Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Very good accomodations

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Cons: Got there at 3PM, could not check in until 4PM.....
Location: Town close by within walking distance
Great overall experience. Well located, close to town, great breakfast, staff very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Shower developed bad leak and the drip kept us awake. Hotel advised about Leak twice but not fixed. Asked for extra towels but not provided. Asked for iron and provided. Good TV channels. Excellent restaurant and servers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Beautiful hotel, average service

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Cons: They need to do away with the late check in fee. Also, attention to details is lacking.
Pros: beautiful setting, nice restaurant with excellent food and reasonable prices. Wifi in public areas with good connectivity and speed, 5 minute walk to town. Rooms are lovely and bed comfortable. Cons: early check in fee of $28 is ridiculous. Late check in time of 4:00pm is later than industry standard of 3:00pm. Mountain view rooms look into someone's backyard so no privacy to enjoy the balcony. No wifi in the room. Tips: The dinner portions are large, eg: the chicken pizza which was great was enough for 2 people. If you stay here, ask for a view of the river. Arrange for a cab from town to pick you up to head back to airport in David. We paid $30. The hotel transport was $48. It's a 5 min walk to town, a 25-30 min walk to cafe ruiz and mi jardin es su jardin. Upon arrival we were told there would be a $28 early check in fee. So we opted to have lunch in their restaurant and head to town. They kept our luggage which was nice. The lady at the desk was very nice and eager to meet our needs but when we got to the room and notified her that the fridge was locked, she said she would come up and unlock it. She never did. She may have got sidetracked. The room was spotless and housekeeping very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Pros: The location and the restaurant
Cons: the availability of taxis
Location: It is a relatively short walk to town. There is not a whole lot to.
We really enjoyed the view of the gardens and river with noise of the rushing water with the coffee plantation in the bajgrond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steven

Helpful staff

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Staff were extremely helpful and flexible. The providing us shuttle from David airport and were accommodating as our flight in got changed at last minute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Boquete!

Posted Aug 23, 2015
I just returned from my vacation in Panama. This was my second time staying at Valle del Rio. My first stay was about a year ago. When booking my trip to Boquete this month I kept my options open and considered other hotels, but after having stayed at Valle del Rio last year I knew it'd be hard to find a hotel that matched it. My recent stay was even better than the first time around! The staff is amazing- the receptionists are very quick to help. My Spanish is not very good, but each of the receptionists spoke English much better than I did Spanish. The restaurant staff is very attentive and their pasta night was great. It's easy to get by without AC's in the climate, but at times it can get a bit warm, so I was pleased to see they'd added AC units to the rooms. The WiFi is also fast. The location is ideal, it's a short walk to central Boquete. Taxi's are only $2-3 if you don't feel like walking. Overall, the rooms are very comfortable and have everything you'd need. I can't think of a single complaint! We had a few hours between checkout and flight time, and they let us leave our bags with them while we spent more time in town. In the U.S. it isn't nearly as common to find hotels go out of their way to be so accommodating. Next time I'm in Boquete I'll definitely stay here again; the friendly atmosphere and scenery have won me over. I highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JAIR

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel, extremely nice people, very relaxing

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Comfortable, nice people, close to town (walking distance) The restaurant went out of their way to provide gluten-free food options.
Cons: a little pricey but may be in line with others in the area
Location: good Eco-tourism area, hiking, hot springs waterfalls, etc. white water trips, coffee farm tours. Boquete is not a town for wild nightlife, movies
Balconies at the back look out over nice gardens and a small rushing river...perfect sound effect for good sleeping. Everything was aesthetically tasteful, not extravagant but well maintained. The complimentary breakfast was excellent: typically an omelet or eggs prepared to order, arrepa like patties (corn flour based toasted buns) large plate of fresh fruit, coffee juice, etc. Eating on the covered patio with views of the gardens and mountainside was very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive for a motel-like experience.

Posted Jan 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alan K from Washington DC

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels
Nice rooms, friendly staff (with limited English language abilities) in a nice part of town. Breakfast in the restaurant downstairs was quite good. Our stay was brief and we didn't spend much time in the room, but I would stay there again.