Ratings based on 1,020 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Our second Home

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: We are customer on this Hotel for 5 year we like everything about it. The location, the food the hotel some people that work there.
Cons: The parking lot we went last year and there was hole on the parking lot and this year still hole
Location: It is very nice to go there because there is to much to see and do on Amador, they remade the whole greenway and look beautiful, we walk everyday
I was very upset the first week because I want to reserve a room 1314 and I did it one month on advance and the reservation confirm for me that we will get that room but when we got there they told us that another customer have it that made me very upset because they did not fallow what they told me they will do. was very upsetting any way the week after that we move to the room that we want. after that we were fine. They told me on the from desk that they don't reserve room when we got there I want to tell the reservation department to not tell customer that we can reserve room ahead of time that way they don't give us false information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Good location along the Panama Canal entrance.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Wonderful bay view to watch ships from our balcony. Breakfast buffet very good. Staff very helpful and pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary Ab

Nice Hotel on the Bay entering the Panama Canal

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Pool, location, cleanliness,
Cons: Landscape, hotel physical appearance, train staff in customer satisfaction.
Location: The Canal locks, close to the country, downtown Panama city, old town, Mercado Mariscos, Monkey Island, Tobago island,
This hotel has a nice, clean pool. Nice view of the Bay and the many ships traveling through the canal. Rooms are clean, linens very good. There is an older section as well as new. I stayed in both which were fine. There are some cosmetic issues with the appearance of the hotel from the outside. The landscape both inside and outside could use more attention. Included breakfast has a good assortment and changes a bit every day or two. Pancakes, dry cereal, bacon, eggs, tortillas, breads and pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurt, Maple syrup, etc. The hotel is about a 15 min drive to downtown Panama. Taxi $10. Its away from the hustle and bustle of the city. There are several restaurants within 5-10 min drive. Next door is the Balboa Yacht Club. A locals hangout worth people watching. Ferries also leave from in front of the BYC. Take the ferry to Taboga island. Nice beaches, colourful town. Sirenas restaurant at the end of the causeway is very good. Country Grocery 5 min. away is very good as well. Some of the front desk staff are a bit rude, making you wait with your questions or concerns. For the price it suits me just fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, Alberta.

Ok hotel. It's out of the city, but close enough t

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The pool. It was quiet.
Cons: Maintenance of the facility could be better
Location: Balboa yacht club next door is entertaining.
Easy check in. Breakfast is adequate. Taxi to downtown is $10.00usd. Pool is clean and nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Sub Par Hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Never was greeted upon entering hotel. The front desk made me wait 10 minutes to check in because "check in" us at 3. Although it was 2:45 when I arrived. And not because the room wasnt ready. He said it was the system didn't allow him to. Which I know its a plain lie. I never in my entire life been to a hotel where you couldn't check in before the time. Sheets were rough. Broken knobs in bathroom. That almost injured me. Pool closed at 12 am. But the pool guy started throwing clorine in while we were in it. The only good part was the service at Fridays next door. Excellent customer there. Otherwise, I will never stay there again, and will recommend my friends to not touch foot there as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. We apologize that you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff and the condition of your room during your stay. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management for improvements. We hope for another chance to have you as our guest at any of our Country Inn & Suites hotels in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Nice hotel with a view of the busy Panama Canal

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Staff were excellent.
Cons: TGIF restaurant in the hotel - not great food. Balboa Yacht club had decent food. Not much else nearby that we found.
Location: Not a lot to do close by, a great walkway along the canal. Shuttle to Allbrook Mall
Room was spacious, comfortable and clean. An older hotel with good maintenance up keep. Great pool and view.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from panama

Skip it

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Rude condescending cookie cutter dump, pay more and get better You'll be glad you did
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service and again, we are sorry that you weren't able to observe it at that time.We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Should you have any concerns during or after your stay, please reach out to any of our employees directly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A relaxing site.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Distance from Tocumen airport but that's life.
While far from Tocumen airport, this is a quiet and relaxing place far from the madness of downtown. Casco Viejo is a short taxi ride ( outside of rush hour). We went to a baroque music concert at Teatro Villalaz and the front desk person was very helpful in assisting us to purchase tickets. This is really going the extra mile. The hotel administration should be very proud of the whole staff, breakfast room, housekeeping, pool and front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
Wir sind sehr bitte mit Meinung, dass der Ort, wenn auch etwas entfernt von all dem Wahnsinn der Stadt, können Sie Ruhe und Entspannung sein. Es ist bequem, nur einen kurzen Spaziergang durch die Altstadt in der Nähe. Hören Sie das Personal gibt die extra Meile, sehr wichtig ist, den Frühstücksraum , Reinigung, Rezeption excelnte. Natürlich steht, dass das Management wissen, dass unsere Mitarbeiter alles für den Kunden gibt. Wir freuen uns über Ihre Kommentare. Grüße,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nipawin, SK, Canada

Hotel was in an incredible place for watching ship

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Close to canal. Good location for a lot of the things we went to see. Pool was nice.
Cons: Cleanliness of outside grounds. We did see cleaning in the front of hotel but nothing on sides or at back where pool is located
Location: Short cab ride to canal, Allbrook mall, Old Town, Fish Market, BioMuseum (walking distance). We walked the Causeway back to our hotel.
Hotel was in an incredible place for watching ships make their way into the canal. The hotel is older but clean. A good portion of the front desk staff were less than helpful. Not all. We would ask questions and were told to come back later or in the morning. It was like we were bothering them
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
We are very happy to hear that the hotel was an amazing place, that you could watch the boats go by. A little distance to reach the Canal, but the location was good, the pool area was nice. We will take the correctives to improve the cleaning of the external areas of the garden and to the sides, also there will be measures to correct the customer service by our reception staff. We are very sorry. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great views of boats and canal

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: The pool was kept very clean and it was never crowded during our stay. We loved watching the boats from our balcony.
Cons: It would be great if there was another restaurant option, as Friday's is so busy and noisy. More shuttle options would be nice. The cabs get pricey.
Location: The yacht club is a good food and drink option, although certainly not fancy. Flamenco Isle has great restaurants.
We found the hotel and our room to be very nice. The room was kept very clean and the majority of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Watching the boats pass from the room was also impressive. We know he will return, we hope to see you on your next trip. Regards,