Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Place to relax when sand flies are away from you.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Very good, but food at the Lava restaurant can be much better. Not all staff are attentive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place, Amazing if you don't plan on leaving.

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
The only hiccup we had was coming back after midnight after an evening at Old Bank. They're not quite set up for that. The beaches are beautiful and the staff are super friendly. Stock up on the snacks and booze you may want, the grocery store is not open yet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

place smelled of mold

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Our kids liked the golf cart that Westover around in.
Cons: Maint, housekeeping, spiders galore in the house, too many things to list.
Location: Was a pretty place all around the ocean but you have to be ok with the local "attitudes" no Bueno.
A person we met there also had a rat that had babies in one of the rooms in her villa. Showed us the video. Poor construction. Our place was not that old, maybe 4-6 years but kitchen equipment was rusty (blender) fridge did not get cold. Not kept well. This place is a real estate project. Beach was pretty but very bad current in deep holes not too far out from beach. Was not impressed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxuriöses Resort

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Edler Strand, nur Abendessen besser im nahe gelegenen Hostel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ketchum, Idaho

Enjoyable and Adventurous

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet
Cons: Faucets in bathroom quality needs to be improved. Some coffee filters. Some laundry soap. More shampoo and soap after day 2
Location: Zip lining, Yoga (at Palmar), surfing, adventuring
The rooms and location were amazing. The staff incredible and beyond friendly. The real draw for our family's active desires, though, was the resort down the beach (a tent lodge), which offered yoga classes, a bar and restaurant, surf lessons and fun people watching. The Red Frog resort was pretty quiet - totally great, but not what we were looking for all week. We saw the new clubhouse under construction, which will probably address some of the things this resort lacks to keep visitors "on site". Overall the entire island was fun and variable, which is what made staying at Red Frog Resort a blast all in all. Zip Lining was THE BEST!
4 out of 5
by Eduardo from Belo Horizonte

Bom para descansar

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
O "quarto", que na verdade era um chalet, na verdade era grande, mas com comodos separados: para ir ao banheiro tinhamos que sair do quarto. Acho que não demos muita sorte. No geral, o atendimento no Red Frog é ótimo, e as praias/paisagens são muito bonitas.
5 out of 5
by OSCAR JAVIER from Bogotá

Excelente resort para completa relajación

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
El resort en si no es un hotel sino un conjunto de villas que los propietarios rentan, dicho esto, las villas son gigantes, bien distribuidas y muy bien cuidadas. Las playas son espectaculares y se puede practicar surf allí mismo si se desea, la atención del personal del resort fue en general muy buena. Lo único para mejorar sería la variedad de comidas que ofrecen en sus restaurantes pues el menú es un poco escaso, pero sin embargo el sabor de la comida es muy bueno.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
A casa que ficamos era grande e bem confortável, mas as piscinas das casas não são como aparecem nas fotos do hotel. Casa bem equipada, porém não trocam toalhas e lençois durante sua estadia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Unpleasant surprise

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: The beaches
Cons: Train their staff which lacks experience. More restaurant availability and extended hours. Towels at the beach. House Phones along the road and beach.
Location: Location is good. We didn't do any activities.
This is not a 4 star hotel as they advertised! They Only have two mediocre restaurants, one is closed on Mondays , the other is closed on Tuesdays. Pretty bad food and few options to choose From. If you decide to go( which I don't recommend) call in advance and Make sure you get a gulf cart. They don't have enough carts and without it you are doomed!!! Distances from the villas to the beach and to the restaurants are long! Not really walking distance. The road is unpaved and there are no direction signs. At night there is no lighting on the roads. One can easily get lost. Make sure you buy some groceries at Bocas de Toro before you leave for the resort because there is no service at the beach or room service. The villas lack personality. I don't recommend this place at all!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

read before you book

Posted Mar 10, 2016
You must rent a golf cart or you can't get around. You must get a ton of groceries before you water taxi. The food is terrible. The bugs in the villa and pool were terrible. The beach is pretty and staff is nice.