Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Service level not what it used to be.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Loved the room
Cons: Day manager/ Concierge, never really understood her function. she was nice but they could have sold us day trips, tours, etc. but didn't educateus
Night manager doesn't speak English, area becomes more prostitute-infested at night which can make it scary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice central hotel

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Nice beds.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Old town, fish market, Albrook Mall
Hotel is close to the metro. Fish market and old town are about a 45 min walk. You cab or take metro close by. Lots of places to eat nearby. Many restaurants are closed on Sundays. Breakfast was good, they always had eggs, cheese and sliced meats as well as breads and cereals. Staff is very friendly. Beds were very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

HOTEL IS NOT AN AMERICAN 4*

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, fresh paint, new light, new carpet, repair windows, fix water problem, a complete remodel
Location: Don't know
The 4* rating and the customer ratings are quite misleading. I don't know who the people are who are leaving these excellent and very good reviews, but I trusted their review to book this hotel. OMG! The hotel manager Oscar assigned me to room 114. He handed me a large key. I though to myself I haven't seen a hotel key like this since the 1960's. As I walked through the dark hallway, I noticed the dirty, worn carpet, the scratched woodwork, and old dingy walls. After several tries to open the door with the key it finally popped open. The room was depressingly dark and dingy. I went back down stairs and requested another room. Oscar gave me the key to room 332. The third floor was worse, dark, dingy, stained, dirty, worn carpet, scratched woodwork, dingy walls. Again, I had to fight with the key in the door to get it open. I pushed and pulled until it finally popped open.I turned on all of the lights and the room was still dark. (Not light and bright as pictured) I walked over to a window, pulled back the shade, the window glass was broken from top to bottom. a hole in the window was covered with a piece of cardboard. I went into the bathroom to use it. The toilet didn't flush. I turned on the sink to wash my hands. No water. Oscar offered me another room, but I had had enough. I didn't spend an hour in that hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Very nice hotel with a very good location

Posted May 4, 2017
The people made the difference of this hotel. Thank you very much to all the staff.........
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from venezuela

Nice for a business visit

Posted May 2, 2017
I needed a nice place with amenities included and code to businesses that I was going to visit during my stay. This turned out to be the effect place. My travel agent chose it for me at Expedia TAAP. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

The best warm-like home hotel in the Panama City,

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Staff, rooms, location.
Cons: Would change the art in the wall by REAL ART, and not copies, the building deserve it.
Location: Central, art galleries, restaurants.
From the moment you step in the hotel, you feel the difference. it has a charm of boutique hotels in France. The decor, facilities, staff, oh and the location, you can't ask for any better than that of more. The breakfast simple but good, lots of fresh in season fruits. The facade of the place is beautiful, just like in Quebec City, Canada. I would go back there anytime. The only thing, which has nothing to do with the hotel, is that is surrounded by huge contemporary buildings, but then again the city is like that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with character misses the mark

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Deville Hotel is cute and has character and yet left us frustrated and disappointed over and over. Problems began at check-in when the room we were given was not what we had reserved. It was a significant issue for us and we yet were informed that there was no way we could move. One staff member (the next morning) made an effort to offer us recompense, but nothing was ever done. The second worse problem was the lack of hot water! We had 1/2 a hot shower the first night and never had hot water again... thankfully we were only staying 2 nights and I could skip washing my hair the second day. The wifi was also spotty (it only worked the second day). The breakfast was decent and the food at the restaurant on-site was good... it had only just re-opened and the hotel staff clearly didn't know when and it was and was not open. Overall, we cannot recommend this hotel and certainly would find something else another time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Nice hotel right in downtown.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location, free parking and breakfast included. Friendly staff.
Cons: Instructions on how to get directly to the hotel as it is on a one way street.
Location: Location right in downtown. Close to all ammenities, Cinta Costera, Casco Viejo, mercado de mariscos (fish market).
Excent location in the heart of Panama City. Close to the Cinta Costera, Casco Viejo. Free parking with breakfast included. Stayed in a suite with two bedrooms, each with its own bathroom. Very private for a couple and extra person. This is our second stay at Hotel Deville and would recommend it to all friends and relatives visiting Panama city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Humongous rooms with a large sofa

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Helpful desk staff. Very comfortable room in a central but quiet location. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Pamela

Quick stop in Panama made easy

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely to have them waiting for us at the airport ( you pay fee). Hotel was clean and comfortable. Very pleasant staff. A little problem with language as we do not speak Spanish. Highly recommend this hotel. Great location