Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, Wi

Great staff. Impressive looking. So-so cleanliness

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The hotel staff was amazing and welcoming to me and my family. Overall the resort is impressive and hanging by the pool was a treat. Very comfy bed and absolutely stunning view. Don't take a taxi from the hotel as a non-resident. $25-$30 to go into the city when locals only pay $4-$6. Definitely Uber it. Room was pretty clean but not what we expected from this highly rated resort. Dirty in corners, soap scum on shower head, bath drain didn't work very well, bath faucet not attached to tub and would pull right off, weird smell in room we couldn't identify, and bath return drain had gunk and mildew. Just not what we expected. Pools were a ton of fun and there were a lot of them, but was disappointed with a lot of chipped paint and falling debris in overhang areas and mildew. Lots of seating available, cabanas need some updates. Great amenities and fun atmosphere all around. Loved salsa lessons in the Soleo lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wonderful place to get away and enjoy

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: the room, the décor, the friendliness of the staff
Cons: all is good as is.
Location: the location was remote and there was nothing to do nearby, but this is perfect if you want to get away and enjoy a wonderful time
The hotel staff was friendly and willing to assist. I loved the room and décor. The pool area was especially nice because they had several pools and those designated for children and pools for adults. the food was wonderful and overall just please with the experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC area

Excellent trip to Panama

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotel staff was extremely courteous & attentive. Hotel food was very good, assistance with excursions ran smoothly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ecuador

Nice hotel with big pools and friendly staff.

Posted Aug 16, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at the Westin Playa Bonita. Our room was very comfortable, clean with a nice bathroom. There are many pools, so you can choose where you want to go. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. One morning the hotel gave all the guests that where around the pool area coconut water! The breakfast buffet was very good, a bit expensive, but because we rented a car, we had a good breakfast and after the pool, we decided to have a late lunch outside the hotel. The beach area is not that pretty. The natural area is very rocky and when the tide goes out the view is not the best, but then you have the pool area that is very nice. Before we chose this hotel I read the opinions and was a little worried because some of them were not very good. But I had a great experience and recommend the hotel. We hope to be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

There is no usable beach.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Swimming pools, spa, dancing/exercise classes, the executive room breakfast and happy hour, the view. The dancing/exercise instructors were fabulous.
Cons: Use of spa should be included.
Location: take excursions, which are rather costly and often not available, as they don't fill up
As nice as this hotel and its view is, it is basically a fraud. I was never warned that there is no usable beach whatsoever. I went for a seaside resort, that means a resort with access to the ocean. Stepping into the ocean on this "beach" is a hazard, as there are sharp stones. I have cut my foot the first day. Another woman was stung by a stingray on her first day. The low tide is also making the beach unusable. The hotel does not allow any cancellations. The hotel has a wonderful spa, but if you want to use any of it, you have to pay extra. The personnel is very nice, but often not too efficient. The food is OK, not great. There is no public transportation and it is far from everything. Expedia should have informed me ahead of time of the fact that I would be going to a luxury seashore resort with no access to the sea.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly

Power issues and room service

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The power had issues. It wasn't the entire hotel. Service was not as slow as rgecislands but still a bit sudstandard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Wonderful Ocean Views

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and spectacular views
Cons: In some rooms, the air conditioning machinery could be loud. We moved to a quieter room.
Location: Highly recommend a partial transit tour of the Panama Canal.
A society wedding during our stay was like a free fashion show!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Beautiful hotel - a bit removed from Panama City

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great hotel everything was as described. The only thing I will say is that the hotel is not close to Panama City. So if you want to go to Casco Viejo or Downtown Panama City you have to take a cab or Uber and sit in traffic both ways across the Bridge of the Americas. The food is good at the Westin but you are limited to what is at the actual resort. A different meal will require travel... otherwise, a fabulous spot!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent service, out of town location

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Service and loction
Cons: Food is ok but nothing special
Location: Millaflores Locks are nearby
The hotel is out of the main town and 30 minutes from the airport so I would recommend a hire car, as taxi costs would soon mount up. I liked the location, which was quiet with an interesting beach, not smooth, white sand but plenty of things for the kids to look at at low tide. The service was good, everybody was cheerful and very helpful. The breakfast buffets and dinners were ok, but nothing special.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Not a 4star

Posted Jun 24, 2017
It takes more than a lavish lobby and a clean room to be a 4 star No one smiles in hotel - no greetings - food bad and pricey - and was arranged a aweful driver / tour guide / experience