Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Kansas City, Missouri
We WILL be back.Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The staff, beaches, villas, golf carts, food, and grounds were all fantastic.
Cons: More pillows, or thicker pillows. They were very thin.
Location: We didnt leave the grounds in 5 days. Loved it that much.
Love our stay here. We could not be happier with the facilities or the staff. Everyone was wonderful. We never even left the resort. It was that great. Punta Lava and it's manager Gilberto went out of the way to make us feel welcomed and catered to our mid-western taste buds at a seafood restaurant. We both had 2 massages at the on-site spa. They were very good and reasonably priced. Please take good bug spray if you visit the dock side of the island where Castaways is located. It is surrounded on 4 sides by mangroves and there is not much wind. We only ate there once due to the bugs, but the food and drinks were really good, and really cheap. My only drawback was we had a 3 bedroom villa. There were only 6 pillows. We had to steal from the other rooms. They were thin as a dime. This is just me nitpicking though. The staff, beaches, villas, golf carts, food, and grounds were all fantastic. It is absolutely beautiful. We will definitely be returning soon.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Great staff!Posted Jun 29, 2015
Enrique and Natalia were fantastic. Great place for adventure-seekers or those who just want to relax and be away from it all. It's a haul to get to the resort but definitely worth it. It is easy to travel to Bocas each day but there is also plenty to do at Red Frog.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Posted Jun 15, 2015
Unforgettable vacation!!! The place is stunning!! Words can't even explain. Red Frog is a hidden gem. My husband and I can't wait to return.
for Couplesby DANILO from Vitória, ES, Brasil
CASA LONGE DE CASA!!!Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
Foi uma agradável supresa ter uma casa fora de casa!!! Adoramos a privacidade e praticidade em ficar neste resort que mais se parece um condomínio com alguns serviços e restaurantes. A casa estava bem limpa e em excelentes condições. Cama confortável, todos os utensílios de cozinha, tv a cabo, próximo da praia, piscina super agradável e muita beleza natural nos arredores. Quem está acostumado a ficar em resorts all inclusive com um milhão de opções de recreação, etc ficará um pouco desapontado conforme alguns comentários já mencionam. Mas para aqueles que buscam uma estadia com conforto, privacidade e natureza, com algumas facilidades, e que esteja disposto a se locomover um pouco para comer ou cozinhe em casa, mais que recomendo!
for Familiesby Patricia from Panama
Excelente experienciaPosted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
Las villas son hermosas. Tuvimos la mala suerte que la bomba de la piscina se dañara, pero al día siguiente nos cambiaron de villa. Muy buena experiencia y totalmente recomendable.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Coal City, IL
Villa 30 - Amazing view, pool, great beachesPosted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Everything. It truly was a wonderful villa and resort. I will comeback again.
Cons: Many improvements are coming we were told (grocery store, beach club, more paved roads)
Location: You need the golf cart to get around since it is a very large area. There were excursions but we spent most of our time playing in the ocean. Awesome.
Our villa was beautiful! We loved the grounds, the view of the ocean, landscaped perfect with nature. We seen monkeys almost every day and several red frogs too. Food at Punta Lava was very good. Prices for food and drinks really reasonable. Staff friendly and helpful.
for Familiesby Raffaele from Panama
La verdad, es que el sitio es espectacular,Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels
Bien, falta información en el momento de la reservación el nro de tel. enviado cuando uno llama nadie responde, en el restaurant el servicio es lento y deficiente , a veces faltaban ingredientes, (como pan, papas,otros) la playa esta llana de arboles caidos lo cual dificulta pasear por la misma, de noche en la parte alta del complejo faltan luces y también señalizaciones en general. El sitio es un pequeño paraíso merece que se hagan mejoras
for Couplesby Julia from San Diego
Beautiful but not quite what we expected.Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
This is not a hotel. This is an opportunity to rent a large house for a large group of people in a very remote place. Ideal for families or groups of friends, but not ideal if you are only one or two people because then you need to share a house with strangers. You need to take a water taxi to Bocas (the town) for nightlife. We thought the idea was great except you have to pay for the taxi if you don't want to take the resort shuttle during the few times of day it runs. The prices at the one local restaurant are equal to New York $20-30 per plate, and though the food is good, the service is horrible. We were very surprised by the high prices of all the amenities. The restaurant for the hostel (Kayuko) on the other hand, is LOVELY. GREAT FOOD, great people, great wifi. If you are looking for a poolside location with cabanas and drink service, this is not it. If you are looking for a private house to bring you whole family, this will be great for you. The beach was absolutely beautiful, but getting there then getting to the villas on the unpaved roads in a golf cart will do a number on your back- not for the faint of heart!
for Couplesby A verified traveler from Enschede
Wild & Luxe!Posted Aug 28, 2014
Bizar, een wild eiland met grote villa's. Race rond door de jungle in je eigen golf-karretje! Ondanks luxe villa's is keuze uit restaurants wel beperkt. Wel echt een wild eiland met mooie natuur!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015
Thank you very much for the 5 star rating. We hope to see you again soon at the Red Frog Beach Resort! Sunny greetings, Sina
for Couplesby CriCri from Switzerland
Desperate Housewife HotelPosted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels
I had a strange filling in this Hotel. Actually, you have to take a boat for 10 minutes from Bocas main island. You are received at the marina and you get a golfkart to drive to your villa. We had choosed a shared villa. For the richest you can get your private villa. The villas are very big. you have even a small swimming pool per villa. All the villas are neighboor. It has been built like the Desperate Housewife town. It's not what I was expecting at all. On the other side, the complex has two "restaurants". They are not at all at the same quality level as the villas. The main restaurant looks like a cafeteria for teenager camp. The other is a beach restaurant, which is like a real beach restaurant. On the beach, you don't have sunbathseats. The Staff was very helpful. The villas rooms very cleen except under our bed (where it was apparently not done before we get in). During our stay, the cleening was not done. When you want to go on the main island to have dinner, you have to pay 10$/pers (return included) to the hotel boat.. Otherwise the other hotel gests are only US people. In average I think it's too expensive for what it is.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Sina, Hotel Management
Dear CriCri, Thanks for your stay with us and your honest comments. Red Frog Beach is definitely not a hotel, we are a vacation rental resort on a remote island. Guests enjoy the beauty of the villas, the beaches close by and the jungle and nature feeling you get when staying with us. We apologize if you had different expectations and could therefore not enjoy your stay at the fullest. We are still growing in amenities and hope to welcome you again soon at the Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa. Kind regards, Sina