Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful villas with excellent views

Posted Jan 8, 2017
By far one of the most beautiful places I have been. This reminds me of Hawaii about 35 years ago before it was so commercialized. The villas are magnificent and many have wonderful views of the beach. We loved Turtle Beach and Punta Lava restaurant which has delicious Pina Coladas and the best ceviche I've ever eaten. The manager, Jorge, was exceptional and made us feel very welcome and made sure we had everything we needed as well as his staff. The property is still under construction and will soon have an awesome beach club on Turtle Beach which I cannot wait to see when it's finished. The paths around the islands are not paved in some spots but I'm sure that's because they are still building villas and other structures. The villas all have paved pathways out of brick so they are very smooth to ride on in your golf cart which I recommend unless you just want to walk everywhere. If you can afford a villa instead of a jungle bungalow, I would definitely do that because of the privacy and you have your own pool at each villa. The zip line tour was also a blast. The only slightly negative would be their massage therapist needs to be better skilled. I've had hundreds of massages and this ranked at the bottom. More education can help there, however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The tranquility, beauty, villas, nature, and staff. It is a great get-away from a typical Caribbean resort with over-development and throngs of people
Location: Swimming, snorkeling, surfing, walking, observing nature, fishing, boat tours, yoga, spa, kayaking, mountain biking, zip-lining, and dolphin tours.
Very caring, helpful, and friendly people that want only the best vacation experience for guests. I very much appreciated their genuine concern and interest for me when I accidentally hurt myself. The villa and view was exceptional. Top notch accommodations. Not too crowded. A true escape. Beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing. The private beach was super nice. The chocolate farm (locally owned) tour and private cooking lesson on the island was definitely a high point for my older kids. They learned a lot about native plants and trees, harvesting and preparing cocoa beans, coffee beans, cinnamon, turmeric, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

This place is truly amazing. Great food, Great bea

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Pure luxury in a jungle beach location. Super great staff as well.
Cons: There was nothing to dislike. It exceeded all my expectations.
Location: Beaches, snorkling, bat caves and on and on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Place to relax when sand flies are away from you.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Very good, but food at the Lava restaurant can be much better. Not all staff are attentive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

place smelled of mold

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Our kids liked the golf cart that Westover around in.
Cons: Maint, housekeeping, spiders galore in the house, too many things to list.
Location: Was a pretty place all around the ocean but you have to be ok with the local "attitudes" no Bueno.
A person we met there also had a rat that had babies in one of the rooms in her villa. Showed us the video. Poor construction. Our place was not that old, maybe 4-6 years but kitchen equipment was rusty (blender) fridge did not get cold. Not kept well. This place is a real estate project. Beach was pretty but very bad current in deep holes not too far out from beach. Was not impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ketchum, Idaho

Enjoyable and Adventurous

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet
Cons: Faucets in bathroom quality needs to be improved. Some coffee filters. Some laundry soap. More shampoo and soap after day 2
Location: Zip lining, Yoga (at Palmar), surfing, adventuring
The rooms and location were amazing. The staff incredible and beyond friendly. The real draw for our family's active desires, though, was the resort down the beach (a tent lodge), which offered yoga classes, a bar and restaurant, surf lessons and fun people watching. The Red Frog resort was pretty quiet - totally great, but not what we were looking for all week. We saw the new clubhouse under construction, which will probably address some of the things this resort lacks to keep visitors "on site". Overall the entire island was fun and variable, which is what made staying at Red Frog Resort a blast all in all. Zip Lining was THE BEST!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Unpleasant surprise

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: The beaches
Cons: Train their staff which lacks experience. More restaurant availability and extended hours. Towels at the beach. House Phones along the road and beach.
Location: Location is good. We didn't do any activities.
This is not a 4 star hotel as they advertised! They Only have two mediocre restaurants, one is closed on Mondays , the other is closed on Tuesdays. Pretty bad food and few options to choose From. If you decide to go( which I don't recommend) call in advance and Make sure you get a gulf cart. They don't have enough carts and without it you are doomed!!! Distances from the villas to the beach and to the restaurants are long! Not really walking distance. The road is unpaved and there are no direction signs. At night there is no lighting on the roads. One can easily get lost. Make sure you buy some groceries at Bocas de Toro before you leave for the resort because there is no service at the beach or room service. The villas lack personality. I don't recommend this place at all!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

read before you book

Posted Mar 10, 2016
You must rent a golf cart or you can't get around. You must get a ton of groceries before you water taxi. The food is terrible. The bugs in the villa and pool were terrible. The beach is pretty and staff is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise in nature

Posted Feb 7, 2016
The place is amazing, surrounded by incredible beaches. The accomodation is very comfortable with an excellent view either to the jungle and/or beach. The staff is vey nice. Canopy and all the tours to different islands are very good. The services in the zone (not at the hotel) are quite well, but if you are looking for excellence services you should avoid going to Bocas del Toro and surroundings. Nice fresh food like fisch, shrimps and lobster is the specialty. Avoid at all cost doing surf classes with the guys at Bibi's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, ontario

Very nice place

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Had a great stay here. The views were incredible. It is a pretty quiet resort, but the beaches have lots of activity nearby. Bring food from the main Island to make use of the nice kitchen and bbq patio.