Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Great pool

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Beach only for looking, but great pool! In general, things r a bit run down, but great breakfast and wonderful staff! Rooms could use better lighting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Excellent beach location, five minutes from Town

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Excellent service by all Staff members in all areas. Beautiful beach location with no traffic noise wahtsover - just the sound of the waves.
Cons: The rooms are in serious need of upgrading and renovating
We shall not stay here again , not because of the service as that was excellent and everyone was very friendly. The main problem was that our room was very 'tired' and in serious need of upgrading and renovating. Certainly, for the price we paid, we expected much more. The bathroom was a shambles with the sink not draining, the toilet pipes coming away from their wall fixture and, during our last night, leaking and flooding the floor. The pre-arranged Hotel bus did not pick us up at the airport, on our arrival but our taxis fare was re-imbursed at the hotel with a complimentary bottle of wine. Again, the Staff were excellent but I don't think we can be enticed back there for our next visit to Bocas del Toro in three months time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Save Your Money

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The pool, bar staff were excellent
Cons: Front desk staff, checking out procedure, lighting in sitting room (there isn't any lights).
Location: Nothing is nearby. You have to either take a cab or walk (long walk....which we did).
We booked this place at the last minute while on vacation in Bocas del Toro. Wish we would have saved our money and just stayed longer at the place we were already at. The towels were horrible. The linen actually flaked off and stuck to your skin. When you dried off after a shower, you then had to wipe yourself down to get all the towel linen off yourself. We never used the sitting area in our suite as there was no light in there. It was too dark to read or do much of anything. We tried eating in the restaurant a couple times and ended up taking our food up to the room to eat due to black flies. As soon you the food is on your table in the restaurant, black flies are constantly swarming you. Your food goes cold because you are spending all your time swatting flies away. We spent the rest of the vacation eating in town. Our only staff complaint was on check out with the front desk. When we checked in we were told they needed a credit card on file in case there are any room charges. To us this was a normal request so we gave them it. They said they put a $400 preauthorization on it. On check out we wanted to pay all our charges with cash. She told us if we don't pay it with the credit card, then the hold will stay on it for 45 days. That is ridiculous! After arguing, we had to put some amount on the credit card to have the hold removed so we put $1 on it then paid cash. They charge you an extra 4% on credit card payments........that explains a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great comfy room

Posted Dec 17, 2016
I loved the comfortable bed and chill balcony. The pool is huge! The little beach area there is just ok, but for lounging and hanging and relaxing where you stay, this place is amazing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in need of a little facelift.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very old hotel, absolutely not 3.5 *! The suite was a joke... no fridge, no ice machine even no glasses/plastic cups in the room Not friendly staff/ rude people on the front desk
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient clean hotel in Bocas del Toro

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel in Bocas, a bit outside the town, which is good if you want to have peace and quiet (blaring music from town very muffled here), rooms are very clean and nice views of the bay from the balconies. The only down-sides are that it's all in the open and by the road (feels a bit motel-y) so you're required to wear a wristband to show that you're a guest and not someone just wandering in from the road. The food (breakfast and anything from the resto) is also pretty terrible. The good thing it's close to town and you can rent one of their bikes to get around to better food places (tho food in Bocas in general was pretty unimpressive). Also they are close to nice wild beaches (i.e. Playa Bluff).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing View from the Room

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Playa Tortuga was an excellent hotel. The views right over the ocean were stunning. The rooms were clean, large and comfortable. I didn't have hot water in my shower, but didn't bother to complain about it. Just enjoyed a refreshingly cool shower. The food was good but nothing extraordinary. The pool was a perfect temperature and very clean. Taxis were easy to get. The bartenders could have used some training. No one wants a half a shot of vermouth in their martini. Yuk. We got massages while we were there. There's no spa, but they have rooms in the gym. The massages were good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
The service was great. Breakfast could have been better but overall the experience was great .