Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
30% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2017
This is not a 3.5 star hotel, it's way less. Very very outdated. The window in the hall my room was located was broken and everything looked too worn out and old--from the bed sheets, to the shower and the oxidated mirror. the room did look clean, but we had our doubts the whole night. The hotel staff did not help the experience. There were no towels in the room, asked for some twice, they never came. I had to go down to the reception and tell them to give me some before I left for the room again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san salvador

Posted Dec 28, 2016
I staped here for 4 days, it was fair, daily cleaning service, WiFi working properly, clean bathroom with hot water, good and safe location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Cheap yes…but just an odd, disturbing place.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The cost, but there is risk associated.
Cons: d
Location: Although walking distance, too far away from entertainment district/area.
Cheap yes…but just an old, odd, out of the way, disturbing place...good for one night only if you're dead tired, blind drunk, or just appeared on America’s Most Wanted. No one spoke English and no in-room safe as site alluded to. Because you're not allowed a key, returning after-hours or bringing a guest requires scuttling past a barrage of non-English speaking browbeaters through a 3 ft-wide lobby. You can further impress your guests with a turn-of-the-century, dimly lit, subdued, dingy, no-window, 85 sq ft action pad...complete with primordial furniture & paper-thin bed cover to include, at no extra charge, long curly human hairs adhered to the sleep sheet—it may be wise to sleep in street clothes with towel wrapped over pillow case. If you have morning engagements but still want their free breakfast, cancel them or plan an hour extra as you witness Panama’s indigenous tree sloth serve you. The infant-sized free breakfast choice consist of either 3 pancakes and 1 cup coffee, scrambled eggs and 1 cup coffee, fruit and 1 cup coffee. Combining choices voids free breakfast option; if you want an extra cup of coffee add 20 minutes to your schedule. Despite worldly travelers and having 4 days reservation left we couldn't take the creep anymore and upgraded to a 5-star hotel (Expedia offered) for only $32 more, at ideal location; best decision of the trip. Spend the extra coin and stay away traveler, there’s too many fine hotels available at just a fraction of US cost; plu
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The scariest hotel I've ever been to

Posted Dec 5, 2016
As a heavy international traveler, I can generally roll with the punches and am not upset when hotel class standards differ in different cultures. Hotel Montreal was shockingly bad under any circumstances. I truly wonder how they stay in business but I would not recommend booking at this hotel unless you have physically visited the property and know what you are getting into. This currently sits at the top of the worst hotels I've been to.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

WARNING Not a 4 star as listed. Dirty & unsafe.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
My friend and I booked our rooms through Expedia and checked in late into two separate rooms. Front desk staff were OK but didn't seem too interested in their tasks. Upon entering my room I found the bed linen to be extremely worn looking, as if they used the same linen for years without changing. There were no towels...ZERO, in my bathroom. The room looked extremely unkempt. I honestly didn't feel comfortable sleeping in my bed due to my suspicion of possible bed bugs or to it's sanitariness. I went to my friends room and the same exact scenario except his bed cover had multiple large holes throughout...unbelievable. I've stayed in plenty of hotels and am generally tolerant of the occasional older hotels but my friend and I simply could not tolerate filth and obviously visibly worn and possibly dirty linen. No towels provided? Seriously??The pictures posted of their hotel facilities and rooms in Expedia does not match what we saw...beware. We quickly decided to check out and booked at a nearby Doubletree Hotel instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: I heard it by internet
Cons: The fares can be better
Location: Good location near to the center
The manager give me a special treatment and special fares.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, FL

A place to spend the night near downtown

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The location in regard to downtown
Cons: A poorly designed old building. Needs to be torn down and modernized.
Location: The hotel is located at one end of Via Espana whichn is like the Main Street of most American towns. The other end of this road is rhe real down town.
Overall it was disappointing. The A/C did not work well, the bathroom is poorly designed, very limited towel supply. The breakfast that was included was of poor quality. The manager said that free breakfast was a "courtesy". The swimming pool on th top floor was a magnified bath tub with no service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Not recommended

Posted Jul 23, 2016
They call to the room to let us Know the cleaning service tried to enter to the room " besides we left a note staying "Do not disturbed" and she could get in because our French poodle was in the room. For that reason, we were notified by the phone we needed to leave from the dirty oldfashioned hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Definitely NOT 3.5 stars

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Fast Wifi in the room
Cons: Staff attitude, maintenance of the bathroom and furniture, air conditioning, housekeeping should provide towels automatically
Location: It is in the center of the city with easy access to the Cinta Costera, Financial District, as well as Via Veneto for shopping and better hotels!
I am absolutely shocked that Expedia considers Hotel Montreal to be 3.5 stars. I don't have any issue staying at bare bones budget hotels, but it is completely misleading to assign this property such a high rating. The staff is quite rude, they never smile or greet the traveler. Upon arriving, there were two receptionists who were not attending to any other guests. They just talked among themselves for 10 minutes before even acknowledging my existence, and, as mentioned above, no smile, no greeting, they simply gave me the key without a single word. When I finally got to my room there were no towels. I called the receptionists and they said they would send the towels, but they never came, so I had to go out and find one of the cleaning staff to get the towels directly from her. The room was old, probably from the 1960s, and in poor maintenance. The toilet was broken (fixed it myself), and the air conditioner did not cool off the room enough. The small seat in the room was wobbly and upon sitting I nearly fell to the floor. The only positive was the fast WiFi in the room. Will definitely avoid this hotel in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama

Not a 3.5 stars hotel.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: The description of the hotel. It is not a three star hotel, and the pictures are very missleading. They do not do justice to the real room you get.
Location: Location is great, with easy access to transportation, bars and one of the main avenues of the city.
I booked this hotel as a result of the "blind deals" expedia has. If I had had the chance to check the reviews before booking, I wouldn't have booked it, as most of the reviews are exact descriptions of my own experience. The rooms need maintenance, the rate is supposed to include complementary breakfast but the hotel staff denies this, the bathroom is a low cost solution, and the air conditioning is loud, impossible to sleep in peace with that noise.