Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, Wi

Great staff. Impressive looking. So-so cleanliness

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The hotel staff was amazing and welcoming to me and my family. Overall the resort is impressive and hanging by the pool was a treat. Very comfy bed and absolutely stunning view. Don't take a taxi from the hotel as a non-resident. $25-$30 to go into the city when locals only pay $4-$6. Definitely Uber it. Room was pretty clean but not what we expected from this highly rated resort. Dirty in corners, soap scum on shower head, bath drain didn't work very well, bath faucet not attached to tub and would pull right off, weird smell in room we couldn't identify, and bath return drain had gunk and mildew. Just not what we expected. Pools were a ton of fun and there were a lot of them, but was disappointed with a lot of chipped paint and falling debris in overhang areas and mildew. Lots of seating available, cabanas need some updates. Great amenities and fun atmosphere all around. Loved salsa lessons in the Soleo lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wonderful place to get away and enjoy

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: the room, the décor, the friendliness of the staff
Cons: all is good as is.
Location: the location was remote and there was nothing to do nearby, but this is perfect if you want to get away and enjoy a wonderful time
The hotel staff was friendly and willing to assist. I loved the room and décor. The pool area was especially nice because they had several pools and those designated for children and pools for adults. the food was wonderful and overall just please with the experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC area

Excellent trip to Panama

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotel staff was extremely courteous & attentive. Hotel food was very good, assistance with excursions ran smoothly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ecuador

Nice hotel with big pools and friendly staff.

Posted Aug 16, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at the Westin Playa Bonita. Our room was very comfortable, clean with a nice bathroom. There are many pools, so you can choose where you want to go. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. One morning the hotel gave all the guests that where around the pool area coconut water! The breakfast buffet was very good, a bit expensive, but because we rented a car, we had a good breakfast and after the pool, we decided to have a late lunch outside the hotel. The beach area is not that pretty. The natural area is very rocky and when the tide goes out the view is not the best, but then you have the pool area that is very nice. Before we chose this hotel I read the opinions and was a little worried because some of them were not very good. But I had a great experience and recommend the hotel. We hope to be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

There is no usable beach.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Swimming pools, spa, dancing/exercise classes, the executive room breakfast and happy hour, the view. The dancing/exercise instructors were fabulous.
Cons: Use of spa should be included.
Location: take excursions, which are rather costly and often not available, as they don't fill up
As nice as this hotel and its view is, it is basically a fraud. I was never warned that there is no usable beach whatsoever. I went for a seaside resort, that means a resort with access to the ocean. Stepping into the ocean on this "beach" is a hazard, as there are sharp stones. I have cut my foot the first day. Another woman was stung by a stingray on her first day. The low tide is also making the beach unusable. The hotel does not allow any cancellations. The hotel has a wonderful spa, but if you want to use any of it, you have to pay extra. The personnel is very nice, but often not too efficient. The food is OK, not great. There is no public transportation and it is far from everything. Expedia should have informed me ahead of time of the fact that I would be going to a luxury seashore resort with no access to the sea.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly

Power issues and room service

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The power had issues. It wasn't the entire hotel. Service was not as slow as rgecislands but still a bit sudstandard
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Beautiful hotel, not so great service

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the Westin Playa Bonita for the last two nights of our honeymoon. Pros: Private beach, 4 pools, 2 bars (one which has live music in the evenings), a gift shop, a spa, and a number of restaurants to choose from. The breakfast buffet is AMAZING and is definitely worth $22 per person. Cons: The evening dinner (buffet) at Starfish Restaurant was not great. For $34 per person it was definitely overpriced for the quality of food. The next night we chose to do a la carte at Starfish as the seafood was supposed to be excellent, but we were disappointed. The check-in and check-out process was very slow. They have 6 desks, but only one person working. This was constant throughout our stay, and it was difficult to find someone to help us out on multiple occasions. We booked a taxi to the airport through the front desk staff, only to find out it hadn't actually been booked. Thankfully there was a taxi on standby that took us, but this was not planned. Upon arrival we called room service to get a wine opener brought up to our room and had to call twice - after 30 minutes we finally got it delivered. Weren't impressed. Overall a lovely stay at a beautiful hotel, but some things could be improved. Note: if you're looking for a downtown hotel, this is not the one for you! It takes about half an hour to get to from downtown, and is very secluded, so you are limited to the expensive restaurants in the hotel unless you want to pay a taxi to take you into town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Wonderful Ocean Views

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and spectacular views
Cons: In some rooms, the air conditioning machinery could be loud. We moved to a quieter room.
Location: Highly recommend a partial transit tour of the Panama Canal.
A society wedding during our stay was like a free fashion show!
3 out of 5
by Jenny

A weak Westin

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Here is a summary: - check in process was not great, had back to back bookings but asked me to return to reception to check in again - pool was dirty, needs to be vacuumed, swim up bar was closed the entire stay - room service was hit and miss - half the stuff on the menu was not available, they would forget to bring you the basics like sugar for your coffee, butter for your toast...had to call back and have them bring it up - not all restaurants are open...buffet is not worth what they charge $32 USD for dinner with complimentary fruit flies...and a lot of them. We would call down to ask where and what the buffet was and would get different info. For example they would say at the Pacifica / Italian night but instead it would be at the Starfish and it was BBQ night. They told us to look at the flyer posted in the elevator and at reception for this information however it was wrong too - Lack of English speaking people. Hard to order food when you don't speak Spanish. Hospitality was terrible worst westin hotel I think I've been too. Yet they expect a tip for the shoddy service? Employees walk around and don't even acknowledge guests - paying guests that is. Bet I could have spent more money on alcohol if a server came around the pool more than once an hour - oh well your loss not mine - when you call reception good luck if you get someone to answer 50% hit or mIss - valet - no one around, half the time you need to hunt for someone to get your car
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Beautiful hotel - a bit removed from Panama City

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great hotel everything was as described. The only thing I will say is that the hotel is not close to Panama City. So if you want to go to Casco Viejo or Downtown Panama City you have to take a cab or Uber and sit in traffic both ways across the Bridge of the Americas. The food is good at the Westin but you are limited to what is at the actual resort. A different meal will require travel... otherwise, a fabulous spot!