Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kitkat from US

Decent price, nice atmosphere.

Posted Mar 11, 2014
While this is not exactly what I would call a hotel, more of a hostel, it was nice accommodations. It looks more like a house in a residential area. Daniel was very friendly and helpful, suggesting restaurants, calling a cab, and just generally making us feel welcome. The rooms, while older, were neat and clean, and it was quiet. It is near a main road, so there are restaurants close by. There is also a complimentary breakfast. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay from Austin, TX

Excellent staff! Nice owner!

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Clean rooms, wonderful staff, and a great breakfast.
Location: The area was pretty nice; close to a mall and supermarket as well as some touristy restaurants. It's also a short taxi-ride to the domestic airport a
We enjoyed our stay at this establishment. The staff and owner were lovely people and treated us like family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marie from canada

Perfect

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Its a really nice place, cute, in a safe neibourhood, we love it and the staff was simply awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julius from NJ

Feels Like Home

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: The place was quiet and comfortable, the staff communicated well, and the owners were very nice, very helpful and hospitable.
Cons: I knew what to expect when I booked this hostel so I expected basic amenities. Maybe an extra sheet and toiletries should be provided.
Location: Location is very safe, close to restos, taxi/bus stands, a small mall, fastfood centers, accessible and strategically located within the city outskirt
I chose to stay in MD for my vacation in Panama because I wanted to have a feel of how locals live. The location is ideal because it is close to bus/taxi stands, restaurants, a small mall, a casino, and most of all, it is in a very safe environment. Since I stayed in B & B's in most of my travels, I knew what to expect, amenities wise. The place is actually a converted residential. I stayed in a room called "grape" with a private bathroom. The amenities are basic but very comfortable. The room is clean, aircondition unit works well, and although it is right beside the breakfast area, it was quiet. The housekeeper cleans the room and makes the bed every morning. Breakfast was delicious. Jesus prepared (for me) a typical Panama breakfast, which was great. More than the place, my stay was made very memorable by the owners, Jesus and Maria. They were very pleasant, warm, hospitable, helpful, and spoke good English, so there wasn't any problem with communication. They can arrange taxi rides at any time. Jesus brought me to the Panama Canal when I wasn't able to arrange a ride. He also arranged for a taxi to tour me around the city for five hours at a very minimal price, and took me to the airport when I left. He wrote transportation tips and guides when I went on my own to Portobelo and Colon. I felt safe knowing that the owner of the place was concerned about my well being. Although the extra transportation with Jesus were not gratis, it made me feel safe and special
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and simple place!

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: None
Location: Shopping, restaurants
Was very beatifull place, just simple, staff was kind, rooms clean, good breakfast, close to some main places in Panama City
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly fine place to stay

Posted Jul 19, 2013
We just stayed a night during a long layover, but it was good. The manager at the front desk spoke unbelievable English--we thought he was American!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alistair from New York

Very pleasant, relaxed stay

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: The managers/owners were very helpful and pleasant and relaxed. The location is very quiet. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Location: Didn't check out the local area. Stayed just one night after flying into Panama City late in the evening & was heading to the beach next morning.
Jesús, the manager/owner (with his wife Maria) offered to arrange a taxi driver to collect me from the airport (about 30 mins drive). I took this option and it was helpful since i was arriving late in the evening and it was my first visit to Panama. Upon arriving at Mediterranean Dreams i was warmly welcomed by the friendly and relaxed Jesús who speaks English well (my Spanish is basic) and who kindly upgraded me to a room with a private bathroom (and a/c, as well as tv etc). I was exhausted after lots of travelling and it was wonderful to have a good night's sleep there. It was quiet all throughout the night, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice with good hot water pressure. Jesús helped me alot next morning, letting me use one of their phones to make contact with a friend of a friend who happened to be going the same way i was going and had a spare seat in his car. Very comfortable, relaxed and friendly stay. Definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvia & David from New Mexico, USA

Amazing People, incredibly helpful, honest view of

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: The people!!!! After two nights I would honestly say we have friends in Panama!
Location: One block, easy walk to mall and shops and restaurants and Gasoline for the car!!!
As we are interested in the culture and living environment of life in general, in Panama, we selected this B&B to get a feel for a REAL neighborhood & a REAL home. After our 2nd night, we are very happy we are staying here. Owners Jesus & Maria and their helpers, Mauro & Carolina speak great English, are kind & gracious & go out of their way to answer questions (just ask) & take care of your needs. Jesus took us to the mall & helped us buy & activate, a prepaid cell phone. The property itself is older & just 1 block off busy Tumba Muerto, in the El Dorado area. We arrived hungry & tired, & were assured it was safe & less hassle to walk 4-5 blocks to restaurants near by. It was! The B&B is an older but an honest view of older properties in the city. If you want honesty & reality & a chance to get to know residents of the city, personal care & concern then stay here! It was perfect for us & we feel even after only two disjointed nights stay, that we have friends in Panama.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham, uk

recommend for anyone

Posted May 10, 2013
great breakfast, rediculously comfy. great staff, they helped me organise hiring a taxi by the hour so i could sum up panama's main sites in one day, as all i was there while connecting flights for 24 hours. even helped beyond the hours of their duty by phoning taxi driver back on his mobile, translating from him to me and back again that i wanted to go to airport when done site seeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Personal touch and very friendly

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: Good customer service, helpful, spoke good English, very clean
Hotel was very clean and a perfect stay the night before we flew out. The staff was friendly and very helpful with a variety of arrangements! One of our bags was left in a taxi and the staff helped us get it back for several hours! Highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a place with excellent customer service!