Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

The best warm-like home hotel in the Panama City,

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Staff, rooms, location.
Cons: Would change the art in the wall by REAL ART, and not copies, the building deserve it.
Location: Central, art galleries, restaurants.
From the moment you step in the hotel, you feel the difference. it has a charm of boutique hotels in France. The decor, facilities, staff, oh and the location, you can't ask for any better than that of more. The breakfast simple but good, lots of fresh in season fruits. The facade of the place is beautiful, just like in Quebec City, Canada. I would go back there anytime. The only thing, which has nothing to do with the hotel, is that is surrounded by huge contemporary buildings, but then again the city is like that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with character misses the mark

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Deville Hotel is cute and has character and yet left us frustrated and disappointed over and over. Problems began at check-in when the room we were given was not what we had reserved. It was a significant issue for us and we yet were informed that there was no way we could move. One staff member (the next morning) made an effort to offer us recompense, but nothing was ever done. The second worse problem was the lack of hot water! We had 1/2 a hot shower the first night and never had hot water again... thankfully we were only staying 2 nights and I could skip washing my hair the second day. The wifi was also spotty (it only worked the second day). The breakfast was decent and the food at the restaurant on-site was good... it had only just re-opened and the hotel staff clearly didn't know when and it was and was not open. Overall, we cannot recommend this hotel and certainly would find something else another time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Nice hotel right in downtown.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location, free parking and breakfast included. Friendly staff.
Cons: Instructions on how to get directly to the hotel as it is on a one way street.
Location: Location right in downtown. Close to all ammenities, Cinta Costera, Casco Viejo, mercado de mariscos (fish market).
Excent location in the heart of Panama City. Close to the Cinta Costera, Casco Viejo. Free parking with breakfast included. Stayed in a suite with two bedrooms, each with its own bathroom. Very private for a couple and extra person. This is our second stay at Hotel Deville and would recommend it to all friends and relatives visiting Panama city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Humongous rooms with a large sofa

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Helpful desk staff. Very comfortable room in a central but quiet location. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Quaint Hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: The bed was the best & most comfortable one on this trip! Plus the suite was quite large & quaint. It was very clean & well maintained & pretty quiet.
Cons: The elevators smelled a bit old & musty & were quite small as well. That's the only thing I didn't like about this hotel.
Location: You could walk to nearby restaurants & cafes & a popular area Calle Argentina was relatively close. Otherwise calling an Uber was quick & easy too.
This hotel was quaint & very clean! The staff was very helpful & gave us some great recommendations for restaurants & cafes. It looks like it was an apartment building at one time that was made into hotel rooms. We had a beautiful suite which was huge w/3 rooms & 2 bathrooms on 2 levels. The king bed was the most comfortable of all the 5 hotels we've stayed on this 2 week trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Augustine, FL

Boutique Hotel Close to The Casinos Area

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Things I liked: 1) Good location. 2) Comfortable bed and pillows.
Cons: 1) I needed an iron and it took a while since the only iron was at some room where the guests were still sleeping. 2) Showering: The hot water was not
Location: Good location. Walking distance to Casinos and restaurants.
I stayed on this same hotel about 7 years ago. Back then, the hotel was impeccable and the breakfast was out of this world. Based on my previous experience, I decided to choose this same hotel but there was a noticeable difference. Nowadays, It seems that there are so many good hotels in Panama and definitely supply of hotels is higher than demand. Therefore, hotels like DeVille may not be able to have enough resources to stay at a high standard hotel. Few things that I didn't like: 1) I needed an iron and it took a while since the only iron was at some room where the guests were still sleeping. 2) Showering: The hot water was not hot enough for me. 3) The floor tile was very dirty like stained dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Excellent pricing. Several lights not working. Finished.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: good value and location
very quiet and comfortable and very helpful staff this is not the usual Panamanian hotel it is a relaxing place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from costa Rica

Great location in a stylish, old world hotel!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The large rooms were great. I've seen apts smaller!
Cons: It's original elegant beauty is a bit faded. Still charming and elegant, but a little sprucing up would be perfect!
Location: The location is right off Calle 50. Which gets you to anywhere. It's back from the big road, quiet, in a very noisy town! restaurants every where!
The rooms here are quite large and fully appointed. The location can't be beat! The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Oscar and Carlos in reception. There was an issue checking in. First room had a water issue, and the second room was a smoking room (imagine? In this day and age!), which stank horribly, for us as non-smokers. But, they moved us to a lovely room on the second floor that was perfect! The bed was a king and comfy. The room large and always comfortably cool. Love this hotel! It's a find.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent value.

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Good large clean rooms.