Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Great value on an expensive island

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Staff charming without exception. Great pool and restaurant/bar area although did not eat there apart from breakfast.
Cons: Rooms and bathrooms are a bit tired but good for price we paid and we spent little time in them.
Location: Fish restaurants at port v. good. Cocktails at Hotel Raya dear, Stromboli view and included tapas make worthwhile. Great hiking but walking boots nec
Fantastic in low season. Only a handful round the pool which is crystal clear sea water. Great location close to the tiny port, shops and restaurants. Panarea is a stunning combination of natural and man made beauty and this hotel has made the most of its wonderful location. I would recommend it to anyone in low season when we experienced it. Hiking is great but once you leave the road it quickly becomes tough going and you need walking boots and be reasonably fit. Easiest walk is to the prehistoric village. Only tough bit is picking way across rocky beach. Stunning scenery and properties en route. Good fish restaurants along port front. Never a dud meal. Prices similar to England for food but everything else is more expensive. Tourist tat mainly made in Asia and you can get it cheaper elsewhere if you want it. Highlights included seeing dolphins from prehistoric village, climbing to top of the island (about 400m), Hotel Raya for cocktail hour and al fresco dining at the various restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Grant from Sydney

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Great views , nice pool ,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfriendly staff

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Unfriendly and unhelpful staff at the counter. Staff in restaurant was nice.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from New York City

Great hotel in a perfect location, staff could be more helpful

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, wonderful saltwater pool. The only reason we didn't give La Piazza a higher rating was because there were problems with our bathroom and room safe that were ignored.
5 out of 5
by Marta

Lovely hotel!!

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
We spent 5 nights in this hotel. We had a great time. The hotel is lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. Don't miss the boat trip with Giovanni! We had an amazing time. Best way to explore Panarea and the surrounding little islands.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, poor bathroom & service

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was nice, great views, but the rooms weren't great. The bathroom wasn't great - poor decor, window that couldn't be closet, a tiny shower smaller than a phone booth & a toilet directly opposite, leaving less than a foot gap when you step out. Hotel staff weren't friendly, at times a bit hostile - seemed to be students looking for island work in the summer & enjoy the perks that come with it - so not too concerned about the hotel guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great location & lovely beach

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Location> great pool & lovely meander down to beach. Heaven.
Cons: More fresh fruit at breafast!
Location: Panarea is a lovely town & island. The best of the ilands we visited in the Aeolians.
Sea view room on 1st foor. Lots of space. Pleasant staff at all times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Terrible room but the rest of the hotel was lovely

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location, rerrace, pool and sea access. Reasonable price for Panarea.
Cons: Room was awful.
Location: Panarea is a lovely island. Sea is beautiful but watch out for the jellyfish! Great parties too (mainly at Raya).
The hotel location is excellent. It has a lovely terrace where you will have a great view for breakfast. It has a nice pool and access to the sea (although it's small and gets overcrowded). The staff were pleasant and usually helpful in general although they were too keen to always recommend the restaurant next door for everything. Unfortunately one of the staff was not really qualified for their role. The main downside however was the the garden view room itself. The wifi access works in the terrace didn't work in the room which was frustrating. The window in the room couldn't fully open so we usually had no natural light unless we left the front door open (and the room was on the ground floor). The bedding had lots of stains on it. The bed was rock hard and uncomfortable, the decor was very outdated, the aircon unit was flakey and noisy. The only good thing was the shower. Otherwise the facilities were good - although like everything on Panarea the spa facilities are an absolute rip off so don't bother.