Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Not recommended

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Sink clogged, toilet didn't flush properly. Roaches in room. Staff did not speak English.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Calidonia Hotel Decent but be Cautious

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The comfortable beds.
Cons: The hotel is aging. Also we had stayed a few different nights, always in different rooms and one had a few bugs hanging around.
The hotel is pretty good for what you pay. And it's close to lots of touristy neighbourhoods like Casco Viejo, San Francisco, and even the Amador Causeway area (quick cabs from $4 USD to $10 USD). We were warned repeatedly by tourist police, cabbies and locals that Calidonia is not the safest for tourists and to not venture out after dark. To that end we did have a bag stolen while hanging out in the neighbourhood. But there aren't really many other options for budget minded travellers aside from maybe selecting a dorm in a more touristy spot for roughly the same price as this private hotel room. Air Conditioning works. Beds are very comfortable. Most room showers are large and tiled. Hot water works. Rooftop pool offers a nice view but not the cleanest. Staff speak mostly Spanish and may not be big on smiles but are pretty helpful and accommodating with helping to arrange airport taxis, letting you store luggage there if you day trip out of Panama City and then come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Close to major sites,mall & easy transport.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Good for if in transit. Room was basic but comfortable. Bathroom was very clean. Walk with snack as breakfast would not full you (Lol). Be sure to check out @ 2:00 on d dot. We had some time b4 our flight 2 Cancun so we did some shopping, got back bout 11/2 hours later than check out time, had 2 pay 4 an extra night. Other than that, not bad 4 d price. Oh, very hard to get through by phone but they had my info, thanks Expedia!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Posted Jul 4, 2014
I got a really good service, people were friendly and it's in a really convinience place if you're planing to go shopping at Albrook Mallm or around
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from California

Nice and worth it

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: for what I paid the room was nice and a nice breakfast
Cons: The restaurant inside the people could learn a little more English.
Location: The area could be a little cleaner. People ten to litter.
The hotel was 6 blocks from the bay. Beautiful area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last resort

Posted Dec 16, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice, but there is wifi problem

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: restaurante with good facilities.
Location: lotería
sometimes I couldn't use wifi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TJ from Grand Cayman

My vacation stay at Hotel 2 Mares

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: It is in a very protected area.
Cons: The beds were a bit worn but I don't live there so it really wasn't a problem
Location: The area is highly patrolled by police/security and crazy shopping, restaurants/bars, supermarket, laundry, pharmacy, barber/beauty salon you name it.
The Hotel is not a five star but a three star and it is worth the money. The staff is friendly, but need to learn a bit more english in order for better communication. The streets are very busy so you can hear all the traffic driving by and horns blowing. Overall the area is highly protected and I honestly have no complaints about my stay. I would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible.

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The whole hotel.
Location: Nothing, was like in a ghetto.
It was awful Hardly anyone spoke English. They did not understand me and I did not understand them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Non expensive hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2012
Non expensive hotel. The neibourghood is a bit noisy, and a clerk just entered the room to leave towels, without knocking the door, fortunately we were sleeping, otherwise it would be embarrassing.