Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valencia, CA

Very nice hotel with a friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: On the beach, GREAT pools, beautiful views and friendly, cheerful, helpful staff.
Cons: Since this hotel is far from any other entertainment or night life, it would have been nice to have been able to have some entertainment on property.
Location: This property was a bit of a drive from any of the local activities, but they made up for it with free shuttle service to the big mall and back.
This was my first stay in Panama City, so when I was looking for a hotel, I only had past experiences with other Westin properties as my guide and I was NOT disappointed! This is a very nice, clean, friendly place to stay. I would definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnwood, Illinois, USA

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Lot of space, several swimming pools, bars, and restaurants, and no crowds
Cons: very secluded area
Location: Very secluded area
After spending five days in Panama City, we transferred to Westin at Playa Bonita (approximately 30 miles from Panama City). With respect to the location, we knew what to expect. Hence, there were no surprises. Hotel is in a very secluded area (i.e. rain forest at one side and a narrow sandy beach on the other side). At no time should you dare to swim in the ocean. During the low tide the sharp rocks are just a foot-or-two below the surface. At low tide you will find out why one should avoid to swimming in the ocean. The hotel facilities and pool areas are superb. During the week the hotel was semi empty, while on the weekend the place is popular with the Panama City residents. The evenings we mainly spent in the Club (a very large facility on the 19th floor) drinking and munching on the appetizers. The place was very quiet. If you are looking for a quiet and private place (with a lot of space, several swimming pools, bars, and restaurants, and no crowds), then I would strongly recommend this place. If you are looking for a “night life” Playa Bonita is not the place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

it wasn't very clean i clean it things in room.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: beach and that about it.
Cons: expedia and need to work better i got the feeling there some bad blood and they take it over on us. i wanted to go spa we walk down they dnt say hello
Location: location was good on the beach you need drive every where. but dot like that i couldn't walk anywhere.
While most of the staff was nice, the overall experience falls very short of expectations. There is an obvious riifft between Expedia and the Westin resort and unfortunately we paid the price. The Westin needs to figure out how to work with their partners without making their guests suffer, The resort itself is not top notch. Rooms are small. Service uneven. And always it is not their fault. The resort advertises multiple restaurants (I think seven). What they don;t ell you is that there is never more than 2-3 (sometimes only one) to choose from. Several days there was only one to choose from for the whole day...the same one. Total BS misleading crap. Major problems with the booking regarding all -inclusive rate vs pay per everything. Complete disconnect with quotes from Expedia that the Westin refused to honor. Very disappointing. ruined experience. I would not recommend this resort to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Westin is the way to go.

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: What wasn't to like?? It was the highlight of our trip. Even in their off season the hotel and staff was top notch.
Cons: More events on site.
Location: Panama is a beautiful Country but Humans and the fast growth of the area have soiled it. There is trash everywhere. Not the beach you may expect.
The hotel and the room were clean. The staff was very friendly and we were able to get by with our limited Spanish speaking skills.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Hotel facilities and the location were excellent,but I felt uncomfortable against staff sometimes during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Excellent stay

Posted Oct 19, 2017
We stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of October and really enjoyed our vacation. As this was the off season some of the restaurants were closed and the Hotel was mostly empty. But we were well taken off by all the staff. The included Breakfast was good everyday. There was not much to do at the Hotel so we took the shuttle to Albrook Mall almost everyday. Once there you have a ton of transportation options to check out rest of shopping, sightseeing and entertainment options of Panama city. Tip: The Hotel does allow Uber on its premises (you just have to inform them of the driver's name beforehand). We wish we knew this beforehand as the shuttle for families can get expensive especially for multiple days. Overall a very enjoyable vacation and definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
by Sandra

A resort just outside Panama City

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
This is a great hotel if you would rather have resort-type accommodations in Panama City than a downtown hotel. The Westin Playa Bonita is close to nature, offers a private beach and several pools to spend relaxing days observing the ships waiting to cross the Panama Canal. The breakfast buffet is very complete, the staff was service-minded and gracious. I had dinner there only one day at the Asiana restaurant and it was very good. The hotel is outside the city, around 10-15 minutes away, and the traffic on weekdays can be tough at peak hours to cross the bridge that communicates the city with the hotel area. The recommendation we got from the taxi drivers was to avoid crossing the Puente de las Americas bridge between 4:30pm and 7:30pm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful Property and Pools - Horrible Food

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Pools and Views
Cons: Food, poor quality and extremely high prices.
Poor, Over-Priced food. Enjoyed the pools and great view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, Wi

Great staff. Impressive looking. So-so cleanliness

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The hotel staff was amazing and welcoming to me and my family. Overall the resort is impressive and hanging by the pool was a treat. Very comfy bed and absolutely stunning view. Don't take a taxi from the hotel as a non-resident. $25-$30 to go into the city when locals only pay $4-$6. Definitely Uber it. Room was pretty clean but not what we expected from this highly rated resort. Dirty in corners, soap scum on shower head, bath drain didn't work very well, bath faucet not attached to tub and would pull right off, weird smell in room we couldn't identify, and bath return drain had gunk and mildew. Just not what we expected. Pools were a ton of fun and there were a lot of them, but was disappointed with a lot of chipped paint and falling debris in overhang areas and mildew. Lots of seating available, cabanas need some updates. Great amenities and fun atmosphere all around. Loved salsa lessons in the Soleo lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wonderful place to get away and enjoy

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: the room, the décor, the friendliness of the staff
Cons: all is good as is.
Location: the location was remote and there was nothing to do nearby, but this is perfect if you want to get away and enjoy a wonderful time
The hotel staff was friendly and willing to assist. I loved the room and décor. The pool area was especially nice because they had several pools and those designated for children and pools for adults. the food was wonderful and overall just please with the experience