Ratings based on 1,009 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from panama

Skip it

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Rude condescending cookie cutter dump, pay more and get better You'll be glad you did
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service and again, we are sorry that you weren't able to observe it at that time.We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Should you have any concerns during or after your stay, please reach out to any of our employees directly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A relaxing site.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Distance from Tocumen airport but that's life.
While far from Tocumen airport, this is a quiet and relaxing place far from the madness of downtown. Casco Viejo is a short taxi ride ( outside of rush hour). We went to a baroque music concert at Teatro Villalaz and the front desk person was very helpful in assisting us to purchase tickets. This is really going the extra mile. The hotel administration should be very proud of the whole staff, breakfast room, housekeeping, pool and front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
Wir sind sehr bitte mit Meinung, dass der Ort, wenn auch etwas entfernt von all dem Wahnsinn der Stadt, können Sie Ruhe und Entspannung sein. Es ist bequem, nur einen kurzen Spaziergang durch die Altstadt in der Nähe. Hören Sie das Personal gibt die extra Meile, sehr wichtig ist, den Frühstücksraum , Reinigung, Rezeption excelnte. Natürlich steht, dass das Management wissen, dass unsere Mitarbeiter alles für den Kunden gibt. Wir freuen uns über Ihre Kommentare. Grüße,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nipawin, SK, Canada

Hotel was in an incredible place for watching ship

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Close to canal. Good location for a lot of the things we went to see. Pool was nice.
Cons: Cleanliness of outside grounds. We did see cleaning in the front of hotel but nothing on sides or at back where pool is located
Location: Short cab ride to canal, Allbrook mall, Old Town, Fish Market, BioMuseum (walking distance). We walked the Causeway back to our hotel.
Hotel was in an incredible place for watching ships make their way into the canal. The hotel is older but clean. A good portion of the front desk staff were less than helpful. Not all. We would ask questions and were told to come back later or in the morning. It was like we were bothering them
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
We are very happy to hear that the hotel was an amazing place, that you could watch the boats go by. A little distance to reach the Canal, but the location was good, the pool area was nice. We will take the correctives to improve the cleaning of the external areas of the garden and to the sides, also there will be measures to correct the customer service by our reception staff. We are very sorry. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great views of boats and canal

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: The pool was kept very clean and it was never crowded during our stay. We loved watching the boats from our balcony.
Cons: It would be great if there was another restaurant option, as Friday's is so busy and noisy. More shuttle options would be nice. The cabs get pricey.
Location: The yacht club is a good food and drink option, although certainly not fancy. Flamenco Isle has great restaurants.
We found the hotel and our room to be very nice. The room was kept very clean and the majority of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Watching the boats pass from the room was also impressive. We know he will return, we hope to see you on your next trip. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shorewood, MN

A Walk Near the Panama Canal

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Breakfasts and dinners were ample, tasty, and affordable. Quiet location, great for daily walks on the Amador Causeway Trail, watching ships go by.
Cons: Internet speed. Best was 4 Mbps, often less than 1 Mbps, sometimes less than 0.5 Mbps. Some dropped connections. Not good enough for Skype video.
Location: Amador Causeway Trail has great views of Panama City, Bay, and Canal while walking, running, or biking. Biomuseo (Museum of Diodiversity) is must see.
I was looking for a place to take daily walks in the warm sun (not possible at home in Minnesota this time of year). This hotel was a great find. The room was comfortable, the food tasty, abundant, and affordable, and the walking was just what I needed for daily exercise. The walk from the hotel along the Amador Causeway Trail to Ft. Amador is about three miles each way. The trail is under reconstruction, with the east side (pictured below) mostly done and new concrete being poured on the west side now. It offers beautiful views of Panama City, Panama Bay, and the Panama Canal, with a ship passing every half-hour or so. At the end of the trail is Flamenco Marina, where I boarded the Pacific Queen for a full transit of the Panama Canal. I did a half-transit last year, and am glad now to have done both. The hotel staff were all helpful and friendly. All understood English, and many were fluent in it. Some of the reviews I read before booking said the rooms were too cold and the heat could not be controlled. That was not my experience. The thermostat responded perfectly to my commands. After experimenting, I settled on a temperature of 22 degrees C (71.6 degrees F). I plan to return in coming years.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The staff at the Hotel were very friendly and serviceable, all spoke English fluently. In the critics to improve we are very interested in your opinion we will work the Internet and the regulation of Air Conditioning. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Terrific hotel on the canal

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: I liked the breakfast buffet which was the best we had on out 2 week trip through panama.
Cons: Another restaurant with better food than TGIFridays as well as some stores and markets would have made the location better.
Location: We saw the BioDiversity Museum which was just down the street and the Bridge of the Americas was within sight of the hotel. Miraflores locks too far.
The hotel was wonderful and the pool was very large and well laid out. Obviously, the hotel is used as a resort even by Panamanians. The only problem was that it was much further from the city than we realized so there were no stores or restaurants within walking distance. Even with a taxi, it would have been along ride back into the city. The only restaurant on the property was TGIFridays which was a disappointment. Otherwise, the hotel alone was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
We were pleased to hear that the hotel was great, wonderful, the pool area large and well laid out. The buffet breakfast know that it is the best you have had during a two week trip in Panama, we loved it. It is true that we are a little far, away from the City and some distance away. It is a place to relax, be quiet, the atmosphere is what makes the place cozy. In the subject of Fridays Restaurant we will take corrective measures to improve. We look forward to your visit on your next trip. Best regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is pretty big and have good facilities.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: It is quiet
Cons: They should be at least one drinking water available in every room.\
Location: It is nearby Isla Perico which is a great area to visit
Chech in was pretty quick, there are three restaurants to choose from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
Nice to know your opinion that the facilities were good, comfortable and very large. That his stay was super. We like to hear that the location was close to Perico Island to move to different restaurants. In the recommendation that makes us on the bottle of water in the room, we will take your comment to improve and provide you with good service. Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia, Canada

Faded. Needs lots of updating.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The view on the water side.
Cons: Major upgrades all around. Painting, new furniture and fixtures, care and maintenance.
Location: Artisanal marketplace within walking distance. Lots of restaurants and shops on the Amador causeway.
We first stayed at the Amador Country Inn and Suites nine years ago and again four years ago. The location is excellent for viewing vessels queuing up to enter the Panama Canal. Unfortunately, the intervening years have not been kind. The hotel is sadly faded. Major upgrades would be required to make it acceptable to us once again. The hallways and common areas are dingy. Our room smelled musty upon arrival. Had it not been late at night when we arrived, I would have sought accommodation elsewhere. The hotel does boast a great view on the water side, but it fails to compensate for the overall shabbiness of the facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
On behalf of Country Inn & Suites we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. We will take all necessary corrections in all the mentioned points, so that it does not happen again and thus to offer you better service the next time you visit us. It is very important for us your opinion. We thank you. Sincerely, Thanks,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't beat the Location!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Location and view
Cons: Continue to work on improving the old building
Location: On the entrance to the Amador Causeway adjacent to the marina and ferry to the islands
Loved the location. Spend a little bit more and get a balcony overlooking the ship entrance to the canal - never a dull moment! The hotel is old but well maintained. The inclusive buffet breakfast is very good and the staff work very hard to ensure cleanliness and that the platters are filled. Hotel staff are helpful and friendly and the rooms are kept very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
We are very happy to hear that your stay was pleasant, our staff very friendly and helpful., Perfect location, canal view, very clean rooms, rich and varied buffet breakfast. The Hotel is a bit old, but knowing that I notice that we always give continuous maintenance is nice. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Quiet safe place.
Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We needed a crib for the baby and it arrived to the room in 5 minutes. Excellent service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Gerissa, Hotel Management
We are very pleased with your comment of the excellent attention by the staff, who solved your need for the crib in a short time. Glad to know that the attention was great. We know he'd come back. Best regards.