Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Fun, Hip, Artsy Hotel!

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Orbitz
We stayed at Tantalo, in Casco Viejo, for three nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is super cute and in a perfect location for exploring Casco Viejo! Hanging out at the rooftop bar was lots of Fun! Breakfast was yummy! The staff were all great; very nice and very helpful! The only "dilemma" was that our room was loud at night due to the music from the rooftop bar, but I knew this would be the case before booking. Nevertheless, we were still able to sleep well since we were pretty tired from running around town all day and partying at night! Ear plugs might be helpful for someone who wants to go to bed early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is close to lots of restaurants

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Great location and wonderful breakfast. Unique rooms with friendly helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Pleasant hotel - noise can be an issue

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Welcoming and accommodating staff, conveniently located, great restaurant/bar. Comfortable room (bed and such). Spacious. Noise, however, can be an issue at night. Poorly isolated; if you have a light sleep I suggest you look for another option. I don't, and had no problem, but could definitely hear the music - at times loud. Wifi is OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretentious, trying to be a cutesy boutique hotel.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
This is a very loud hotel that is also a restaurant and bar with a larg open space in the center allowing sound to float up to all the rooms. Go there if you are young and hip and want to party all night. There are no chairs or tables in the room. Where do you put your stuff or sit down? All in all, meh.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There's no hot water at the hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
We came to panama for a wedding at Casco Antiguo, so staying nearby was the best option. We booked Tantalo Hotel since it was great rated and it promised a great experience, but... There's no hot water at the hotel!!! First day the told us that there was a problem with the hot water tank and that they would fix it as soon as possible (we took quick showers hoping for them to fix it the day after). In the morning after there still was no hot water in the shower, we called again and they told us that they would fix it later. Sadly, when we came back at night there was no hot water at all, we called again and they told us that we needed to put the "red color" as if we didn't know how to us a shower. They sent someone to check, first she opened the door as if no one was in the room, she went straight to the bathroom and touched the water, telling us that it was warm enough (not even close to warm) and left. 5 min later the front desk called us and told us that the girl who came and checked the water told them that it was a nice temperature (she might be used to taking cold showers) after that, they told us that it was the temperature that the hotel handled and that it was normal After 40min and several people coming to the room to "check the water temperature" they changed us to another room that had "warmer" water, still not hot, but at least bearable. It's not a cheap hotel and it's absurd that they don't "carry hot water at the hotel". They handle
3 out of 5
by michael

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
The staff and the food are fantastic. The rooms are noisy, very dimly lit and hot water is only lukewarm. Rooms are a nice size and the bed is comfortable but it is impossible to sleep with all the noise going on until 4.30am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Great location, great restaurants
Great restaurant and awesome bar Staff very friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Histórico center

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Grest place, fantástico restaurantes with in walking distanc. The Casco Viejo of the city of Panamá is s place for walking and enjoy histori.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything you need in one package.

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Cool place, but be aware of the rooftop bar. Super cool and convenient if you want to hit up the bar just steps away from your room. Not so much if you're staying in since the hotel will be crowded and noisy.