Ratings based on 1,377 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vzla

Nice place and good location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
It's a nice and comfortable hotel, with spacious rooms and efficient and friendly staff. For the purpose of my trip, it was the best chioce for its location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Location: High end Shopping Center nearby and great restaurants also...
It's always been good that return the this hotel, mostly its staff and great breakfast buffet...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, centrally located

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Almost everything was super. The food was outstanding, and the variety of selections was beyond belief.
Cons: The buffet staff was pleasant, but very slow to respond to setting up tables and beverage service.
Location: The location was not far from the Canal, and there were many other hotels, restaurants, and shops in the area.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The spa offered an extensive selection of services, and the sercices were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love it! Very nice service.wonderful people!,

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Like bartenders are the best, like beautiful beach,restaurant but didn't like waiting 1 1/2 at the steak restaurant, didn't like that they only have one kind of beer the Balboa got me sick ... what about Panama light ,soberana,or atlas lught??? Everything else was perfect to me and my friend ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough, UK

First Class Hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
A great hotel with fabulous facilities and very pleasant staff. Ideally located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro GA

Perfect location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Nice facility, well located, great staff, great breakfast
Location: few blocks from multicentro mall and the coastal belt, six blocks from the nearest subway, lots of close by eating choices, easy transportation
We went for business and pleasure and it was perfect for both. Great breakfast and pool. Terrific location. Staff very nice and accommodating. Had a room on floor 32 with a wonderful view to the north. We will come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Noise

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Bad staff Horrible Rude Dismissive Hate it just will never stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Online Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond. We were surprised to read your comments about the service. At RIU we take pride in our customer service as this is one of the key values of our company and staff is constantly trained to maintain optimal standards. We will send your comments to management in case these standards have not been appropriately fulfilled at some point. We hope you will choose to visit us again, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our resorts. With our best we remain, Riu Plaza Panama Online Reputation Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Nice hotel but reception unhelpful

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Reception area was unhelpful when I left and customer service could have been much better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Online Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond. The ethos of our staff training requires a helpful, friendly and very obliging service at any time. We will raise this issue with those responsible and figure out the problem so that it does not reoccur. We hope to see you again in RIU so that you can enjoy the quality, service and attention that define our hotels. With our best we remain, Riu Plaza Panama Online Reputation Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Disappointing all around

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was excellent. The staff was attentive at times at breakfast (and inattentive at other times).
Cons: See my experience above. It wouldn't take much to make this a class hotel...just a little more effort in customer service!
Location: Panama has sketchy parts for foreigners. This is mostly a good location but we didn't venture out without our cousin (Panama native) so n/a for this.
I had high hopes for this hotel, particularly after seeing that soccer teams from Central America were making this their home for the UNCAF Cup. It was a let down. Visually it's pretty nice...and that's more or less where it stops. The staff was hit or miss. Some really nice people and some who clearly didn't give a rip. Our shower had mold in it...alot of mold. Enough to make my wife squeemish. The bed sheets were never cleaned (we were there for 11 nights!). We had to call down for refills on our complimentary coffee and water every day because house cleaning did not refill them for us. We had to ask for towels a few nights. The room key stopped working every time we went into a store...which meant that we had to have it replaced 7 out of 11 nights...almost always an inconvenience. The couch was very uncomfortable...slanted downward so it felt like you were falling off of it. The bed was nice but the pillows were as small as I've ever seen...about 8 inches in width...so it could give your head support but not your neck/shoulders. I made complaints to Riu during my stay but it fell on deaf ears. In fact, every time we got a new room key they had issues linking our room to our name. It was apparently under some other guys name...for 11 nights! Frustrating. Also, tipping is optional and not expected in Panama yet alot of the staff were clearly targeting us for tips (estranjero bias). Overall our stay here was quite frustrating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Online Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please and keep our guests content. We are deeply disappointed to find that our team did not turn around this situation to your complete satisfaction during your stay. It is our policy to ensure that we always exceed our guests’ expectations and sadly we were unable to do the same for you. We can assure you that we treat guest comments very seriously and take decisive actions to correct any shortcomings. It is only through feedback like yours that we can monitor our levels and standards of service. We hope to see you again in RIU so that you can enjoy the quality, service and attention that define our hotels. With our best we remain, Riu Plaza Panama Online Reputation Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogota D.C., Colombia

One of the best choices in Panama City

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Hotel is very well located, across the street is Soho Mall and is about 5 minutes away from Multiplaza Pacific Mall. Room is very comfortable, well decorated and have great views of the city. It is one of my top three choices in Panama City.