Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Past its Prime

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The pools and the lake front location.
Cons: Update the plumbing better maintenance of building itself. There was the smell of mould in the hallways, dirty windows and peeling paint in the room.
Location: Nothing to do nearby. It is very isolated, which is OK if you are looking for quiet and rest.
The hotel was OK for the price. It probably was once a very nice hotel but many things are outdated and this place would need a lot of upgrading to bring it up to American standards. It was like a ghost town the day we spent there. We were the only ones at the pool and there were few guests staying there. The pool area was lovely as were the surroundings. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel is off the beaten track and only offers buffet meals or room service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not at all up to Melia standards

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The website says this is a relaxing retreat. Instead, there is a sports bar that stays open until 1am and even after moving rooms the music was so loud I couldn't sleep. Also, when you call the front desk get ready to have it ring for minutes before getting an answer. The grounds are lush and beautiful, the pool is impressive, and the rooms are fine, but the service is non-existent and does not provide a "vacation" experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from frankfurt germany

nice old stylish hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: all
Location: nice garden and situated in the lake forest area, you feel like in the old Panama nature surrounding
the hotel is an old military builing you feel like back in the 40th.but only from the style all things are modern inside excellent interieur with a great pool area and nice garden. restaurant with great food, bar in a very warm ambience, nice staff. 100 percent recommendable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel needs a renovation

Posted Dec 29, 2016
As I entered the hotel I was greeted with old rusty buildings. The guestrooms and lobby areas are ok. There are many unused and rundown buildings on the property. Food options are limited as there is only one small buffet, room service options were no help. There was no casual dining on the property. I took the staircase and felt like I was in a construction site. Stairwell was musty and rusty with holes in the roof. Gym equipment were out of order. The place just felt old and musty!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama City

1st Stay at Melia Colon - Pleasant.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Environment, location, peace & quite, nature.
Stayed 2 nights in a Premium Room overlooking the pool & courtyard. Although the hotel is looking very tired externally, the facilities internally where quite good. The housekeeping & restaurant staff very friendly and helpful. Overall the short stay was very relaxing with great views over the lakes surrounding the area. Its an ideal resort for nature & wildlife lovers!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama City

Second Stay Was Not as Good..!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Location, Environment, nature.
Cons: Wireless signal in certain Premium Rooms.
This was my second stay at the hotel in a 6 weeks, and overall the hotel facilities where good. Very disappointed with the WIFI internet signal in the room allocation. Four requests to replenish the Mini-bar which wasn´t completed before check-in, and by the end of my 2 nights, still no mini-bar! The housekeeping & restaurant / bar staff are very friendly & helpful. Personal requests prior to arrival (high/quite room) where not considered even when asked on arrival. Apart from the details above, the stay was relaxing & pleasant,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
If staff will take care of all needs of the facility this hotel could be rare 5. They have to change me Room, because the bathroom issues with booken sink and toiltle twice. They transfer me to smother room and the save locker was not working the mirrors from the bathroom they was filthy the rooms floor look like they change bed and towels that it when they to a checkup. The hotel need more lamination at night special at the front desk and lobby, also the parking lot. Overall I will be stay against and the group of people the stay with me like this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view to the lake

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Wet bat
Cons: Wi-Fi bad signal
Location: Visit the canal
Great view to the lake, nice room and food and wet bar
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Michael Cordoba, Hotel Management
Dear guest we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and also our grounds and facilities; our staff hopes to have the pleasure to welcome again to offer you the best hospitality and so make of you next stay a new experience. My kindest regards, Michael A. Cordoba Guest Services Department
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima

Great location, by the Gatun lake

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Location and facilities, awesome.
Cons: Staff need to be trained in courtesy and service, badly. They need to fire the cheff and hire a good one, badly too.
Location: It's kinda isolated, so there's not much to do outside the hotel, unless you get some locals to take you to the lake, fishing or sightseeing.
When we arrived, there was a "private event", with lots of people and noise, they had a live music band, and the event guests were all over the place; hotel guests couldn't enjoy the hotel amenities. It all ended by 6 pm, so we went down to the pool then, but there was no pool service anymore! Staff is not very friendly or nice, they're not rude, but they make you feel like they're doing you a favor, when it's actually the other way around. Food is terrible, we had the buffet lunch for which we paid over $50 but wasn't worth at all. There was a fried fish that was terrible and smelly. Hotel's backyard, the lake shore, it's incredibly beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Guest Services Department, Hotel Management
Colon September 20th of 2016 Dear guest our management thank you for making of our knowledge each one of your observations in which we attentively analyzed, ahead we apologize for the inconveniences cause to you with the volume of the event we had last Sunday 11th, I inform you that day we had a company celebrating their 20th anniversary and to please our customer petition we decided to perform this event in our terrace. Regarding to our staff in order to optimize our services we will meet with the departments involved with the issues mentioned to make the timely improvements to insure that our entire personnel dispenses a courteous and efficient service. In matter of the culinary we meet with our executive chef in order to make more variations and quality improvements to offer our guests the best food service; once again we apologize and we hope to have the chance receive you in our lobby with the warmest welcome and so make of your next stay a new and different experience. My kindest regards, Michael A. Cordoba Guest Services Department
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Totally Dissapointing experience!

Posted May 2, 2016
I think the hotel isn't what I expected, service was bad and the attetion was awefull; however, the food was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Melia Panamá Canal, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment , because of this , we have taken action and have greatly improved the service area mainly . We hope that on your next visit you can notice the changes . Best Regards,