Ratings based on 885 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Room was directly on beach, which was great. But needed major updating and area felt unsafe. Payed way to much for this room for condition of it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Ok hotel very close to the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2016
If a hotel offers a kitchen, I would expect it to be fully equiped. We only had one knife, two forks, no toaster and very minimal everything else. Kitchen needs upgrade...cabinets are very old, no dish washer and no exhaust. Also, room service only removes trash and change towels, no bed making or floor cleaning. Other than that, the hotel is well located and the view from the balcony is awesome!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Rundown and Nasty

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Sara and Savanah at the front desk were really great. I found a huge bug on the kitchen counter in our room and bagged it up to take to them and they immediately said we could transfer over to The Origin in a one bedroom apartment. Moving to The Origin made our stay so much more comfortable and cleaner. I would not recommend anyone to stay at The Reef unless you want black feet, leaky faucets, tub that doesn't drain, and random huge bugs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Leuk hotel vlakbij strand

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Hotel is oud maar wel in goede staat. Locatie is dicht bij het strand en een aantal top restaurants. Lopend naar grote clubs is ook mogelijk! Verder goede ruime kamer met uitzicht op strand.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great stay

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Hotel seemed really run down. I had no problem with staff but the hotel just needs renovations. I felt uncomfortable the whole time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on beach

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Ants and noise and a/c unit cover falling off on balcony and drain tube broken allowing water to run all over balcony
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paducah, KY

Bad experience, made right

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Proximity to beach and hotel manager on duty.
Cons: The entire property needs renovating and the staff needs to be expanded so they can effectively do their jobs.
After checking in and going to our room, it was evident that the hotel and facilities are in great need of repair. Our balcony door would not lock and it was not sealed off from the outside elements. We asked for it to be fixed but they were not able to do so. Having 2 young children, we did not feel 100% safe. There were groups of the younger clientele in their 20's being loud and hanging off of the balconies. We knew this was not the Ritz Carlton but we didn't want a spring break dump either. After discussing our options of staying or leaving, I decided to go talk to the manager. I explained our situation to her and she was completely understanding and she offered to move us to their sister property across the street at no cost. This was a tremendous improvement to our experience. The staff at this hotel is doing the best with the product they have, we just think they are overwhelmed and they cannot keep up standards. However I would not book this hotel again, I would book at the Oasis which is where we were moved.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Basic Room, GREAT VIEW & LOCATION!

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. View is AMAZING, balconies are private (except 1st floor which is on walkway), steps from beach.
Cons: Elevator didn't seem to function at 100%, minor maintenance issues (squeaky door, light bulb out). Some people would say it needs 'repairs' or updates
Location: Sharky's beachfront restaurant, Pier Park 5 or 6 blocks away, some small restaurants/convenience stores, equipment rentals on beach, ice cream shop
Check in was easy and staff was friendly. Hotel is literally steps to the sand and EVERY ROOM has a beach view... Not a little corner of an ocean view, but a FULL ocean view. The room wasn't fancy, but it was clean and safe. Parking directly in front of hotel was hit and miss, but there is an overflow lot 1/2 block away with plenty of parking. We only had to park there one out of four nights. The elevator is a little sketchy and there is only one, but we frequently opted for the stairs. The wifi does reach room (even 4th floor) and is free. Room we got had a fridge (nearly full sized), microwave, stove, and coffee pot which helped reduce costs for eating out as we did lunch/breakfast in the room. The beach was clean, quiet, and not super crowded. There are two volleyball nets and beach chairs that can be rented. Sharky's bar is next door, the noise lights were not even noticeable as balconies don't face that way. We liked being able to walk up from the beach and grab a drink (refillable cups at reduced rate!) The food was not anything special, but the vibe, music, and drinks were good. If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton, the Reef is not for you, if you want a great view at a great price at a place that is NOT overrun with insects/vermin and is steps from a white sandy beach this is a good option.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016
No parking for guests. Had to move three times could take a shower sitting on toilet from a leak. Had to clean and service own room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, Ga

Posted May 3, 2016
Great location! Great restaurants nearby, and close to Pier Park.