Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the middle of everything

Posted Jan 15, 2017
The staff was very friendly, our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We turned off AC and never used it during our two days stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great price & location

Posted Aug 31, 2016
We had a wonderful stay at Tropical Suites Hotel! Our room was very spacious, comfortable bed, a fully equipped kitchen, A/C, spacious bathroom with a big bath tub , double sink vanity, and a spacious balcony with street view. Macarena in the front desk is amazing! Thank you for all of your assistance and always answering our questions & guiding us during our stay! Overall staff friendliness is excellent, making our stay a very comfortable one. We were able to take a water taxi to various islands right from the hotel's dock. We're unable to swim there because of no dock ladder, but there's plenty of choices around town. Carenero island is only a 3-5 minute boat ride which offers great swimming! We didn't book our room with a breakfast option but you can purchase breakfast vouchers for selected restaurants in town for a small fee. There's also plenty of nightlife and shopping options within walking distance! Looking forward to our next stay at Tropical Suites!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Jason Spring, Hotel Management
We appreciate your detailed and thoughtful review. Our team is delighted that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future. Take care, Jason Spring
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Great hotel !

Posted May 5, 2016
I liked everything about the hotel. If there is any suggestion it would be to have black out curtains. But other than that everything was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Tropical Suites Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Az

Very nice hotel with excellent staff.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Tropical Suites Hotel was an excellent place to stay right on the water in Bocas Del Toro. The rooms are spacious and very clean with great AC and super comfortable beds. The staff is extremely courteous, friendly and out going to help with anything they can. I will definitely be returning and whole heartedly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Tropical Suites Team, Hotel Management
We really appreciate your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place all around

Posted Jan 16, 2015
The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Everything was great. I h ave no complaints. Good location. Nice little dock to swim from. Beautiful clear water. Good beds and linens.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Jason Spring, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We are pleased that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. All the best, Jason Spring
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Top Hotel in the centre of Bocas Town

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Very clean, spacious rooms, great views, super service
Location: Located in the centre of Bocas Town - walk to restaurants and bars. Water taxis are right there. Boat tours to attractions available.
Tropical Suites is an oasis of comfort in the hustle and bustle of Bocas del Toro. Most rooms are overlooking the water and are spacious with a kitchenette or full kitchen. The staff is very friendly and immediately responds to any of your wishes. They arranged our entire 3 night stay with dinners, lunch, tours, boat tours and all perfectly and we enjoyed delicious food at Guari Guari, El Ultimo Refugio and Pirates. Can highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Best in Bocas

Posted Jan 1, 2015
If you want to be Centre ice Bocas, this is it. Get the water view room, it is far and away the best hotel in Bocas town and the staff is incredible...did our laundry, booked tours, delivered breakfast to the room. also..flying pirates ATV was waaaay too much fun! Now at Red Frog Beach villas, they are spectacular as are the beaches. Service at restaurants are average, but everything else is incredible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyn from Sydney Australia

Bocas del toro - a great little discovery

Posted May 24, 2014
Cons: A suggestion for the hotel would be wire screen doors so that the glass doors to the balcony can be left open without the fear of insects coming in!
Location: Must do is the bat cave tour on the opposite island!
What a great little town set amongst the islands. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay although 3 days was too short. Tropical Suites was an excellent choice of hotel and from the look of it -one of the better ones in the area. It was close to all of the restaurants and bars, breakfast provided at Lillis cafe next door was great and the staff were all friendly and helpful even taking us to the airport when our taxi was late! The room was large witha kitchenette although being so cheap in Bocas we ate out and only used the facilities to make coffee in the morning. This hotel has individual balconies which was a pleasant place to sit and watch the activity on the water. Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the water as I think it could be noisy on the street side from vehicles by day and revellers late at night. We were there during off season so there was no spring break atmosphere just a laid back very casual relaxed environment with just enough people to keep the restaurants and bars buzzy and no crowds on the beaches. Some negatives- our tv had no reception just a message on the screen for each channel saying temporarily out of service. The staff looked at it for us and said it was a problem with the satellite in the area but every bar along the street seemed to be getting reception Our hair dryer also wasn't working but I didn't realize this until the last day and I am sure had I bought it up with the friendly staff they would have offered me another
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Jason Spring, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing a detailed summary of your travel experience. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Tropical Suites Hotel. Warmest regards, Jason Spring
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

on waterfront but overpriced

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: In the centre of town
Cons: no privacy on balcony can see in to other peoples room and aircondition very noisy on balcony. Could be cleaner very overpriced
Location: not much except restaurants
Very average for the price much better value elsewhere on waterfront
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by 5StarFan from Calgary, AB

Old hotel on water in good condition

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location.
Cons: You have three choices for breakfast - eat at Lili's, NOT the other one on the water - charged us $2USD per coffee refill.
Location: Restaurants, bars, yoga, spa treatments, all close. Beaches biking distance. More options by water taxi.
We had a water front room, staff were accommodating, room was clean and comfortable.