Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coral Springs, FL

The Esplendor

Posted Mar 22, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was beautiful with a great location in the financial district and in the City. The Hotel was clean and comfortable. However, the kitchen did not provide silverware or plates. In addition, the service was mediocre and some of the staff was not as helpful as they should have been.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Esplendor hotel - suite is a full condo

Posted Mar 19, 2012 on Hotels
Spent 3 days there last week. My room was a 600ft condo, complete with kitchen, office, living room with TV, powder room, separate bedroom with TV, closet, chest of drawers, glass shower, two sinks, and private toilet - all with high end finishes. The level below reception is quite cool and chic with it's own bar, and restaurant with reknown chef. My last dinner consisted of a 7-course tasting menu with accompanying wines and absolutely splendid service. A must if you're visiting Panama. The hotel also had a wonderful masseuse, Elvira. The only thing I found extremely lacking was the service, and the fact that when you spoke to staff in correct and fluent Spanish, they refused to reply. The latter was something several of us noticed over several days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Posted Feb 26, 2012 on Hotels
Overall we had a nice stay at the Esplendor. We stayed in a 2 room suite that was very comfortable (good beds, but otherwise cheap furniture). The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Mona from Houston, TX, USA

Nice view that is it .

Posted Feb 23, 2012
Pros: Nice view - Location
Cons: Lobby social area/
Location: Great
It was Ok Hotel. It has a good location but it does not have facilities in the hotel. Like a computer center, a gym , a swimming pool. Very nice view.
2 out of 5
by Ekaterina from Panama

a list of failures of the service

Posted Feb 22, 2012
Pros: breakfast was good though lady who was serving omlettes was late everytime
Cons: service
Location: centric
1. I moved in Esplendor hotel to celebrate my birthday, i warned receptionist about it several times that i would like everything to be perfect. 2. the bathroom door in my room # 1301 was absent (there was just no door) 3. my used glass remained dirty on the kitchen for 3 days i stayed in the hotel 4. the second day i had to ask for towels as there was none after so called (cleaning up my room) 5. though hotel has 3 or 4 parking floors in the building, guests do not have a direct access to it, so if you have a car, you have to pay 1-2$ for valet parking every time you come to the hotel during the day.... i had to do it 3-4 times a day.... 6. i had flowers with me, but my request for a vase was ignored as i was told that the hotel didnt have a single one..... 7. for bathrobe i had to ask for 3 times when the last time i mentioned the broken door, so only after that they've sent me a kit with slippers Hope the administration will pay attention to the quality of service of their hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Reception

Posted Feb 6, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice but the reception was not extremely bad. We waited for about 20 minutes to register with the receptionist who was busy on his computer and ignored us completely. When another regular guest arrived asking why we were waiting and assuming we were booking in a large group we told him that no-one was helping us to get our room key. We were just ignored despite having paid for a room for two nights. He then had to call someone else from the management he knew personally who eventually got us booked in. A bad start to our stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires, Argentina

The Hotel is pretty good

Posted Feb 4, 2012 on Hotels
The only problem is that they gave us an occupied room. The rest was perfect.
2 out of 5
by Claudia from Brazil

Disorganised

Posted Feb 4, 2012
Pros: The pool.
Cons: The staff.
Location: OK.
We arrive early in the morning and the check in was only at 3:00 pm. They tell us to make a city tour until waiting. When we came back, there were no room avaiable for us ( 4 people and only one room with one king bed). We stayed at this room with an extra bed (3 sleeped at the king bed). But first they gave us a private room, so I had to move after I was already sleeping!!!! They brought the wrong luggage, so my husband has to go down and look for ours. It hasn't enought towels, and they didn't bring more even after I asked by phone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning,unbelievable, worth it all the way!

Posted Jan 8, 2012 on Hotels
Wow! I will certainly make Esplendor my hotel of choice in Panama. Coming from New York city, it aas up to par with the best boutique hotels on NY. Wow