Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Kim

Horrible

Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels
Do not stay here. Run down! Mouldy! Horrible.
5 out of 5
by yvonne

visiting panama

Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels
People were friendly and helpful, rooms very big and nice, 2 king size beds. Towels and linens nice and clean. AC worked great and it was very quiet at night. Food in restaurant good. Difficulty getting internet access. Out of water for a while, but they fix things fast. Room key did not work, but got fixed later. Water park in back was open Sunday and it is very nice for kids, it was busy, but friendly atmosphere. Overall a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by Valerie

Posted Jan 23, 2013 on Hotels
Lovely Old Charm Hotel with good mountain views. Service is good and food was great. Will stay here again and recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Bates Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2012
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
This hotel is VERY, VERY run down. The grounds are extemely uncared for, and the halls were kept dark (no lighting). The pool and its surroundings was dirty. The walk ways were littered with falling tree leaves and lems. Also looks as though the green allergy/mold had not been washed away in years. The rooms smeld old and moldy. When we checked in the computer system to the rooms did not work, so we had to be escorted to our room, which by the way had no hot water. The internet service was unbelievably poor if worked at all. It felt like I was in a horror movie (The Shining and/or The Bates Hotel in the movie Psycho). I would NEVER recommend this hotel; not even to my enemies. Their website is TOTALLY. to say the least misleading.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Aug 19, 2012
Pros: Big rooms
Cons: Everything else
Terrible place. I don't even know where to start. The hotel is quite old and smells of mildew. That alone is not enough to write a negative review IMO. Where this hotel really misses the mark is on customer service. The front desk was extremely rude. Every small request we made (such as requesting the phone number for a nearby restaurant) was met with dirty looks and smirks. The hotel's restaurant has an awful menu, and worse service. Wifi and AC were promised, but neither worked. On top of all of this, the location is quite inconvenient. Far away from the city. I hardly ever write reviews, but I had to make some comments about this hotel. Don't stay there. Please!
3 out of 5
by Axuliadora from Manaus - Amazonas, Brazil

just ok!

Posted Aug 11, 2012
We felt avalon has its glory in the past, but these days they can't keep it up, rooms are ok and comfortable, but all the facilities are outdated... I thank the staff for all their help, but I don't feel staying here again, besides that it is farther than I though.
2 out of 5
by Bert from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Beware of this Property!

Posted Aug 5, 2012
This hotel simply did not deliver. It was in the middle of no where. It would have cost us US30 each way to reach downtown plus at least 30 minutes. It was 30 minutes from the city airport and another US25.00. The "resort" is run down and passed it's prime. Albeit we were there in the off season, we could tell as soon as we entered that we had made a mistake in booking it. The rooms were very large and clean BUT there was no hot water! This is a US50 to US70 night property, don't pay twice as much as we did! The internet was also down so we couldn't even call to make other arrangements...needless to say, we were disappointed and lodged a complain with Expedia to review the hotel rating.
1 out of 5
by Sharon from Trinidad, West Indies

Poor choice for a hotel.

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Cons: The transportation costs.
Location: A hotel located in the middle of a forest.
First the hotel is too far from the Airport, about 30 mins and it cost me $33.00 USD for a taxi to get to the hotel and $ 30 USD from the hotel to the Airport because they do not provide a free shuttle. AC worked for about half an hour, next thing the water was just a little warm. Well don't talk about the complimentary breakfast, that was bread - white or whole wheat with butter and you could order something from the kitchen, which when I did, let me just say I had to just get up and leave the table without eating it. I do not which to say any more because it is bringing back too much bad feelings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A Sanjur

Dont waste your time...

Posted Jul 5, 2012 on Hotels
Very poor service. Hotel seems to be going out of business. Room keys not provided as front desk clerk had to open the room for us. No Airconditioning in our frist room so we moved to another room... Electricity went out then no water for about 6 hours,,,,,,, Need i say more??