Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Beautiful hotel, short walk to beach

Posted Apr 5, 2015
We stayed here for our honeymoon for 1 week. The entire resort is beautiful and the view from our balcony was amazing. The beach is well taken care of, the water is clear and there isn't any seaweed. The staff is friendly and fun, they go above and beyond to make sure that your stay is excellent. The food and drinks were also great. The only bad thing for some would be that there are a lot of hills to walk up and down(there are shuttles, but many times it would take them a while to arrive)... For us it was a great way to work off all of the food and drinks we had each day. Wish we could have stayed longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Potential to be great!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Location, staff!
Cons: Needs total over haul!
Location: Not a lot to do outside of the complex without needing to travel
This hotel is in a fantastic location with a work force that bend over backwards to make you welcome and accomodate you the best they can. It isn't easy because the place is very tired and requires a major overhaul and refurb! Guess what? It's about to get it! We learned whilst we were there that it has been sold by Hilton to The Dreams/Secrets chain who will shut the place down for a refit in May. They already have an amazing location with the best staff from the waiters to the cleaners, from the gardeners to the pool man. If they work as hard as they did with a poor hotel this will be something very special when it reopens. Watch out for it and get in quick when it reopens, at the moment planed for November! I just hope the new owners find a way to keep the amazing, dedicated staff. It will be good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax Station, VA

The best hotel near Liberia, Costa Rica

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Architecture and layout Beach Restaurants
Cons: The air conditioning is noisy
Location: It is a 25 minute drive from the airport. there are national parks nearby and zip lining activities
We really enjoyed our stay at Hilton. During our trip, we also stayed at JW Marriott and Westin and they both were ok but Hilton was much butter!! It is a very elegant and pleasant resort, with a relaxing atmosphere and direct beach access. The beach was nr 1 for us for two reasons: it is sandy (no rocks) and vendors do not bother you, like for example at Westin. The staff is very professional and friendly, and all restaurants we visited were great and food was delicious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an "ok" stay

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed two nights in transit for our flight home from Liberia. Close proximity to the airport, self parking was nice but no airport transfers so we needed to keep our rental. Found it expensive for what it was, but nestled in a nice bay. I wouldn't recommend it for a week long trip, only 1-2 nights max. Also, it's no longer a Hilton and you can see how the standards may have changed...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Marketing does not meet reality

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Not
Cons: Everything the hotel is dated needs to be renovated - not even close to a four stars as marketed
Services , food and activities need improvement The best thing about the hotel is that it has probably the best scenery than all of the surrounding hotels.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Chicago

Good Choice

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel on the beach. A bit smaller than some of the hotels in the area, but more centrally located and an easy drive from LIR airport. Great staff and good food and drinks. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY metro area

Wonderful vacation

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The food at all the restaurants are great with fresh ingredients. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel property is beautiful.
Cons: Not much needs improvement, maybe a little refresh here and there.
Location: The location of this property is somewhat isolated so unless you get a ride somewhere you are basically stuck. It is however "close" to tour locations
My wife and I just returned from a week's stay at the Papagayo and we both loved it.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Toronto

Good value for money

Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
Clean rooms but a bit dated. Pool area and restaurants were good. Food was good. Water sports included at the beach were fairly limited. Overall good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from san jose

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Friendly hotel.
Cons: Dairy free menú
Location: Papagayo beaches.
We enjoyed a lot. Nice beach, peole can rest and children can play at the Pool with security.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor,on

Papagayo All Inclusive

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: The food and service was excellent
Cons: Bathrooms need updating. Onsite theater was closed at the time of our stay.
Stayed here for 5 days following 4 days of touring other areas in Costa Rica