel with a very friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffett is wonderful, with a lot of food choices. Hotel is very close to Miraflores Locks on the canal. Great view from rooms facing canal. Two nice restaurants/bars within walking distance. Located in a quiet area, but a short ride away from city center.
5 out of 5
by Martha C

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Good hotel near Panama Canal

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Excellent breakfast choices most days. Canal view room. Nice pool. Everything worked - all the amenities one would expect in a Holiday Inn.
Location: Delightful little restaurant/bar next door with outside tables! Very near the Panama Canal Visitors Center.
Friendly multi-lingual check-in staff, who also helped with taxis. Excellent room rates on Expedia for part of our stay, including full breakfast. This is the only hotel in the Clayton area of Panama City.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Diana A, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comment Martha. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Panama Canal and Miraflores locks

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Clean room. OK for the price.
Cons: Good value for price. Most important is room cleanliness. Need to be crystal clear in its advertising that there in no real view of canal.
Location: Tremendous visit to the Miraflores locks. Hotel would probably gain by being more active towards Panama Panal tourists.
Very convenient for visiting the Miraflores locks. Also just a short Uber ride to the old town. Will stay there again if I come to town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by ArangoD, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comments Geir. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit us again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels